Vinyl

Featured
 
4.8
 
5.0 (1)
2292 0
Vinyl
Publisher Name
Calida Lux Publishing
Age Group
13+
Published Date
November 26, 2015
ISBN Number
9780692569832
ASIN Number
      

Kirkus Recommended Review - "...captivating and memorable...makes for supremely fun reading...this action-packed ride through a grim but fascinating world should delight fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent and leave many waiting impatiently for the sequel." Legend meets Leviathan in this gritty dystopian fiction by debut author Sophia Elaine Hanson. All citizens within the soaring black walls of Revinia have metal Singers grafted into their skulls at birth. The parasitic machines issue a form of auditory hypnosis called The Music, which keeps their minds malleable and emotions flat. All artistic expression—especially real music—is strictly prohibited. On the edge of the city, nineteen year old Ronja struggles to support her cousins and disabled mother. A chance meeting leads to her kidnapping by an underground resistance striving to preserve the human spirit. Violently severed from her Singer by the brash young agent Roark, Ronja revels in her newfound freedom until the consequences of her disappearance begin to unfold. The first in a trilogy, Vinyl is a story of loyalty, passion, trauma, human connection, and the extraordinary power of real music.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Solid Dystopian Debut
(Updated: December 13, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Vinyl is a true young adult novel that will appeal to fans of dystopia and steampunk. It takes place in the city of Revinia where all citizens are implanted with a device that suppresses their emotions and makes them pliable and submissive to the city’s leaders. Ronja—a young city dweller—has worn “a singer” since she was born. She endures its grating “Music” every time her emotions get out of control, which is often, considering the hardships and injustices she and her family go through day in and day out. Life is not easy, and she must scrape bare bottom just to put food on the table and keep her small cousins from joining Revinia’s bedraggled workforce.

But everything changes when she meets Roark, a mysterious boy who defies everything she knows. He comes into her life with a destructive force and undoes the flimsy existence she’s so carefully juggled into place. It is then that Ronja’s metal is tested, and we find a strong protagonist ready to fight for the right things, ready to put everything on the line for those she loves. Following her through each new discovery, we learn about Ravinia and it’s wicked history, as well as Vinyl’s amazing characters who come to life in full 3-D, proving that friendship, family, and justice are causes worth fighting for.

Page-turning action will keep the reader engaged, while unexpected twists will please even the most harden genre fans. Vinyl’s strengths lie with its many well-developed characters and clean prose. Though, the novel is not without its fault. Mainly, I feel the author missed the opportunity to create a richer world and show the effects that singers have on people’s emotions. For the most part, Revinia comes across as any bustling city and the occasional mention of airships and autos does little to construct a proper steampunk vibe. Moreover, the city appears like an isolated island in a world that is a complete unknown. What is beyond Revinia? How can it be so disconnected from everything else and get away with outfitting its citizens with mind-control devices without any judgment from anyone? Similarly, Revinia’s people are very much like regular Earth citizens (with the exception of Ronja’s mother who is known as a mutt) and don’t fully and convincingly portray a population under the evils of mind-control. How do they differ from us? What are some of the things they do that we would never do? A deeper exploration in this area would surely help create a better picture of this foreign world.

Those looking for a unique dystopia will not be disappointed with Vinyl and will turn the last the page wishing the sequel was at their fingertips.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
One of the top five books this year
(Updated: July 13, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
From the beginning of Vinyl I felt completely immersed in the gritty world that Hanson created. I applaud her ability to take something we all love, like music, and turn it into something dark and sinister. You really feel the pain the characters are going through as they fight for their lives, and in the end I was too attached for it to end. I can't wait until the next book in the series, as I need to continue following Ronja and her friends on this journey, no matter how hard it becomes.
Good Points
Creative world building, multidimensional characters
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...

Latest Member Reviews

The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Blade of Mad Vision
 
5.0
"Loved it! It makes me want to be an artist and a fencer and learn languages and go on adventures..."
The Curie Society
 
4.2
"Three roommates at Edmonds University all face different challenges in settling into college life. Biologist Simone is very young to..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"‘The First Holidays’ by Cait Marie is a sweet story of friendship and love. Readers will feel the warmth between..."
The King's Daughter: A Girl Lost In Time
 
5.0
"LOVE SPELL TO BRING BACK EX LOVER AND RESTORE BROKEN RELATIONSHIPS, WhatsApp +2347059387282 I want to thank..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
Moon & Shadow: A tale of Liamec (Tales of Liamec Book 1)
 
4.3
"Overall, This book was different from anything I've read in a while. It was more like a folktale which was..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
5.0
"I've honestly had my eye on this book for a while, and finally decided to pick it up. As the..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
The Lightbringer: Through the Elder Stone
 
5.0
"The Lightbringer plays on that classic trope of light vs dark, but in a fresh way with unheard of magical..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"When Aislinn and Catriona are taken into the fae realm, their fate falls into the hands of a broody prince/rightful..."
With Shield and Ink and Bone
 
4.8
"The story: A Viking, Liv has earned her shield and is set to take her place as a shield..."
With Shield and Ink and Bone
 
4.5
"For those who can't get enough of Vikings, Norse Mythology, and kick-butt female leads, this one is for you. ..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"This short story is perfect for people who loved The Last Summer and for those excited for The Final Chance...."
My Best Friend Prince Charming
 
4.5
"‘My Best Friend Prince Charming’ by Cindy Ray Hale tells the story of Ryker and Shannon, two best friends who..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."