The Ugly Teapot

Featured
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
1527 0
The Ugly Teapot
Author(s)
Publisher Name
CreateSpace
Age Group
12+
Published Date
March 25, 2016
ISBN Number
978-1530743711

Fourteen-year-old Hannah Bradbury loved her father so much that she worried about him constantly. After all, he was a photographer who traveled to the most dangerous places in the world. To allay her fears, each time he came home he brought her silly gifts, each one with supposed magical powers: the Seal of Solomon, the Ring of Gyges, even Aladdin’s Lamp. It was that lamp that Hannah found most unbelievable, for it looked like an ugly teapot. Nevertheless, her father assured her it was real, and made her promise to save her three wishes for something very special. Then . . . six months later . . . the unthinkable happened. Her father was killed while on assignment to Baghdad. And so on the day of his funeral Hannah did something she never thought she would ever do. She took out that teapot and gave it a rub . . .

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Exotic tale of loss and hope
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
The Ugly Teapot by Fred Holmes

The Story:
Unable to accept her father’s death, Hannah decides to test the supposedly magical lamp in her closet by wishing for him back. The consequences of this wish take her on an exotic journey, full of wonder and peril.

The Characters:
Hannah is an intelligent, quirky, and devastated young girl who is a pleasure to read. Her desire to have her father back is heartfelt and well-portrayed. As one would expect of a protagonist her age, she makes mistakes and learns. Her growth through the story is spurred by the need to overcome her worst fears, and accept harsh realities. Mr. Holmes gives the reader a skillful depiction of the hope and amazement seen in a character this age—I particularly liked the connection she has with her dog, Griff.
Seeing a side to the magician antagonist which prompted empathy could have strengthened his presence. However, the addition of the sultan and his family was nice, Gus was a favorite, and all-in-all every character in The Ugly Teapot adds to tale.

The World:
Legends and mythical creatures are incorporated into an otherwise normal Earth. We travel through many countries and deep into places such as The Cave of the Forty Thieves. We met genies, magicians, and sultans. Younger readers will be held riveted as Hannah leaves the confines of her small town and enters into a world of marvel and miracles.

The Readability:
Holmes’s style is playful and light, perfect for the story he writes. The language is exotic and speaks of magic and exploration. Humor is integrated to lighten some of the heavier themes, and while the pace of the plot dropped in a couple of places, the writing and characters are engaging enough to keep the reader in the story. The ending was not completely satisfactory—more explanation would have left me completely content. However, Hannah made the important realisations we expect her to, and the story is left on a note of mystery—which keeps the imagination whirling.
This copy is professionally edited.

Final Verdict:
An exotic tale of loss and hope great for readers aged eight years and over.

Favorite Quote:
“Bull feathers,” scoffed Gus. “He changes his word more often than I change my undies.”
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
The Ugly Teapot
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
First off let me start off by saying "OMG". This book is a must read and must purchase. I literally could not stop reading it. Mr. Holmes is a very talented writer. Reading about Mr. Holmes' background working on television shows, it helped him in this case with his first fiction novel. I have read many children and young adult books and this one will really appeal to both the younger and older audience.

Hannah is a fearless young girl. This is what I liked about her best. Than there is Hannah's father and traveling companions including Grif, Hannah's dog. One of the things I liked the most was the reference to the different stories like Aladdin and Tarzan. Of course, I can't forget the exciting, thrilling, magical adventure that Hannah and everyone else went on. There was never a dull moment to be had in this book. The ending left me wanting to read the next book.
Good Points
5-Stars - Never A Dull Moment - Cheryl Koch, Vine Voice on Amazon
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
"MOST LIKELY is a fantastic YA contemporary about friendship. The book starts with a woman becoming president and reflecting back..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."