A Shade of Vampire

Featured
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
1452 0
A Shade of Vampire
Author(s)
Age Group
12+
Published Date
December 14, 2012
ISBN Number
1481280767
ASIN Number
      

THE BESTSELLING FANTASY SERIES EVERYONE'S TALKING ABOUT... Over 3 million copies sold! What happens when WITCHES meet VAMPIRES? For fans of Harry Potter, Twilight, The Vampire Diaries and True Blood, prepare to be transported to the breathtaking new world of The Shade... Over 16,450 Five-Star Reviews (on Amazon/Goodreads). "A new spin on a crowded genre. Unique, passionate, thrilling." - Faerie Tale Books ★★★★★ "...an utterly enthralling, highly exciting and beautifully sensitive story. Five stars and a standing ovation." - Books For Tomorrow ★★★★★ Wall Street Journal Best-Seller. Recommended Read on USATODAY.com. Amazon Overall Top 3 Best-Seller. #1 Best-Seller in Vampire Romance, Paranormal & Fantasy. _____________________________________________________ On the evening of Sofia Claremont's seventeenth birthday, she is sucked into a nightmare from which she cannot wake. A quiet evening walk along a beach brings her face to face with a dangerous pale creature that craves much more than her blood. She is kidnapped to The Shade, an enchanted island where the sun is eternally forbidden to shine. An island uncharted by any map and ruled by the most powerful vampire coven on the planet. She wakes here as a slave, a captive in chains. Sofia's life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn when she is selected out of hundreds of girls to take up residence in the tree-top harem of Derek Novak, the dark royal prince. Despite his addiction to power and obsessive thirst for her blood, Sofia soon realizes that the safest place on the island is within his quarters, and she must do all within her power to win him over if she is to survive even one more night. Will she succeed? Or is she destined to the same fate that all other girls have met at the hands of the Novaks? Scroll up & click the buy button now to find out... "I challenge you to read this book and not love it." - Get Lost In Fiction ★★★★★ _____________________________________________________ Note: Derek Novak and Sofia Claremont's story is only a 7 book series. It completes in Book 7: A Break of Day, and the characters embark on entirely new adventures from Book 8: A Shade of Novak.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Shade More Dangerous
(Updated: September 28, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
I wasn’t sure what to expect when I first sat down to read Bella Forest’s A Shade of Vampire. I was certainly a Twilight fan, at least for the short few weeks that it took me to rip through all four books. Edward Cullen had me under his spell just as surely as he did Bella Swan (and most of the female population of YA readers). I was told I would like this new series even better, so I thought a similar experience was in order. I couldn’t have been more mistaken, and I was pleasantly surprised. Forest takes some great risks, allowing for an unpredictable, more daring story.

First of all, these vampires are not vegetarians. Not by a long shot. Main character Sophia Claremont is drugged and abducted very early on, then taken to their lair for the sole purpose of first serving in a harem, and later being eaten. Not one of the vampires comes across as alluring, though most of them are beautiful and fabulously dressed. They’re completely dismissive, even hateful, towards the lowly humans. A war seems to be raging between vampires and humans—especially those referred to as “hunters”—and the undead hide out on their own island, under a veil of permanent darkness and served by countless human slaves. “Welcome to The Shade,” Sophia is told. There doesn’t seem to be much hope of escape.

The other main character and probable love interest is Derek Novak, prince of The Shade. He’s been in an unnatural sleep for four hundred years, and he wakes suffering from ravenous hunger. He’s offered Sophia (and several more abducted teenage beauties), and very nearly devours her. Somehow, for reasons no one can understand, she calms him and he is able to control his hunger. We get hints of some prophecy fulfilled from Derek’s sister, The Shade’s seer Vivienne.

Derek is smitten from this point on, but not so Sophia. She misses her home and her best friend Ben, and she’s terrified of the vampires. Derek starts to grow on her a bit by the end, but she paints a realistic view of how any young woman might actually feel toward a man who drinks a glass of blood at the breakfast table while she’s choking down her toast. She’s not throwing herself into his arms and begging to be turned into a demon, and we get that.

Derek’s fascination with her, however, is much less understandable. From the beginning of the book, Sophia presents herself as a rather weak character. She suffers from panic attacks, is secretly in love with her best friend who won’t give her the time of day, and comes across as a mousey nobody. A few Easter Eggs are dropped here and there, which suggest that Sophia is somehow special, but it’s almost like she has a disability that is hard to diagnose. My hope is that something in her past (which is shadowy), or maybe her genetic code, is discovered later which makes her more interesting.

I knew going in that this book was only the first in a long series, so I was prepared to wait for answers. Were the questions interesting enough for me to want to read book two? Heck yes, I dove right in. Derek and Sophia are quasi-formed characters, but I get the feeling of great depth within both of them. I can’t help it, I want them to fall in love. The history of The Shade beckons, as do the nature of the war between humans and hunters, and the story of Sophia’s origins. Enough writing, I have to find out what happens next…
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When the earth was new, words had the power to...
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Elephant is always ready and willing to share her prized...
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dictionary as narrator? YES! ...
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Morrigan battles a new evil as a strange, frightening illness...
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* From New York...
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An atlas of the most extreme meteorological and geological disasters...
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns...
Gut Garden: A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome! Within...
ICK! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Animals--they're cute and fluffy, cuddly and puffy, and ... sometimes...
Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct: Real Facts About Real Dinosaurs
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Drew Sheneman brings budding paleontologists the truth about...
The Camelot Betrayal
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new fantasy trilogy from New...
Soulswift
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A dark, epic fantasy about a girl who must rethink...
Goblin King
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Beautiful Wild
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You are invited to set sail on the maiden voyage...
Kingdom of the Wicked
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the #1 New York Times and USA Today bestselling...

Latest Member Reviews

Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
"GOBLIN KING is a much faster-paced and action-packed YA fantasy sequel. Janneke has taken the mantle of the stag, though..."
Swamp Thing: Twin Branches
 
4.3
"SWAMP THING: TWIN BRANCHES is a graphic novel about finding yourself, remembering history, and forging your own path forward. Alec..."
The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
"BROKEN WISH is a beautifully composed fairytale. The book begins with the story of Mathilda and Agnes, neighbors who have..."
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
"THE GILDED WOLVES is a fantastic YA fantasy. Although given a year in the 1800s and a historical setting, the..."
The Silvered Serpents (The Gilded Wolves, #2)
 
4.3
"That ending!!! THE SILVERED SERPENTS is an engaging YA historical fantasy that picks up after the first book ended, and..."
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
"Ashley Poston has crafted a new fairy tale for the ages! Among the Beasts and Briars may very well be..."
Warriors of Wing and Flame (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #2)
 
4.0
"WARRIORS OF WING AND FLAME is an intriguing conclusion to a YA fantasy duology about sisterhood. This book picks up..."
Sisters of Shadow and Light (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #1)
 
3.7
"SISTERS OF SHADOW AND LIGHT is an intriguing YA fantasy that focuses on the love between sisters. Zuhra has lived..."
Foreshadow: Stories to Celebrate the Magic of Reading and Writing YA
 
5.0
"FORESHADOW is a fantastic collection of short stories with a focus on discussion and writing. Each story is undeniably well-composed..."
A Cloud of Outrageous Blue
 
4.3
"A CLOUD OF OUTRAGEOUS BLUE is a historical fiction read that takes the reader to 1348-1349. Edyth grew up with..."
Slingshot
 
4.7
"SLINGSHOT by Mercedes Helnwein is a firecracker of a debut. This YA contemporary is set inside a shoddy boarding school..."
Raybearer (Raybearer, #1)
 
5.0
"RAYBEARER is a lush and imaginative YA fantasy that had me captivated from the start. The book follows Tarisai, who..."