A Shade of Vampire

Featured
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
1263 0
A Shade of Vampire
Author(s)
Age Group
12+
Published Date
December 14, 2012
ISBN Number
1481280767
ASIN Number
      

THE BESTSELLING FANTASY SERIES EVERYONE'S TALKING ABOUT... Over 3 million copies sold! What happens when WITCHES meet VAMPIRES? For fans of Harry Potter, Twilight, The Vampire Diaries and True Blood, prepare to be transported to the breathtaking new world of The Shade... Over 16,450 Five-Star Reviews (on Amazon/Goodreads). "A new spin on a crowded genre. Unique, passionate, thrilling." - Faerie Tale Books ★★★★★ "...an utterly enthralling, highly exciting and beautifully sensitive story. Five stars and a standing ovation." - Books For Tomorrow ★★★★★ Wall Street Journal Best-Seller. Recommended Read on USATODAY.com. Amazon Overall Top 3 Best-Seller. #1 Best-Seller in Vampire Romance, Paranormal & Fantasy. _____________________________________________________ On the evening of Sofia Claremont's seventeenth birthday, she is sucked into a nightmare from which she cannot wake. A quiet evening walk along a beach brings her face to face with a dangerous pale creature that craves much more than her blood. She is kidnapped to The Shade, an enchanted island where the sun is eternally forbidden to shine. An island uncharted by any map and ruled by the most powerful vampire coven on the planet. She wakes here as a slave, a captive in chains. Sofia's life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn when she is selected out of hundreds of girls to take up residence in the tree-top harem of Derek Novak, the dark royal prince. Despite his addiction to power and obsessive thirst for her blood, Sofia soon realizes that the safest place on the island is within his quarters, and she must do all within her power to win him over if she is to survive even one more night. Will she succeed? Or is she destined to the same fate that all other girls have met at the hands of the Novaks? Scroll up & click the buy button now to find out... "I challenge you to read this book and not love it." - Get Lost In Fiction ★★★★★ _____________________________________________________ Note: Derek Novak and Sofia Claremont's story is only a 7 book series. It completes in Book 7: A Break of Day, and the characters embark on entirely new adventures from Book 8: A Shade of Novak.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Shade More Dangerous
(Updated: September 28, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
I wasn’t sure what to expect when I first sat down to read Bella Forest’s A Shade of Vampire. I was certainly a Twilight fan, at least for the short few weeks that it took me to rip through all four books. Edward Cullen had me under his spell just as surely as he did Bella Swan (and most of the female population of YA readers). I was told I would like this new series even better, so I thought a similar experience was in order. I couldn’t have been more mistaken, and I was pleasantly surprised. Forest takes some great risks, allowing for an unpredictable, more daring story.

First of all, these vampires are not vegetarians. Not by a long shot. Main character Sophia Claremont is drugged and abducted very early on, then taken to their lair for the sole purpose of first serving in a harem, and later being eaten. Not one of the vampires comes across as alluring, though most of them are beautiful and fabulously dressed. They’re completely dismissive, even hateful, towards the lowly humans. A war seems to be raging between vampires and humans—especially those referred to as “hunters”—and the undead hide out on their own island, under a veil of permanent darkness and served by countless human slaves. “Welcome to The Shade,” Sophia is told. There doesn’t seem to be much hope of escape.

The other main character and probable love interest is Derek Novak, prince of The Shade. He’s been in an unnatural sleep for four hundred years, and he wakes suffering from ravenous hunger. He’s offered Sophia (and several more abducted teenage beauties), and very nearly devours her. Somehow, for reasons no one can understand, she calms him and he is able to control his hunger. We get hints of some prophecy fulfilled from Derek’s sister, The Shade’s seer Vivienne.

Derek is smitten from this point on, but not so Sophia. She misses her home and her best friend Ben, and she’s terrified of the vampires. Derek starts to grow on her a bit by the end, but she paints a realistic view of how any young woman might actually feel toward a man who drinks a glass of blood at the breakfast table while she’s choking down her toast. She’s not throwing herself into his arms and begging to be turned into a demon, and we get that.

Derek’s fascination with her, however, is much less understandable. From the beginning of the book, Sophia presents herself as a rather weak character. She suffers from panic attacks, is secretly in love with her best friend who won’t give her the time of day, and comes across as a mousey nobody. A few Easter Eggs are dropped here and there, which suggest that Sophia is somehow special, but it’s almost like she has a disability that is hard to diagnose. My hope is that something in her past (which is shadowy), or maybe her genetic code, is discovered later which makes her more interesting.

I knew going in that this book was only the first in a long series, so I was prepared to wait for answers. Were the questions interesting enough for me to want to read book two? Heck yes, I dove right in. Derek and Sophia are quasi-formed characters, but I get the feeling of great depth within both of them. I can’t help it, I want them to fall in love. The history of The Shade beckons, as do the nature of the war between humans and hunters, and the story of Sophia’s origins. Enough writing, I have to find out what happens next…
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A perfect, device-free remedy to what to do when the...
Animazes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow fascinating journeys of animal migration in this beautiful book...
Christmas Cheer for The Grouchy Ladybug
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the New York Times bestseller Hugs...
Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Big, brainy science for the littlest listeners. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki from Bainbridge Island, Washington is...
Laugh-Out-Loud Halloween Jokes: Lift-the-Flap
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The #1 bestselling Laugh-Out-Loud Jokes for Kids series is bringing...
Little Tigers
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey with a family of tigers as they search for...
Explorer Academy Codebreaking Activity Adventure
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unlock ancient puzzles and secrets introduced via supercool codes and...
One Fox: A Counting Book Thriller
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunningly gorgeous counting book with a delightful surprise ...
Hard Work, but It's Worth It: The Life of Jimmy Carter
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first picture book about the inspiring life of humanitarian...
Ready to Fly: How Sylvia Townsend Became the Bookmobile Ballerina
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An inspiring picture book for little ballerinas everywhere! ...
Odd Dog Out
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming and poignant story from award-winning creator Rob Biddulph...
The First Time I Died
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first time I died, I didn’t come back alone......
Jeremiah Jericho: Allowance (book 1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jeremiah just turned 16 and found out that he inherited...
Pete the Kitty Goes to the Doctor
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Oh no! Pete the Kitty has a tummyache. Good thing...
Bach to the Rescue!!!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every famous piece of art has an origin story—even Bach’s...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki is disgusted when he finds out that his pen-pal Charlie is a girl. Still, they..."
Loki: Where Mischief Lies
 
3.0
"LOKI: WHERE MISCHIEF LIES tells a new story of teen Loki, before all the big battles and intergalactic feuds with..."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
5.0
"Told from the perspective of a girl who was captured and escaped, JANE ANONYMOUS is a thriller of both physical..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"posso usare l'italiano or english"
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
4.7
"In all seriousness, Fireborne by Rosaria Munda is the best. I have nothing to compare it to. It is unique,..."
Tweet Cute
 
4.3
"TWEET CUTE is a fun enemies-to-dating and anonymous-You've-Got-Mail style YA contemporary romance. The book follows the two protagonists in equal..."
Throw Like a Girl
 
4.3
"THROW LIKE A GIRL is a charming story about chasing your dreams, a little romance, and a passion for sports...."
The Boy Next Story
 
4.0
"'The Boy Next Story' by Tiffany Schmidt follows main character Aurora, who goes by Rory, as she tries to figure..."
 
4.0
"Veronica can see the ghost of her dead mother. She also suffers from debilitating migraines that hold her back from..."
Pax Novis (The Pax Archives, #1)
 
4.0
"PAX NOVIS is an engaging YA sci-fi novel that takes place in the future, when humans have colonized other planets...."
And I Darken
 
3.3
"To be honest, I went into this expecting vampires. I guess between the visual tone to the..."
Endling: The First
 
5.0
"Applegate delivers an action-packed middle-grade sequel in a uniquely otherworldly setting, with characters that are relatable, cute and fuzzy, along..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
5.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION is an incredible new YA fantasy that combines a dark mystery, magic, and romance/love into a gorgeous,..."
Refraction
 
4.3
"REFRACTION is a highly readable/devourable book that is certainly a page-turner. In the post-apocalyptic future, a small island appears to..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"hi :) bross :)"
Fan the Fame
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Excuse me, who gave Anna Priemaza permission to bug my house and use my brother and I..."
I'm Not Dying with You Tonight
 
3.7
"Los Angeles, Ferguson, and Baltimore. Three cities where years of racism, injustice, unchecked police brutality, and rampant anti-Black racism came..."
Serpent & Dove
 
4.0
"I’d been hearing about this book on Bookstagram, BookTube, and BookTwitter as an anticipated release for September 2019. And then..."
Stalking Jack the Ripper
 
5.0
"I have no words….well, that’s a lie. I have lots of words. Just where to start?! Stalking Jack the Ripper..."
How to Make Friends with the Dark
 
3.0
"A weighty YA Contemporary, grappling with a wide array of crises and quandaries. What I..."