Forever Blue

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1726 0
Forever Blue
Author(s)
Age Group
15+
Published Date
June 17, 2016
ISBN Number
1533107645
ASIN Number
      

"I broke the surface and gulped in air, running my hands over my face to push the water away. A raindrop splattered on my cheek. He did not rise. Seven more raindrops in quick succession splattered against my skin. And still, he did not rise. The heavens opened and rain fell like a sheet, blanketing me, cutting me off from the rest of the world. I thought it was the end of everything. But I was wrong." Brothers, Ruben and Judah Mitchell, used to be close, but that was before they met Cara Armistead. Once she moved in next door the brothers grew further and further apart, until the tension between them led to an event which left one dead and the other branded by the aftermath. One year later, after the death of her baby brother destroyed her family, Lennon Donnelly has moved back to her home town of Puruwai. While visiting the cemetery she finds a boy sitting on a gravestone, a boy with secrets in his past, but someone who finally sees her. Accused by the town as a killer, he reaches out to Lennon, but as their relationship deepens the events of the year before present themselves in a way no one could have imagined. In this compelling young adult romance, Forever Blue tells of the intertwining relationships of Lennon, Ruben, Judah and Cara. Spanning over two years, Abby Wilder creates a story of intrigue and suspicion that will haunt you long after you turn the final page.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A beautiful, haunting, and confronting tale of truth and sacrifice.
(Updated: June 14, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Forever Blue by Abby Wilder

The Story:
When Lennon bumps into the elusive Judah Mitchell at the cemetery, she cannot begin to guess what lies she will uncover. Lennon must dive into the mysteries surrounding this boy to save him…and, as it turns out, to save herself.

The Characters:
Lennon is a late-teens character with a great mix of virtues and flaws. She is strong and clear-headed, not cowed by her peers, and possessed a large propensity toward caring for others. Though all of these attributes are unusual for a character of this age, we witness the trials Lennon has faced, and how they have helped to craft her personality.
Grams offers comic relief with her chronic smoking, and small nursing home rebellions. This character is a wise presence in the book, and ties in nicely to the ending.
The male protagonist, Judah, is not at all what he seems. The reader is kept on their toes at all times regarding his intentions, his past, and his future. The Author keeps us on edge as the truth of Judah unravels and we alternatively dislike and love him, all the while carrying a strong empathy for every decision and action he has made.
The amazing thing about this novel, is that there is not a blatant antagonist. Not really. We dislike each of the characters at some point of the story, and love them the next. But though able to lay blame at several doorsteps, too much of each character’s history is shown to truly despise them. Instead, their actions leave us heartbroken and haunted, wondering whether, if one aspect of their life had changed, the outcome could have been different.

The World:
Set in a small, religious town. Everyone knows everyone’s business, and people are both quick to welcome you, and quick to turn on you, setting up a great tension. The paranormal aspects of this novel that unfold will send shivers down your spine, and possibly deprive you of a few nights sleep.

The Readability:
This book is devourable. Chapter point of views switch between four characters, flicking between present, future, and the past tense in such a way that we are left in no doubt of the Author’s expertise. We receive information to the buried truth like puzzle pieces, slowly seeing the bigger picture. Abby Wilder's bravery in writing such a story speaks tellingly of her confidence in the craft and is to be commended.
The story can be read as a stand-alone, though the reader can see where a sequel would arise from. There are several hooks which build in 'eyes glued to page' fashion, until only a horrified wonderment is left in their wake. Once the cover is closed, the reader can expect to reflect back on the story in heartache, shock, and haunted yearning.
Recommended for 15 years and above.

Final Verdict:
A beautiful, haunting, and confronting tale of truth and sacrifice.

Favorite Quote:
“His eyes stayed on me as water filled the car. And although he never voiced it, he knew. He knew this was the end. He knew there was no other choice. And he didn’t fight.”
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."