Seneca Rebel

Featured
 
4.6 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2301 0
Seneca Rebel Cover
Author(s)
Publisher Name
ATM Publishing
Age Group
12+
Published Date
June 01, 2016
ISBN Number
9780997241709
ASIN Number
      

What if your one chance to change the world means you have to leave everything you love behind? In the not-too-distant future, math genius Doro Campbell is introduced to the Seneca Society: a secretive, technologically-advanced subterranean utopia dedicated to inventing and perfecting the most effective ways to benefit our planet. But there’s a hitch. Like all that have come before her, Doro is given the ultimatum: Stay in Seneca forever, or leave now with no memory of the place, its goals, and its inhabitants. She stays. Her ideals are shattered when, together with biotechnology whiz, Dominic Ambrosia, Doro uncovers profound deceptions beneath the surface of this all too-perfect community. Will one teenage girl have what it takes to go up against swarms of drones, psychological manipulation and biological attacks, to uncover the truth and change the trajectory of the world?

Editor reviews

2 reviews

An Excellent Edition to the Sci-Fi Genre
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
What I Loved:

SENECA REBEL by Rayya Deeb is a fast paced futuristic sci-fi read that will have you on the edge of your seats from start to finish. SENECA REBEL starts with a bang and doesn’t let up until the very last page where the cliffhanger will leave you begging for more.

We first meet Dorothy “Doro” Campbell on her way to be introduced to Seneca- an underground society built to house exceptionally gifted individuals in various fields who live and work together to help build a better future. Easily Deeb’s strongest work is in her world building. Every detail of Seneca is written in perfect detail with strong visual descriptors. Seneca feels like it could be a real place.

Doro is a fantastic narrator and I thoroughly enjoyed watching the story unfold through her eyes. She’s strong and vulnerable at the same time. She’s smart but also has a tendency to make decisions without all the information. She’s a kind and loyal friend to the few friends she’s willing to let in.
The action in the novel moves at break-neck speed and there’s very little downtime between major events. This kept me turning pages because I just had to know what happened next.

What Left Me Wanting More:

Doro is immediately smitten with a boy named Dominic “Dom.” Their relationship felt a little one sided to me and I would have appreciated more interaction between Doro and Dom in dialogue. Most of what we learned about Dom comes from Doro’s internal dialogue when she catalogues how great he is but I wanted to hear straight from him more often about what he was thinking and feeling- not just about Doro but also about the events happening to and around him.

Final Verdict:

Seneca Rebel is a fantastic addition to the science fiction genre with its own unique additions. The plot twists and turns in exciting ways that make it impossible to put down. It’s vivid descriptions of the world of Seneca will pull you deeper into the story and leave you wanting more. Highly recommend for fans of the science fictions genre and a great introductory read for those who are not.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sci-Fi Done Right
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Seneca Rebel by Rayya Deeb is one of those rare books where all the elements come together to form a work of near perfection. It is a futuristic sci-fi look at what the United States of America could ultimately become. Certainly, this story will be compared to other series that have been successful in this genre recently, such as The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner; yet, not only can Seneca Rebel hold its own in comparison, it also has so much original material to offer.

Unlike the others, an apocalyptic event has not caused society to break down and build back up in a convoluted way. Sure, the state of the environment, economy, education, and transportation are not ideal, but the America in Seneca Rebel is not unfamiliar. What instead is remarkable is the existence of an underground society, Seneca, located on the east coast outside of Washington D.C., where exceptionally gifted individuals in all fields are invited to come and improve the future.

The author does a great job at world building here. I genuinely feel as though I can picture all of Seneca, exactly the way she describes it. This makes the book much more thrilling and exciting since I can create a visual reference in my mind. Also, the characters are wonderfully complex and seem to function in a believable way in this world. For instance, Doro is a brilliant mathematician and tech expert. However, she can also be sullen, delinquent, and challenging, qualities that both hurt and help her in the long run. Reba, Doro’s friend, is an upbeat, positive, and incredibly lovable character, but he has old scars from being bullied and abandoned, which in turn makes him fiercely loyal. Blue Combat Boots, or Dom, is introduced in such a fun and wonderful way, but he too is presented as complicated from the onset. As a result, it is easy to want to know more and more about these people.

The only criticism I have for this particular book is that sometimes the end of the chapters feel a little clipped, as if they finish too abruptly. A few more sentences regarding what is happening in that moment would have just rounded it out better, allowing the meaning to truly land on the audience. The way it is written now, I am already onto the next plot point before I can care about what has just transpired. However, with that being said, this particular style keeps the book moving at a fast pace and in essence, mimics what Doro is facing, never having the chance to grasp what is going on before something new is thrown her way.

Overall, Seneca Rebel is an incredibly addicting story that is nearly impossible to put down. It will have readers gasping in shock, shouting in frustration, and swooning over the romantic bits. This book is certainly a must read that will delight and surprise those who are familiar with the sci-fi genre and even those who are not.
Good Points
Engaging material that is well-written.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."