Swords & Stilettos

Featured
 
4.0
 
4.4 (2)
1324 3
Swords & Stilettos
Publisher Name
Kasian Publishing
Age Group
10+
Published Date
December 07, 2016
ISBN Number
978-1-943207-36-7
ASIN Number
      

Zoe Jabril needs to devise a kick-ass plan to save the world ASAP. Otherwise, Armageddon starts the day she turns eighteen—and if that happens, everything is going to hell. Literally. She could be any other 17-year-old attending parties and checking out cute guys—except she discovers her best friend is a Guardian Angel and the boy she crushes on is a Nephilim, both sent to protect her from the demons who want her dead. Now Zoe has to deal with growing feelings toward the Nephilim, who spreads a strange electrical current through her body every time he touches her. And she’s under constant attack from Demons, trying to stop her from fulfilling the Prophecy: a girl will be born who will unite Angels, Nephilim, Fairies and Werewolves to battle evil. Then she has to control newly found talents if she’s to prevent the devil from escaping Hell. ** This title used to be called: The Guardian, a Sword, & Stilettos. ** ** Age Appropriate: Middle School; age 10+ ** ** This Series are considered to be 'clean' books **

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Will Feed Your Paranormal Crave
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
SWORDS AND STILETTOS features it all to feed your paranormal crave. There are werewolves, fairies, angels, half-angels, and demons. If you need a fix, this one will do it for you.

SWORDS AND STILETTOS is a different take on the Redeemer who is destined to save the earth from the Devil. Zoe is just an ordinary girl, or at least she thinks she is. Until she's attacked by demons and Shay shows up out of nowhere. I'm not usually a fan of insta-love, but the author makes it so that the reader falls in love with Shay after the initial meetings along with Zoe. Shay is a half-angel and he and Zoe have an instant connection that's impossible for either of them to fight. Keiran, her best friend she's known her whole life, turns out to be another angel. Both Shay and Keiran have been sent to watch Zoe grow and protect her because she's believed to be the 'babe' in the prophesy. The prophesy states that she will save the world from the Devil.

I really liked how they referred to the Devil as Sam. It made everything seem more normal and not as drastic as it really is. There is a lot of typical high school drama in SWORDS AND STILETTOS between Zoe and a girl named Morgan. It threatened to overtake the plot of the story but the author manages to rein it in. Along with the drama, there's also plenty of romance and action.

It was interesting to watch how Zoe reacts to the notion that she's no longer your average girl. The more signs that appear proving she's not human, the more dangerous it becomes for her to do anything along. Because of that, Shay and Keiran also get help from a fairy named Sibelle and a werewolf named Vash.


Final Verdict: This is a good read for fans of young adult paranormal romance, especially those whole enjoy a mixture of creatures. It's also perfect for high school aged teens since there's a lot of high school drama.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.4
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Plot/Story 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (2)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Nice Addition to the YA Paranormal Romance Genre
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Although it included much of the standard YA paranormal fare (insta-love, chosen characters, other-worldly creatures) what I liked most about this book was how much empathy I felt for the main character, Zoe, because the author did such a fantastic job of focusing on her inner turmoil and desire to do the right thing. With plenty of surprises along the way, this one kept me reading "just one more page" to find out what happened next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Awesome First Book in Series!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Awesome first book in the series. Follow along a 17-year-old girl who has to save the world from Armageddon with the help from her BFF who happens to be a guardian angel, a high school friend who's a fairy, and a stranger who they share something electrical.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...

Latest Member Reviews

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."