Crossing the Barrier - The Gray Eyes Series Book One

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1461 0
Crossing the Barrier - The Gray Eyes series Book One
Author(s)
Age Group
16+
Published Date
March 22, 2016
ISBN Number
9781944940010
ASIN Number
      

High school student Malakai Thomas, star wide receiver of the varsity team, collides with band member Lily Morgan on his way to football practice. As days go by, Malakai cannot get the petite clarinetist out of his head. Lily Morgan can feel everyone's emotions. She loses her ability to shield herself against them the day Malakai runs into her. Now she must try to maintain her sanity in the emotional jungle that is high school, as well as deal with her growing feelings for Malakai. Can Malakai get over the social stigma and his own internal struggle to be with Lily? Is Lily's secret too big to accept, even for him?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

If Only We All Had Shields in High School!
(Updated: June 28, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Lily Morgan is an empath, born with a supernatural ability to feel the emotions of others around her. A surrogate child, she has no idea why or how she has this ability, but she is extremely grateful for her developed skill of “shielding” all those emotions at will. Except…her shields begin to fail within the first few pages of Crossing the Barrier.

Oh, another thing? Lily is in high school. So, imagine the multitude of hormone laced angst she’s slammed with when, say, walking into the school cafeteria. Or, traversing a crowded hallway. Or, basically being anywhere there are a bunch of other teenagers. A reader does have to imagine some of that rich soup of drama, because author Martine Lewis skims over the gritty details of many possibly awesome exchanges—not that engaging a reader’s imagination is a crime, but Lewis misses an opportunity to show us her chops there. However, I like the metaphor of the empath without shields, in the midst of the chaos of high school. I think that’s how a lot of us feel at that age, all raw nerves and raging passions. Lily’s love interest is nearly as bad at dealing with emotions as she is, and he’s no empath.

He’s more sensitive than most young men, though, and readers won’t have a tough time falling for Malakai, just as does Lily. He’s a gorgeous, popular football player, but he longs for a girl he can really talk to, someone unique and genuine. He finds that in “band geek” Lily in spades, but she’s struggling with her lost shields. Accordingly, she comes across as a bit too much the helpless maiden at times, relying on her boyfriend’s strength. Who doesn’t swoon for Prince Charming, but that’s a dangerous message for young girls. In fact, Lily’s dependence on Malakai does backfire. He’s got his own problems. All in all, though, this is a sweet love story, and their faults make for more believable characters. I did find myself rooting for an alternate love interest by the end of the book, but don’t worry: the ending is a happy one.

The ending comes quickly in the last quarter or so of the book, and after a bit of a slow start, I was excited for the accelerated pace and clues to a deeper story. Initially, I believed the book title had to do with some sort of supernatural force or science fiction spin on what is mostly a romance. It doesn’t take long to realize that the “barrier” refers to a social divide between nerds and cool kids. I was taken aback by the hard line drawn there, and it’s difficult to believe my own high school days were quite so superficial and prejudiced. I guess maybe they were, though, and I’m just lucky to have survived without any lasting scars or lurking memories. By the end, Lewis does tie that barrier into something beyond the natural realm after all. There is something behind this empath thing!

Crossing the Barrier is a good start to a fun series for younger teens and middle graders. It’s a clean read, in clear, straightforward language without profanity. Though ideas about sex are explored and there is obvious passion between Lily and Malakai, one must imagine what finally happens behind closed doors. There is some mild violence, and Lily receives her mother’s disgust for her as if the woman has a megaphone. She unleashes some powerful venom, and Lily weathers it all. The way she deals with her mother’s rejection hints at a deeper well of emotional maturity, and I hope Lily becomes a stronger heroine in book two. The underlying mystery of her empath abilities, with a hint of her harnessing greater power in the future, has promise. Martine Lewis has laid solid groundwork for a moving story of a young woman on an incredible journey, and I’m interested to see where she leads us next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."