Deceptions

 
0.0
 
4.9 (4)
1274 3
DeceptionsNewCoverWeb96.jpg
Publisher Name
Rae-Allen Publishing
Age Group
13+
Published Date
February 22, 2015
ISBN Number
978-1508499022
ASIN Number
      
Book Two of a Thrilling Trilogy

Mysteries and secrets continue in this twisted romantic series...

New school, new friends, new boyfriend, Heather Reiner's life has finally become somewhat normal. Normal, that is, for a girl who possesses abilities to see visions. What could go wrong?

Corruption.
Extortion.
Lies.

Secrets and half-truths destroy relationships. As each truth reveals itself, Heather finds herself with the worst betrayal yet—her own Deception.

Will it prove all too much for Heather?

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.9
Writing Style 
 
4.8  (4)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (4)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (4)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.8  (4)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Gripping and heartfelt
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
In Visions, I was introduced to the character of Heather Reiner, a vulnerable but brave teenage girl with the power of clairvoyance. Using this gift, and with the help of her friends, she is able to overcome her fears and help the local authorities crack the ten-year-old unsolved homicide of a young boy.

In Deceptions, Heather's story continues as she is brought in to help locate a young man who has gone missing. But in doing so, Heather is drawn into a web of intrigue that involves drugs, payoffs and local government corruption. And bringing this matter to a successful may end up driving a wedge between her and Barry, the boy she loves.

Kimberly Readnour does a great job of building the tension as the story goes, but we never forget that at the center of the story is a fragile girl who sees her gift as both a blessing and a curse, complete with typical teenage neuroses and hormones. We feel every hurt that Heather feels, and we rejoice when she turns her fears into triumphs.

Cannot WAIT for the next chapter in this series!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Even better than the first book in the series
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
I really enjoyed this sequel to Visions. Once again, the heroine's psychic abilities are the crux of the story. Even though this book's main storyline dealt with more political intrigue than the child-in-danger theme of the first, it as just as gripping. The characters were well-developed and I started to feel a real connection with them in this book. Readnour did a very good job of dealing with the dramatic ups and downs of teenage romance (I know from my own writing that it's harder than you might think!) without making that the entire focus of the book. The characters and the storylines are very believable (once you buy in to the main premise of psychic abilities - which I am completely willing to do!). I liked the sub-thread embedded in this story that gave the heroine's single mom a bit of romance of her own. And the cliff-hanger ending definitely left me wanting to read the next installment in this series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Worthy Sequel!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
There’s so much going on in this book! I absolutely loved it.

After everything that happened in Visions, we go into this book expecting Heather to finally be able to have a semi-normal life. She has friends that know about her clairvoyance and a boyfriend that can deal with the oddness that goes along with it. Her relationship with her mom is on its way to being fixed and she now has a purpose- she’s helping the police by using her visions to see what people are up to.

So that’s how she ends up in Detective Tanners car, searching for Nicholas- a college kid who has gone missing. This time her visions aren’t only about him. He’s involved with much bigger players in town and there will be consequences. Never have Heather’s visions put her in this much danger and never before have they broken her heart. Can the people in her life handle her ability when it involves them or the people they love? How will Heather react when they hit closer to home? The answers to these questions will surprise you and the twist at the end will leave you wanting more.

I liked the first book in the series, Visions, but I absolutely loved this one. There’s enough drama to get your heart pounding and enough twists and turns to keep you guessing. While I’m not a big fan on Barry- I find him overly clingy and kind of a jerk sometimes- I’m really enjoying seeing the development of Heather as she becomes this strong force. The visions are hard for her but she handles them and their consequences with a grace that surprises and delights the reader. I admire her.

Anyone who had any interest in the prequel Visions is going to love this book. It is definitely worthy of your time and I for one, can’t wait for the third book!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Taut, Tense and Triumphant
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
In Visions, I was introduced to the character of Heather Reiner, a vulnerable but brave teenage girl with the power of clairvoyance. Using this gift, and with the help of her friends, she is able to overcome her fears and help the local authorities crack the ten-year-old unsolved homicide of a young boy.

In Deceptions, Heather's story continues as she is brought in to help locate a young man who has gone missing. But in doing so, Heather is drawn into a web of intrigue that involves drugs, payoffs and local government corruption. And bringing this matter to a successful may end up driving a wedge between her and Barry, the boy she loves.

Kimberly Readnour does a great job of building the tension as the story goes, but we never forget that at the center of the story is a fragile girl who sees her gift as both a blessing and a curse, complete with typical teenage neuroses and hormones. We feel every hurt that Heather feels, and we rejoice when she turns her fears into triumphs.

Cannot WAIT for the next chapter in this series!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a tiny mouse as she searches for the biggest...
The Shadow War
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. ...

Latest Member Reviews

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."