Visions

 
0.0
 
4.6 (3)
1233 3
VisionsNewCoverWeb.jpg
Publisher Name
Rae-Allen Publishing
Age Group
13+
Published Date
December 15, 2014
ISBN Number
978-1503072381
ASIN Number
      
Having clairvoyance isn’t easy...

After moving to a new town, Heather Reiner struggles to keep her psychic abilities a secret and establish a sense of normalcy…at least for her overprotective mother’s sake.

But when Heather starts having terrifying visions of a missing boy, she can’t simply ignore them. This time she feels an inexplicable pull to solve the crime, and slowly begins to believe that her supernatural gifts could actually help others.

After meeting Barry, the cute boy next door, Heather uncovers a few interesting facts that might help unravel the mystery. She wants his help, but getting Barry involved also means exposing her “gifts” and potentially putting both their lives in danger.

Because if she’s not careful, these terrifying visions might be driving Heather straight into the killer’s lair.

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.6
Writing Style 
 
4.7  (3)
Plot/Story 
 
4.3  (3)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.3  (3)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.7  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Great premise and interesting twists
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
I'm fascinated by the idea of psychic powers, so this book was right up my alley. Readnour drew me into her world immediately with a gripping start to the novel which ended in an interesting twist that set up the rest of the book. The story was very well-crafted with intriguing ideas. It delivered on the interest generated by the blurb. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that some of the character development was a little rushed - I would have liked to get to know the characters a little better. All together a very good book and I downloaded the 2nd book in this series literally moments after finishing the first book! I'm looking forward to more.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Great Read!
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
I’ll be honest, I have never read a book having to do with clairvoyance before. I’ve read plenty of stories about people with “abilities” but I don’t think clairvoyance really fits into that category. Some people believe there are these types of people out there- I am not one of them.

So, it’s a good thing I was reading fiction, right? I really really enjoyed this book. The story centers around a teenage girl named Heather who sees things. If she touches someone or something that belonged to them, she sometimes sees visions of things that have happened to them. That makes her the perfect Nancy Drew.
Heather and her mom move to a new town to run from a town full of people that treated Heather like a freak because of her visions. You can guess the effect those people had on Heather. She must struggle to overcome her aloofness, trust issues, and other problems to solve a disappearance of a little boy that happened 10 years ago.

Spirits and what not mostly turn me off of books but I oddly liked the way Ms. Readnour handled it. Those were actually some of my favorite parts. As for characters, Heather was quite endearing when she wasn’t having an inner monologue about how she can’t open up to people. She did tend to repeat herself but I was able to get past that because the story was very good and I loved all of the secondary characters.
Ms. Readnour has this way of making us see what some of the other characters feel without over describing even though the entire book is from Heather’s POV.

Overall, I really did like this book. I give it a smidge over 4 beautiful stars and can’t wait to dig in to book 2!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Great Paranormal Thriller
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
What do you do if you're a teenage girl with the ability to see things that others can't, disturbing, haunting images that are revealed at the slightest touch?

If you're seventeen-year-old Hether Reiner, you seek solitude, avoiding friends and any kind of social life. When her mother movies her to a new town, she hopes that somehow, she can find a way to fit in. But when she realizes that one of the former residents of their house was a small boy who was brutally murdered, a heinous crime that has gone unsolved for ten years, Heather must find a way to use her gifts to find the boy's killer before another child meets the same fate.

Kimberly Readnour's writing style pulls you right in, making the story very difficult to put down. You feel the emotion, the heartache, the awkwardness of being a teenager in every paragraph, but who also imbues Heather with a moral code that allows her to place the welfare of others above her own needs. And, of course, no teenage heroine should be without a handsome boy to draw strength from. Though her friendship with her handsome neighbor and classmate Barry does add a worthwhile dimension to the story, The story never loses its balance between the characters and the plot, which moves along at a brisk pace.

I will certainly be reading the second book in this series, and would recommend this story to any who love paranormal thrillers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."