Tor Maddox: UNLEASHED

 
4.3
 
4.0 (3)
2069 1
Tor Maddox: UNLEASHED
Author(s)
Publisher Name
LCTeen
Age Group
12+
Published Date
May 01, 2015
ISBN Number
978-1508860808
ASIN Number
      
Introducing Tor Maddox, a heroine for our times with book I in the series, Tor Maddox: UNLEASHED.

When sixteen-year old Torrance Olivia Maddox, self-confessed news junkie, figures out that the mysterious and deadly New Flu is being spread by dogs, she has one question—if the danger is that obvious to her, why hasn’t the government revealed the truth and taken action?

Her search for the answer will take her farther than she ever imagined. But then again, she never imagined that man’s best friend could become public enemy number one, that men in black might show up in her cozy suburban neighborhood, that she’d spend her sixteenth birthday as a teenaged runaway, and that her effort to save one dog would become a mission to save them all.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Fun, adorable, and thrilling!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Love, dogs, mystery, and vocab tests are all important parts of Tor Maddox's first thrilling adventure.

A teenager with enough motivation and energy to fuel a space shuttle, Torrance Olivia Maddox, fondly known as Tor, is the first to discover the secret to a new strain of influenza plaguing the West Coast. Turns out the flu is being transmitted to humans through dogs! And Tor will stop at nothing to ensure the safety of man's best friend - all 60 million American dogs.

Tor has a delightful, quirky, and unique voice. I laughed out loud so many times! Tor is fun, likable, and she changes so much over the course of the story. The development for all main characters throughout the book is really well-done, as are the individual voices of those like Tor's brother, her parents, and the government agents she has to deal with.

Tor's adventures are not so over the top that they're unbelievable, although she does get into some outrageous hijinks. I can't wait to see what kind of trouble she gets into next time!

A fantastically unique series opener, TOR MADDOX: UNLEASHED is fun, adorable, and thrilling!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.7  (3)
Plot/Story 
 
3.0  (3)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.3  (3)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Cute
(Updated: June 30, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Full review on my blog https://mollyeyablog.wordpress.com/2015/06/27/tor-maddox-unleashed-liz-coley/
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
YA Thriller without a dark touch
(Updated: June 30, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Note: I received a free copy from Xpresso Tours in exchange for an honest review.

This is a modern day, teenage mystery/thriller with a fantastic teen voice. Tor is exactly the kind of girl one would expect to run into in the high school hallways--a little mouthy, a little head-strong, but a big heart and ready to stick up for what she believes in. . .even if it means going what most people would consider a little over-board.

We start with her in a park walking her cute doggy (yep, one to fall in love with). The opening scene with the 'older' guy was simply fun and was a great way to start off the story, which although manages to keep a 'light' tone, still delves into some pretty serious areas. That was one of my favorite aspects of this book, the way it took a very serious situation and definitely hit the thriller end without having the overly dark, morbid feeling often found in YA literature. Tor finds herself in deep trouble, and she's up against a horrible threat, but her view of the world manages to stay hopeful.

The supporting characters in this story are lovely. There's a great relationship between Tor and her brother, and the parents manage the situation with parenting perfectness. I think any teen would love to jump into Tor's shoes. . .although maybe not have the evil men pursuing them.

The only thing that bothered me in this book is the pace. Although things are happening all of the time, for some reason the danger doesn't come through as clear as it could (despite the threat against Tor, I sometimes just didn't feel the tension). But that's not enough to ruin the story!

This is a wonderful mystery/thriller that especially girls ages 13+ up will enjoy. The situations are realistic, hide messages that will make the reader think, and still keep a wonderfully modern, true to life air.
Good Points
Fantastic teen voice!
Cute doggy.
A thriller without being overly dark and morbid.
Lovely brother sister relationship.
Interesting surmise, well thought out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
An entertaining read for dog-lovers
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A
Note: I received a free digital copy of this book thanks to Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Unleashed is a fun, interesting book that all dog-lovers will find enjoyable!

Plot

The storyline is pretty unique to me, or at least, I haven’t read or heard of many books based on it. It’s relatively fast-paced, however I was expecting a bit more ‘thrilling’ action scenes, as this is, a thriller. Nonetheless, it was still a good plot. It did kind of take me a little bit of time to really get into the book, but once I did, especially near the middle and end, I was really immersed in the story, and I kept flipping pages because the plot/storyline had me hooked.

Characters

I really liked Tor, although she did come off as quite childish at times. Sometimes this bothers me, but this time it slipped my attention until after finishing the book. Tor isn’t your average girl. Where other girls are squealing about boys and wearing makeup, Tor watches the news and uses advanced vocabulary. She’s smart, loves animals, especially dogs, and stands up for what she believes in. Tor isn’t afraid to speak her mind, or act on what she thinks is right, and I really admired that throughout the book.

As far as other characters go, I felt like they weren’t as developed as Tor, but I still liked them. Rick Turner, the love interest, isn’t the best, but I did really like Tor’s friend Sasha, as he seems like a very mysterious character and is very likeable. I don’t want to give away and spoilers, so I’ll leave it at that!

Writing Style

The writing style was fairly easy to read, and made it simple to visualize what I was reading in my head, and I really enjoyed reading it! The writing style made the book lots of fun to read, and there was a kind of style to it that I can’t really name.

I floated above the ground, I spun in dizzy circles, I puddled at his feet, and somewhere in the background there was music playing.

Often there would be this prose to the writing, a slight poetic feel to it (not always though) but I wouldn’t notice it until afterwards. It kind of all slips on top of everything, since it’s so easy to read.

Overall…

A very interesting book involving conspiracy theories, virology, romance and dogs. If you like dogs, this would be a good pick for you, because not only does the whole book surround dogs and the flu they have gotten, the main character’s goal is to keep her dog, and all the other dogs, safe. So what could be better, if you’re a dog-lover? But even if you don’t like dogs, this book might still be a good pick because of the start of a forbidden romance, or the thriller aspect of the story. All in all, I liked this book, and if this seems like your thing, go for it!
Good Points
-Interesting storyline
-Good characters
-Easy writing style
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...

Latest Member Reviews

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."