The Casquette Girls

 
3.5
 
5.0 (1)
1418 2
The Casquette Girls
Author(s)
Publisher Name
fortheARTofit
Age Group
12+
Published Date
October 31, 2013
ISBN Number
978-0-9897577-2-0
ASIN Number
      
AFTER THE STORM OF THE CENTURY rips apart New Orleans, Adele Le Moyne and her father are among the first to return to the city following the mandatory evacuation. Adele wants nothing more than for life to return to normal, but with the silent city resembling a mold-infested war zone, a parish-wide curfew, and mysterious new faces lurking in the abandoned French Quarter, normal will have to be redefined.

Events too unnatural – even for New Orleans – lead Adele to an attic that has been sealed for three hundred years, and the chaos she unleashes threatens not only her life but everyone she knows.

Caught suddenly in a hurricane of eighteenth-century myths and monsters, Adele must quickly untangle a web of magic that links the climbing murder rate back to her own ancestors. But who can you trust in a city where everyone has a secret, and where keeping them can be a matter of life and death – unless, that is, you’re immortal.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Casquette Girls
(Updated: January 06, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Sixteen-year-old Adele Le Moyne returns to New Orleans after the hurricane of the century hits. Everything is in chaos including her home but when more people show up dead, unanswered questions circulate.

What worked: The whole New Orleans backdrop adds flavor to this story where a girl finds she played a part in unleashing a centuries old evil. Mysterious, with Gothic undertones, the tension builds halfway through the novel. The pacing was slow at times but when some mysteries are revealed, including an ancestor's journal from 1728, I was hooked. The tone of the novel reminded me so much of YA meets The Originals complete with some hot vampires and other paranormal creatures. Add a dollop of The Secret Circle on how Adele and some others in the town try to combat the evil. I also loved the symbolism of a hurricane causing supernatural havoc to the city.

Adele's character is strong and determined to make sense of what has happened to her beloved city. The conflict between her mother in Paris is realistic. Seriously, what girl would want to leave Paris unless not everything is what it appears to be. Readers find out at the very end the truth of her mother.

There's more characters which include Desiree, the daughter of the local voodoo shop; some high school drama at the private school(I almost felt this part went by too fast); some other New Orleans friends and family. But the main character had to be the city of New Orleans and the French Quarter which are shown in vivid and colorful descriptions. I felt as if I walked the streets and alleys. I wanted more of this!

One thing that I felt did hold this otherwise engaging story back had to be that there seemed to be almost too much going on. There are vamps, werewolves, a cute boy that turns into a crow, a girl that practices voodoo, witchcraft, and a number of other supernatural beings. The story of Issac, for example, I felt wasn't explained enough. I really wanted to see more of his story.

Magically, Gothic trip through the streets of New Orleans where a horrible secret is unleashed after the hurricane of the century.
Good Points
1. Intriguing glimpse of New Orleans during early 1700s
2. YA meets The Originals
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
I am obsessed with this book
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
I'm soooo in love with this book!I know it took me FOREVER to read this book, which is shocking, I know. But I did NOT want this book to end! I want to cry because I finished it. Then I also want to cry because this book was just so amazing. I have to admit, walking into Boutique du Vampyre in New Orleans I didn't expect I was going to really walk out with anything, but of course, I found the shelves of books and was instantly drawn to this one not only because it reminded me of the Originals but because the color/font/cover... just everything about this book was perfect and eye drawing. If just looking at this book doesn't draw you in, something is wrong. Lol. Anywho, I actually walked away twice before I gave in and ran back to it and bought it. I'm so so so glad I did! My whole reaction reading this book was just "whoa". It was written magnificently! The characters were original and the story line was mind blowing. And of course because this book was set here in Louisiana, if gives me a sort of "HECK YES!" moment because ... well it's Louisiana! Come on! Who doesn't love New Orleans!? Lol. Alys Arden has excellent talent and I can NOT wait for book two! I want it nowwww!
If I could rate this book a trillion stars, I really would.
Good Points
I loved literally everything about this book. It was perfect.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."