The Casquette Girls

 
3.5
 
5.0 (1)
1454 2
The Casquette Girls
Author(s)
Publisher Name
fortheARTofit
Age Group
12+
Published Date
October 31, 2013
ISBN Number
978-0-9897577-2-0
ASIN Number
      
AFTER THE STORM OF THE CENTURY rips apart New Orleans, Adele Le Moyne and her father are among the first to return to the city following the mandatory evacuation. Adele wants nothing more than for life to return to normal, but with the silent city resembling a mold-infested war zone, a parish-wide curfew, and mysterious new faces lurking in the abandoned French Quarter, normal will have to be redefined.

Events too unnatural – even for New Orleans – lead Adele to an attic that has been sealed for three hundred years, and the chaos she unleashes threatens not only her life but everyone she knows.

Caught suddenly in a hurricane of eighteenth-century myths and monsters, Adele must quickly untangle a web of magic that links the climbing murder rate back to her own ancestors. But who can you trust in a city where everyone has a secret, and where keeping them can be a matter of life and death – unless, that is, you’re immortal.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Casquette Girls
(Updated: January 06, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Sixteen-year-old Adele Le Moyne returns to New Orleans after the hurricane of the century hits. Everything is in chaos including her home but when more people show up dead, unanswered questions circulate.

What worked: The whole New Orleans backdrop adds flavor to this story where a girl finds she played a part in unleashing a centuries old evil. Mysterious, with Gothic undertones, the tension builds halfway through the novel. The pacing was slow at times but when some mysteries are revealed, including an ancestor's journal from 1728, I was hooked. The tone of the novel reminded me so much of YA meets The Originals complete with some hot vampires and other paranormal creatures. Add a dollop of The Secret Circle on how Adele and some others in the town try to combat the evil. I also loved the symbolism of a hurricane causing supernatural havoc to the city.

Adele's character is strong and determined to make sense of what has happened to her beloved city. The conflict between her mother in Paris is realistic. Seriously, what girl would want to leave Paris unless not everything is what it appears to be. Readers find out at the very end the truth of her mother.

There's more characters which include Desiree, the daughter of the local voodoo shop; some high school drama at the private school(I almost felt this part went by too fast); some other New Orleans friends and family. But the main character had to be the city of New Orleans and the French Quarter which are shown in vivid and colorful descriptions. I felt as if I walked the streets and alleys. I wanted more of this!

One thing that I felt did hold this otherwise engaging story back had to be that there seemed to be almost too much going on. There are vamps, werewolves, a cute boy that turns into a crow, a girl that practices voodoo, witchcraft, and a number of other supernatural beings. The story of Issac, for example, I felt wasn't explained enough. I really wanted to see more of his story.

Magically, Gothic trip through the streets of New Orleans where a horrible secret is unleashed after the hurricane of the century.
Good Points
1. Intriguing glimpse of New Orleans during early 1700s
2. YA meets The Originals
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
I am obsessed with this book
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
I'm soooo in love with this book!I know it took me FOREVER to read this book, which is shocking, I know. But I did NOT want this book to end! I want to cry because I finished it. Then I also want to cry because this book was just so amazing. I have to admit, walking into Boutique du Vampyre in New Orleans I didn't expect I was going to really walk out with anything, but of course, I found the shelves of books and was instantly drawn to this one not only because it reminded me of the Originals but because the color/font/cover... just everything about this book was perfect and eye drawing. If just looking at this book doesn't draw you in, something is wrong. Lol. Anywho, I actually walked away twice before I gave in and ran back to it and bought it. I'm so so so glad I did! My whole reaction reading this book was just "whoa". It was written magnificently! The characters were original and the story line was mind blowing. And of course because this book was set here in Louisiana, if gives me a sort of "HECK YES!" moment because ... well it's Louisiana! Come on! Who doesn't love New Orleans!? Lol. Alys Arden has excellent talent and I can NOT wait for book two! I want it nowwww!
If I could rate this book a trillion stars, I really would.
Good Points
I loved literally everything about this book. It was perfect.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."