The Shadow Prince (Mortal Enchantment #0.5)

Featured
 
4.3
 
4.9 (2)
2924 2
The Shadow Prince Cover for Amazon.jpg
Publisher Name
Phoenix Reign Publishing
Genre/Type
Age Group
14+
Published Date
March 25, 2014
ISBN Number
0991451902
ASIN Number
      
This prequel novella will be FREE and available on Goodreads, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble on March 25, 2014! Every sacrifice has consequences. Sixteen-year-old Rowan has spent most of his life living among the mortals—learning to control the element of fire, impatiently awaiting the day his vengeful mother, Queen Prisma, will abdicate her throne. When he finally returns to Avalon for his coronation, his mother insists he must first prove his loyalty to the court by completing a secret mission: Kill Kalin, the half-human, half-elemental daughter of the air court king. Willing to do anything to remove his mother from power, he agrees to sacrifice the halfling. He returns to the mortal world with his best friend, Marcus, determined to kill the princess. But as he devises a plan, he starts to question whether or not he's capable of completing such a heinous task. And what price he will pay if he refuses?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Shadow Prince
(Updated: March 26, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Get ready for a new swoon worthy protagonist! Sixteen-year-old Rowan has lived among mortals but is surprised when his Queen mother summons him back to Avalon. She's abdicating the court and wants him to be crowned King. His mother hasn't been warm toward him in the past so he's curious why the change of heart. Then he finds out the truth which has him question if receiving the crown is really worth it.

First off, I love the voice of Rowan. At the beginning, he's the true reluctant hero. He doesn't want anything to do with getting the crown and only muses over the possibility if it means others like the hounds, elements that are basically servants to those in the court, will be free. He has one very big plus in his favor: his loyalty. I felt Rowan sounded like any other teen guy who likes to party and be around a pretty girl or two. Plus his loyalty to his friend gives him huge points in my book.

There is some darkness in this piece which includes the brutality directed his way by his own mother. This scene reminded me of Melissa Marr's own faery series. Family isn't necessarily a good thing in Avalon. What I liked was how readers see the contrasts between family and true loyalty.


There's lots of action and betrayal that makes this a fast read. The ending opens up to MORTAL ENCHANTMENT, the first book in the series. We get a teaser on Kalin, the half-human, half-elemental daughter of the air court king, that Rowan was supposed to kill. He's enthralled whenever he's around her. I wanted to see more of Kalin and Rowan together, which will happen in the upcoming book coming out in May.

Fans of Melissa Marr and Holly Black are sure to be caught up in this tale of loyalty and betrayal with one hawt new protagonist.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.9
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (2)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Fun and exciting adventure!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

The Shadow Prince by Stacey O'Neale
A prequel to Mortal Enchantment

I enjoyed The Shadow Prince the prequel to Mortal Enchantment.
An introduction to the Elementals and a look into Rowan's world as a Fire Elemental. This prequel will get you started on your way to enjoy what must be a great adventure in Mortal Enchantment. Looking forward to continuing the Journey!

I give The Shadow Prince 4 stars for it's imaginative cast of characters and exciting story line.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fantasy.
Good Points
Great Characters and interesting story.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
This is a must read! It's free! There's no excuse! It's perfect!
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
One of the most intense, and shortest, novellas I have ever read!
Stacey O'Neale really knows how to torture, squeeze and crush my heart in just a few short pages!!!

The writing is amazing! Just enough details to let me picture this world within ours where all the elementals live and hide; enough details to let me know and feel the exact emotions that the main character, Rowan, is going through; enough details to make me hate a character SO much, Queen Prisma! I never thought I could have such anger toward a fictional character, and I always manage to find a way, to find any little reason how and why a character could be so cruel, especially towards their own child, but I really couldn't this time! Pure evil!
Really, Stacey O'Neale, ripped my heart out in a particular scene - one of the most intense scenes I have ever read in a really long time. Such an evil thing to do...

This is a must read! It's free! There's no excuse!

I cannot wait to read Mortal Enchantment!!!
And, this time, I will try to be more prepared, the book is obviously longer and I will have to tread carefully through its pages - or this author will be the death of me!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Free Novella
This is my debut novella. It comes out on March 25, 2014. The first full-length book in the series, Mortal Enchantment, comes out in May 2014.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Instant Karma
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
In New York Times bestselling author Marissa Meyer's young adult...
Put Yourself in My Shoes
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Cricket goes for a walk, he finds Ladybug searching...
Selma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Selma is asked: What is happiness? ...
Benjamin's Blue Feet
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young bird with a flair for discovery and invention...
Pocket Piggies: I Love You!
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
What’s the best thing in the world? I...
Everything Under the Sun
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sun’s Reach is in dire peril. The last...
Lizzy Albright and the Attic Window
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lizzy Albright, a red-headed, freckle-faced girl from Overland Park, Kansas,...
Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There are worse things than death. ...
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When the earth was new, words had the power to...
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Elephant is always ready and willing to share her prized...
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dictionary as narrator? YES! ...
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...

Latest Member Reviews

Instant Karma
 
3.7
"INSTANT KARMA is an overall charming YA contemporary. Prudence is finishing tenth grade and completely fed up with her biology..."
Kingdom of the Wicked
 
4.3
"Thrills and chills abound in Kerri Maniscalco‘s new release Kingdom of the Wicked. I don’t know where to start! This..."
Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
"SEND ME THEIR SOULS is a gut-wrenching finale to a fantastic YA fantasy series. In this third book, we begin..."
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
"GOBLIN KING is a much faster-paced and action-packed YA fantasy sequel. Janneke has taken the mantle of the stag, though..."
Swamp Thing: Twin Branches
 
4.3
"SWAMP THING: TWIN BRANCHES is a graphic novel about finding yourself, remembering history, and forging your own path forward. Alec..."
The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
"BROKEN WISH is a beautifully composed fairytale. The book begins with the story of Mathilda and Agnes, neighbors who have..."
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
"THE GILDED WOLVES is a fantastic YA fantasy. Although given a year in the 1800s and a historical setting, the..."
The Silvered Serpents (The Gilded Wolves, #2)
 
4.3
"That ending!!! THE SILVERED SERPENTS is an engaging YA historical fantasy that picks up after the first book ended, and..."
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
"Ashley Poston has crafted a new fairy tale for the ages! Among the Beasts and Briars may very well be..."
Warriors of Wing and Flame (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #2)
 
4.0
"WARRIORS OF WING AND FLAME is an intriguing conclusion to a YA fantasy duology about sisterhood. This book picks up..."
Sisters of Shadow and Light (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #1)
 
3.7
"SISTERS OF SHADOW AND LIGHT is an intriguing YA fantasy that focuses on the love between sisters. Zuhra has lived..."
Foreshadow: Stories to Celebrate the Magic of Reading and Writing YA
 
5.0
"FORESHADOW is a fantastic collection of short stories with a focus on discussion and writing. Each story is undeniably well-composed..."
A Cloud of Outrageous Blue
 
4.3
"A CLOUD OF OUTRAGEOUS BLUE is a historical fiction read that takes the reader to 1348-1349. Edyth grew up with..."
Slingshot
 
4.7
"SLINGSHOT by Mercedes Helnwein is a firecracker of a debut. This YA contemporary is set inside a shoddy boarding school..."
Raybearer (Raybearer, #1)
 
5.0
"RAYBEARER is a lush and imaginative YA fantasy that had me captivated from the start. The book follows Tarisai, who..."
A Golden Fury
 
4.0
"When I started A Golden Fury by Samantha Cohoe, I’m not sure what I was expecting. A historical fantasy? A..."
Beyond the Ruby Veil (The Walls in the Ruby Sky, #1)
 
4.3
"BEYOND THE RUBY VEIL is a very dark YA fantasy that features a ruthless anti-heroine and a mysterious other world...."
Lightbringer (Empirium, #3)
 
5.0
"LIGHTBRINGER is a truly epic finale to the Empirium trilogy. Rielle and Eliana are mother and daughter, separated by thousands..."
Dating Makes Perfect
 
4.3
" The story: Just like her sisters before her, Winnie isn’t allowed to date in high school. With..."
A Golden Fury
 
3.3
"A GOLDEN FURY is a YA historical fantasy that entrenches the reader in the life of Thea. Thea is a..."