The Shadow Prince (Mortal Enchantment #0.5)

Featured
 
4.3
 
4.9 (2)
3040 2
The Shadow Prince Cover for Amazon.jpg
Publisher Name
Phoenix Reign Publishing
Genre/Type
Age Group
14+
Published Date
March 25, 2014
ISBN Number
0991451902
ASIN Number
      
This prequel novella will be FREE and available on Goodreads, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble on March 25, 2014! Every sacrifice has consequences. Sixteen-year-old Rowan has spent most of his life living among the mortals—learning to control the element of fire, impatiently awaiting the day his vengeful mother, Queen Prisma, will abdicate her throne. When he finally returns to Avalon for his coronation, his mother insists he must first prove his loyalty to the court by completing a secret mission: Kill Kalin, the half-human, half-elemental daughter of the air court king. Willing to do anything to remove his mother from power, he agrees to sacrifice the halfling. He returns to the mortal world with his best friend, Marcus, determined to kill the princess. But as he devises a plan, he starts to question whether or not he's capable of completing such a heinous task. And what price he will pay if he refuses?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Shadow Prince
(Updated: March 26, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Get ready for a new swoon worthy protagonist! Sixteen-year-old Rowan has lived among mortals but is surprised when his Queen mother summons him back to Avalon. She's abdicating the court and wants him to be crowned King. His mother hasn't been warm toward him in the past so he's curious why the change of heart. Then he finds out the truth which has him question if receiving the crown is really worth it.

First off, I love the voice of Rowan. At the beginning, he's the true reluctant hero. He doesn't want anything to do with getting the crown and only muses over the possibility if it means others like the hounds, elements that are basically servants to those in the court, will be free. He has one very big plus in his favor: his loyalty. I felt Rowan sounded like any other teen guy who likes to party and be around a pretty girl or two. Plus his loyalty to his friend gives him huge points in my book.

There is some darkness in this piece which includes the brutality directed his way by his own mother. This scene reminded me of Melissa Marr's own faery series. Family isn't necessarily a good thing in Avalon. What I liked was how readers see the contrasts between family and true loyalty.


There's lots of action and betrayal that makes this a fast read. The ending opens up to MORTAL ENCHANTMENT, the first book in the series. We get a teaser on Kalin, the half-human, half-elemental daughter of the air court king, that Rowan was supposed to kill. He's enthralled whenever he's around her. I wanted to see more of Kalin and Rowan together, which will happen in the upcoming book coming out in May.

Fans of Melissa Marr and Holly Black are sure to be caught up in this tale of loyalty and betrayal with one hawt new protagonist.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.9
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (2)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Fun and exciting adventure!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

The Shadow Prince by Stacey O'Neale
A prequel to Mortal Enchantment

I enjoyed The Shadow Prince the prequel to Mortal Enchantment.
An introduction to the Elementals and a look into Rowan's world as a Fire Elemental. This prequel will get you started on your way to enjoy what must be a great adventure in Mortal Enchantment. Looking forward to continuing the Journey!

I give The Shadow Prince 4 stars for it's imaginative cast of characters and exciting story line.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fantasy.
Good Points
Great Characters and interesting story.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
This is a must read! It's free! There's no excuse! It's perfect!
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
One of the most intense, and shortest, novellas I have ever read!
Stacey O'Neale really knows how to torture, squeeze and crush my heart in just a few short pages!!!

The writing is amazing! Just enough details to let me picture this world within ours where all the elementals live and hide; enough details to let me know and feel the exact emotions that the main character, Rowan, is going through; enough details to make me hate a character SO much, Queen Prisma! I never thought I could have such anger toward a fictional character, and I always manage to find a way, to find any little reason how and why a character could be so cruel, especially towards their own child, but I really couldn't this time! Pure evil!
Really, Stacey O'Neale, ripped my heart out in a particular scene - one of the most intense scenes I have ever read in a really long time. Such an evil thing to do...

This is a must read! It's free! There's no excuse!

I cannot wait to read Mortal Enchantment!!!
And, this time, I will try to be more prepared, the book is obviously longer and I will have to tread carefully through its pages - or this author will be the death of me!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Free Novella
This is my debut novella. It comes out on March 25, 2014. The first full-length book in the series, Mortal Enchantment, comes out in May 2014.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Neighborhood Surprise
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
All the children in the neighborhood like Mrs. Fig. She...
Jet the Cat (Is Not a Cat)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jet is not like any other cat . . ....
Clique Here: A Wish Novel
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lily loves science and hanging out with her best friend,...
Smoke and Mirrors: The Heartstone
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Corbin, a powerful shapeshifting young mage, was just beginning to...
Better Together
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Freaky Friday meets The Parent Trap in New York Times...
Llama Llama Meets the Babysitter
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
With over 30 million copies in print, Anna Dewdney's New...
City (Wheels at Work)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Delivering, collecting, transporting and recycling! Lift the flap to see...
A Season of Flowers
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Michael Garland (Daddy Played the Blues) displays his impressive illustration...
You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...

Latest Member Reviews

I Can See Clearly
 
3.3
"Luc Ponti comes from a strong Italian family, and his father (an NCAA point guard, Princeton grad, Special Forces and..."
Fire with Fire
 
4.7
"Dani Rivera may excel at every part of her dragon slaying training, but she would rather focus on being normal..."
Better Together
 
5.0
"BETTER TOGETHER is a delightful and charming YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and healing. Siri lives with her mother..."
Get a Clue: A Bookish Boyfriends #4
 
4.3
"In this fourth book set at Reginald R. Hero High, we meet Huck and Win, the brother of Curtis from..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"I had enjoyed this book to great extent. I loved the relationship connection between the two characters and how the..."
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
"What worked: I loved this engaging, heart-felt story with one strong Chicanx protagonist. Think I'M NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.3
"ALL OUR HIDDEN GIFTS was a riveting and darkly captivating YA fantasy/thriller/horror read. Maeve is a teen girl and not..."
The Lost Girls
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Outsiders
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."