The Shadow Prince (Mortal Enchantment #0.5)

Featured
 
4.3
 
4.9 (2)
2796 2
The Shadow Prince Cover for Amazon.jpg
Publisher Name
Phoenix Reign Publishing
Genre/Type
Age Group
14+
Published Date
March 25, 2014
ISBN Number
0991451902
ASIN Number
      
This prequel novella will be FREE and available on Goodreads, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble on March 25, 2014! Every sacrifice has consequences. Sixteen-year-old Rowan has spent most of his life living among the mortals—learning to control the element of fire, impatiently awaiting the day his vengeful mother, Queen Prisma, will abdicate her throne. When he finally returns to Avalon for his coronation, his mother insists he must first prove his loyalty to the court by completing a secret mission: Kill Kalin, the half-human, half-elemental daughter of the air court king. Willing to do anything to remove his mother from power, he agrees to sacrifice the halfling. He returns to the mortal world with his best friend, Marcus, determined to kill the princess. But as he devises a plan, he starts to question whether or not he's capable of completing such a heinous task. And what price he will pay if he refuses?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Shadow Prince
(Updated: March 26, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Get ready for a new swoon worthy protagonist! Sixteen-year-old Rowan has lived among mortals but is surprised when his Queen mother summons him back to Avalon. She's abdicating the court and wants him to be crowned King. His mother hasn't been warm toward him in the past so he's curious why the change of heart. Then he finds out the truth which has him question if receiving the crown is really worth it.

First off, I love the voice of Rowan. At the beginning, he's the true reluctant hero. He doesn't want anything to do with getting the crown and only muses over the possibility if it means others like the hounds, elements that are basically servants to those in the court, will be free. He has one very big plus in his favor: his loyalty. I felt Rowan sounded like any other teen guy who likes to party and be around a pretty girl or two. Plus his loyalty to his friend gives him huge points in my book.

There is some darkness in this piece which includes the brutality directed his way by his own mother. This scene reminded me of Melissa Marr's own faery series. Family isn't necessarily a good thing in Avalon. What I liked was how readers see the contrasts between family and true loyalty.


There's lots of action and betrayal that makes this a fast read. The ending opens up to MORTAL ENCHANTMENT, the first book in the series. We get a teaser on Kalin, the half-human, half-elemental daughter of the air court king, that Rowan was supposed to kill. He's enthralled whenever he's around her. I wanted to see more of Kalin and Rowan together, which will happen in the upcoming book coming out in May.

Fans of Melissa Marr and Holly Black are sure to be caught up in this tale of loyalty and betrayal with one hawt new protagonist.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.9
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (2)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Fun and exciting adventure!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0

The Shadow Prince by Stacey O'Neale
A prequel to Mortal Enchantment

I enjoyed The Shadow Prince the prequel to Mortal Enchantment.
An introduction to the Elementals and a look into Rowan's world as a Fire Elemental. This prequel will get you started on your way to enjoy what must be a great adventure in Mortal Enchantment. Looking forward to continuing the Journey!

I give The Shadow Prince 4 stars for it's imaginative cast of characters and exciting story line.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fantasy.
Good Points
Great Characters and interesting story.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
This is a must read! It's free! There's no excuse! It's perfect!
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
One of the most intense, and shortest, novellas I have ever read!
Stacey O'Neale really knows how to torture, squeeze and crush my heart in just a few short pages!!!

The writing is amazing! Just enough details to let me picture this world within ours where all the elementals live and hide; enough details to let me know and feel the exact emotions that the main character, Rowan, is going through; enough details to make me hate a character SO much, Queen Prisma! I never thought I could have such anger toward a fictional character, and I always manage to find a way, to find any little reason how and why a character could be so cruel, especially towards their own child, but I really couldn't this time! Pure evil!
Really, Stacey O'Neale, ripped my heart out in a particular scene - one of the most intense scenes I have ever read in a really long time. Such an evil thing to do...

This is a must read! It's free! There's no excuse!

I cannot wait to read Mortal Enchantment!!!
And, this time, I will try to be more prepared, the book is obviously longer and I will have to tread carefully through its pages - or this author will be the death of me!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Free Novella
This is my debut novella. It comes out on March 25, 2014. The first full-length book in the series, Mortal Enchantment, comes out in May 2014.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The new fifth edition of National Geographic's award-winning atlas is...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s a piece of cake! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new arc in the bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The tenth book in Ralph Masiello’s popular drawing series shows...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
When they're stuck under one roof, the house may not...
The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Bohring-home to 453 people, 2,053 alligators, and one...
Where the World Ends
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Winner of the 2018 Carnegie Medal! New from Michael L....
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Fast, funny, frightening—and filled with shocks and surprises. These books...
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finding out my mother was taken by the demons...
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut about first love and second...
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Two teens meet after tragedy and learn about love,...
Golden Crown
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
No longer only a warrior. Not just a queen....

Latest Member Reviews

 
3.3
"The story: Tyson Trice has not had it easy in life. Months after he is shot and almost dies he’s..."
Refraction
 
4.3
"Marty is a flawed character in any number of ways, not least of which is his propensity to do what's..."
Frankly in Love
 
4.7
"I love this book so much. I read it pretty much in one sitting because I couldn't put it down!..."
Where the World Ends
 
3.0
"WHERE THE WORLD ENDS is an intriguing historical fiction, based on a true story. The boys of Hirta are sent..."
Bury Me
 
4.7
"In horror books and movies, we often see dolls as the main source of scares( such as Annabelle or Child's..."
Juliet Takes a Breath
 
4.7
"Juliet Takes a Breath is a coming of age story about a Latina lesbian from the Bronx who travels to..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
5.0
"Fireborne is a fantasy novel set nine years after a bloody uprising against a brutal regime in which the poor..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"i am from Italy hello. Can you help me translate? /rardor"
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
"THE GALACTIC ADVENTURES OF HAZEL - GURECOA takes place in the far future, where our planet is only vaguely recognizable...."
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
"BATMAN: NIGHTWALKER (THE GRAPHIC NOVEL) converts the YA novel by Marie Lu into graphic novel format. The plot remains the..."
Adorkable
 
5.0
"ADORKABLE is a book you can easily predict, but the journey is unbelievably delightful. Sally Spitz is a senior in..."
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
"SIX GOODBYES WE NEVER SAID is quite a heavy YA contemporary. We follow Naima and Dew in alternating sections. Naima..."