The Patchwork Girl

The Patchwork Girl
Age Group
13+
Published Date
October 22, 2013
ISBN Number
n/a
ASIN Number
      
What could be worse for a 16 year-old girl than waking up to find that your skin has transformed into a bizarre, calico patchwork? For Padget Beaumont, the answer is: a lot. Looking like a freak turns out to be the least of her problems when Padget is chased from high school into a nightmare dimension where science is superstition and the supernatural is real. There she finds herself caught between an arcane city full of vampires, demons and witches and a religious zealot intent on burning it all down. Her only hope is to find her father, an expatriate scientist hiding out somewhere among the towering Gothic spires and dank, twisting catacombs. But when Padget falls in love with a roguish demon possessed by the soul of a troubled teenaged boy, she must confront the most terrifying truth of all to save him: who she really is.
The Patchwork Girl is a dark fantasy novel for young adults that will appeal to fans of Harry Potter and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. The adventures of The Patchwork Girl promise to draw the reader in with action, romance and fantasy while at the same time addressing the real-world issues that trouble both young and adult readers alike.

User reviews

1 review
Overall rating
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0(1)
Plot/Story
 
5.0(1)
Illustrations (if applicable)
 
N/A(0)
Characters (if applicable)
 
5.0(1)
Editing/Design Quality
 
5.0(1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Monsters Galore!
(Updated: January 05, 2014)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Plot/Story
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable)
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable)
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality
 
5.0
I really enjoyed reading this book. Padget is someone that I could identify with and would actually enjoy being around. I'm definitely a horror fan but this isn't generally my go-to genre – I do love Buffy (the TV show) so the book was a good fit for me. I also liked that this book created an alternate world that was very different from the "real world" but also had many similarities...kind of "wherever you go, there you are" type thing - I thought it was cool how the humans and "monster-like" folks co-existed in Nusalem. And there are so many monsters! :) There are definitely some intense and scary elements to the book, but I think that teen readers can totally handle it. It's just a really fun read and I was bummed when the ride was over, but hopefully we'll get to hear more from Padget soon!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0