My Name Is Rapunzel

 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
1609 1
My Name Is Rapunzel
Author(s)
Publisher Name
CreateSpace
Age Group
14+
Published Date
November 23, 2013
ISBN Number
978-1492863007
ASIN Number
      
My tale has been told again and again, and I’ve heard each one. Except for my hair, I barely recognize the pitiful renditions. Muddled versions, crafted to entertain laughing children…but the children wouldn’t have laughed if they’d known the real story. It wasn't their fault. They didn't know the truth. Nobody did. My name is Rapunzel. I will tell you my story. I will tell you the truth. Your Adult - Fantasy - Fairy Tale Retelling *********** Reviewed by Tania Staley for Readers' Favorite - December 14, 2013 - Four Stars My Name is Rapunzel, by K.C. Hilton, is an entertaining twist on the classic fairy tale. It is a story that has been told hundreds of times and in many different ways, but one thing has always remained true: the lonely young girl with the enchanted hair trapped in her tower. In Hilton’s tale, Rapunzel finally gets a chance to set the record straight. 250 years is too long to be trapped without the comfort of love or companionship. With only Gretta, the witch who cursed her, for company, Rapunzel longs to tell her story and stop hiding from the world she is afraid will not understand her and will fear her. Little does she know that telling her story may be just the thing that could lead to finding love once more and breaking the curse that has plagued her all these years. K.C. Hilton’s new telling of the Rapunzel tale is quite fun and entertaining. Fairy tales, while obviously compelling due to their never-ending recreation, are often one-dimensional and flat, and Rapunzel’s tale is often one that gets lost, because of the success of Cinderella, The Little Mermaid, and Snow White. So, it is quite fun to see a re-imagining and reawakening of the Rapunzel tale. Hilton’s Rapunzel is intelligent and strong. Her plight depresses her, but it does not halt her life or keep her from planning for a life outside her confines. She is a character that other women can look up to. Hilton’s romance and definition of love within the novel is quite wonderful as well; it explores the multiple facets of love and highlights the struggle of choosing between loving someone new or remaining loyal to a past love. There is nothing one-dimensional about this Rapunzel’s tale, and it will have readers guessing about the outcome until the very end. I highly recommend this new fairy tale, and I hope to read more from K.C. Hilton.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Reviewed by Tania Staley for Readers' Favorite
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Tania Staley for Readers' Favorite - December 14, 2013 - Four Stars

My Name is Rapunzel, by K.C. Hilton, is an entertaining twist on the classic fairy tale. It is a story that has been told hundreds of times and in many different ways, but one thing has always remained true: the lonely young girl with the enchanted hair trapped in her tower. In Hilton’s tale, Rapunzel finally gets a chance to set the record straight. 250 years is too long to be trapped without the comfort of love or companionship. With only Gretta, the witch who cursed her, for company, Rapunzel longs to tell her story and stop hiding from the world she is afraid will not understand her and will fear her. Little does she know that telling her story may be just the thing that could lead to finding love once more and breaking the curse that has plagued her all these years.

K.C. Hilton’s new telling of the Rapunzel tale is quite fun and entertaining. Fairy tales, while obviously compelling due to their never-ending recreation, are often one-dimensional and flat, and Rapunzel’s tale is often one that gets lost, because of the success of Cinderella, The Little Mermaid, and Snow White. So, it is quite fun to see a re-imagining and reawakening of the Rapunzel tale. Hilton’s Rapunzel is intelligent and strong. Her plight depresses her, but it does not halt her life or keep her from planning for a life outside her confines. She is a character that other women can look up to. Hilton’s romance and definition of love within the novel is quite wonderful as well; it explores the multiple facets of love and highlights the struggle of choosing between loving someone new or remaining loyal to a past love. There is nothing one-dimensional about this Rapunzel’s tale, and it will have readers guessing about the outcome until the very end. I highly recommend this new fairy tale, and I hope to read more from K.C. Hilton.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Busy Little Ladybug
 
3.5
"BUSY LITTLE LADYBUG is a cute board book about a ladybug that loves colors. Ladybug wants to figure out what..."
One Springy, Singy Day
 
4.5
"ONE SPRINGY, SINGY DAY is a brightly colored and fun celebration of spring. Told in rhyming text, the book follows..."
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
 
5.0
"It was a good book i really want to buy is so i can read it all the time. I..."
Boy, Everywhere
 
5.0
"Sami has a happy and secure life in Damascus, Syria. His mother is a teacher, his father is a doctor,..."
That Thing About Bollywood
 
4.0
"Sonali misses her grandfather, who ran a video rental store that specialized in Bollywood films, so she enjoys the family..."
Thanks a Lot, Universe
 
4.0
"Brian has anxiety at the best of times. He manages at school, and was on the basketball team, but he..."
One Girl
 
3.5
"In very spare poetry, we see how the spark of a book encourages one girl to investigate the information in..."
In My Life
 
4.0
"Based on the Lennon and McCartney Beatles' tune, this picture book showcases the lyrics against a background of a family..."
Upstaged
 
4.0
"Shira is a really good singer, but she is nervous about performing in front of others. When her best friend..."
100 Dogs: Playful Pups to Count
 
5.0
"This comically illustrated book doesn't have a plot, per se, but is a fun romp through lots of different "kinds"..."
Bear Bottom (Fun Jungle #7)
 
5.0
"Teddy and his family, along with Summer and her family, head off to Yellowstone Park. J.J.McCracken is interested in buying..."
All's Happy That Ends Happy
 
4.0
"In this seventh and final book in the series, we catch up in Sweden with Dani, who has recently been..."
Athena: Goddess of Wisdom and War
 
4.0
" This graphic novel showcases several stories about the ancient Greek goddess Athena. Beginning sketches introduce us to a variety..."
I Speak Boy
 
4.0
"Emerie Woods think she has her best friend Harper all figured out. In her capacity as "Love Coordinator", she has..."
The Twin Dogs
 
4.0
"In his picture book debut, illustrator Inoue tells a classic new sibling tale, but offers the fun twist of twin..."
Weird Kid
 
5.0
"Jake Wind is finding middle school a challenge: his dad is a proctologist who can't stop making butt jokes, and..."