#DeadThings

 
0.0
 
3.6 (2)
3105 0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Darryll Johnson, Illustrator
Publisher Name
Corona Sky Productions
Genre/Type
Age Group
16+
Published Date
July 12, 2012
ISBN Number
0615669204
ASIN Number
      
In the year 2011, the world has entered the Final Century of Man and vampire all around the world prepare for their revolution. Pressured by the vampire Elite, Archduke of the Americas Aryk Killen must find a suitable successor. Aryk finds a worthy human candidate in Phillip Du Lac, a former Iraqi Freedom US Marine. After returning home from Iraq, Phillip receives word that his twin sister, Cecil was found dead. Though ruled a suicide, Phillip is not able to accept her death; Phillip goes on self destructive search "tour" to find his sisters “murderer”. His blind conviction catches the attention of a 200 year old vampire; who finds Phillip's vigor just what he needs in an acolyte. Phillip is tempted by the idea of immortality and Aryk and gives Phillip the first-hand experience on what it means to be a vampire. Questioning his own sanity, Phillip follows Aryk who leads him into "belly of the beast". Vampire Basic Training was sent into recess when a plague of demons descends on a small Floridian town, the home town of Aryk. Antagonist turned Anti-Hero; Aryk is the only creature strong enough to defend his mortal neighbors and defend his territory. Book one in the three-part #DeadThings series.

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.6
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Plot/Story 
 
3.0  (2)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
2.0  (2)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (2)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
More of a Political Thriller than Traditional Horror.
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
2.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
3.0
I came across #DeadThings in a Santa Monica book store; I was drawn in by the abstract cover. Author Reese Riley takes the vampire concept in a uncharted territory. Many of the traditional mythology remains intact (vampires are weak against holy items, sunlight, beading, ect) a throwback to the original vampire mythology which was lost due to books like Twilight and Interview With the Vampire.
Good Points
One of the most interesting things about the #DeadThings, Novel is the author Reese Riley’s way of using a traditional Horror character (the vampire) into a symbol for politicians in general. Aryk is the Archduke of the Americas, essentially the president of all Vampires in North America; however he has been in exile for thirty two years. After receiving outside pressure from his vampire Colleague, Aryk caves in to the pressure of procreating and selects the young Jarhead, Phillip as his successor. Phillip has his own agenda, he is actively on the hunt for his sister’s murderer. Aryk agrees to provide the vampire who murdered his sister if he agrees to join vampire Dark Brood. But before Phillip can be turned immortal a plague of demons descend on Aryk’s home with the intentions of eradicating the entire human population.
Aryk falls somewhere between anti-hero and villain; his desires are to keep peace between immortals and mortals but uses sinister means to complete this objective. Phillip struggles with rather he is losing his sanity and if Aryk is no more than a delusion.

The author strongest when Aryk takes the lead; he is charismatic, scary, and even at times funny. He and Phillip have an interesting bromance and strong chemistry. As a whole #DeadThings is a solid story and its open ending ensure the reader more to come from the series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
More of a Political Thriller than Traditional Horror.
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
2.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
I came across #DeadThings in a Santa Monica book store; I was drawn in by the abstract cover. Author Reese Riley takes the vampire concept in a uncharted territory. Many of the traditional mythology remains intact (vampires are weak against holy items, sunlight, beading, ect) a throwback to the original vampire mythology which was lost due to books like Twilight and Interview With the Vampire.
Good Points

One of the most interesting things about the #DeadThings, Novel is the author Reese Riley’s way of using a traditional Horror character (the vampire) into a symbol for politicians in general. Aryk is the Archduke of the Americas, essentially the president of all Vampires in North America; however he has been in exile for thirty two years. After receiving outside pressure from his vampire Colleague, Aryk caves in to the pressure of procreating and selects the young Jarhead, Phillip as his successor. Phillip has his own agenda, he is actively on the hunt for his sister’s murderer. Aryk agrees to provide the vampire who murdered his sister if he agrees to join vampire Dark Brood. But before Phillip can be turned immortal a plague of demons descend on Aryk’s home with the intentions of eradicating the entire human population.

Aryk falls somewhere between anti-hero and villain; his desires are to keep peace between immortals and mortals but uses sinister means to complete this objective. Phillip struggles with rather he is losing his sanity and if Aryk is no more than a delusion.

The author strongest when Aryk takes the lead; he is charismatic, scary, and even at times funny. He and Phillip have an interesting bromance and strong chemistry. As a whole #DeadThings is a solid story and its open ending ensure the reader more to come from the series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… ...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
12-year-old Julia keeps a diary about her life growing...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more...
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Violet Choudhury may be part of the popular clique...
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this electrifying YA sequel to Beware the Night,...
Something New
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cassie Briggs never thought she’d be married at age sixteen—especially...
Crave
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy....
I Love You, Daddy (Peter Rabbit)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable rhyming Peter Rabbit book that celebrates dads everywhere....
Morning, Sunshine!
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As we all wake up, the outside world bustles with...

Latest Member Reviews

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
"THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May..."
 
4.0
"GIRL, SERPENT, THORN is a YA fairytale retelling by Melissa Bashardoust. The story follows Soraya, a princess who is cursed..."
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
"MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT is a book that reminds readers of all the possibilities and freedom of summer vacation. We..."
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
"SWORD IN THE STARS is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful YA fantasy retelling of King Arthur in space! Picking..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
4.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION by Kiersten White is the first book in a YA retelling of the classic Arthurian legend. Guinevere,..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."
Golden Arm
 
5.0
"Lazarus Weathers lives in the Jet City trailer park in Seattle with his mother and half brother, Antonio. He has..."
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
"EMBER QUEEN is a great conclusion to the Ash Princess trilogy. Picking up right where book 2 left off, Theo..."
Kissing Lessons
 
5.0
"'Kissing Lessons' by Sophie Jordan is a well-written, entertaining story about a variety of main characters, including Hayden Vargas, Nolan..."
Lady Smoke (Ash Princess, #2)
 
5.0
"LADY SMOKE is every bit as addictive as the first in this engrossing trilogy. Picking up where the first book..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
4.0
"The Queen's Assassin is a fantasy romance geared toward the younger YA reader. It is told from the first person..."
Ash Princess (Ash Princess, #1)
 
5.0
"ASH PRINCESS is an engaging YA fantasy that takes us to the conquered land of Astrea. Theodosia's mother, the Fire..."
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
"At age twelve, Julia starts writing in a diary. She writes about what she witnesses in her town of Juarez,..."
Sting
 
3.3
"STING is an intriguing YA dystopian retelling of THE COUNT OF MONTE CHRISTO. The world has been ravaged by climate..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.0
"The Paper Girl of Paris is written by journalist Jordyn Taylor and is set in both historical 1940’s and nowadays..."
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
5.0
"THE MIDNIGHT LIE is a lush and atmospheric YA fantasy. The book transports us to another world, where people are..."
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
"DEFY THE SUN is a fantastic conclusion to this YA fantasy duology. This book picks up right where the first..."
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
"Carmen Santos cover as a La Voz soldier has been exposed. She flees back to the La Voz's headquarters, leaving..."
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
"Blackbrook Academy is an elite school in Maine with rigorous competition. When a storm strikes, a group of students, their..."