Santa Claus and Little Sister

Hot
 
0.0
 
4.5 (1)
5757 1
Santa Claus and Little Sister
Author(s)
Age Group
14+
Published Date
November 24, 2011
ISBN Number
9781467971942
The Journey:
 
Lupe, a petit beautiful Mexican 12-year-old girl, identified only by the alias assigned to her by the FBI, is suddenly missing from the Los Angeles placement center, leaving only her most cherished possession behind, a self-made book of poems, photography and artwork entitled “To Santa Claus and Little Sisters”.  

Lupe’s confidential file reveals that has she been struggling with suicidal thoughts and attempts for years. Little Lupe also has a contract on her life placed by her own incarcerated parents.  Her brother is an active gang member with the notorious Mexican Espinoza cartel from Tijuana that specializes in child trafficking and ransom kidnappings.

Refusing to accept the hypothesis that Lupe ran away on her own free will, risks would have to be taken by a young naive Boston-born teacher - including the recruitment of his most dangerous student, Chata.

Seventeen-year-old Chata, a bold and controlling overweight active member of the Baby Locas Division of the 18th Street Gang in South LA, struggles between two opposing worlds and purposely brings both together in the back alleys of Los Angeles one moonless night.

Both would have to question their belief system many times in order to survive when circumstances were not in their favor.

To these young catalysts, Chata and Lupe, I am forever grateful for the spark that you ignited in me, for any real survivor characteristics that I possess are due to you. 
And lastly, to all the young girls that I have had the honor to work with, who like Anonymous, unfortunately committed suicide - I want you to know that you are dearly loved and missed. 
You changed my life.
Thank you girls. 
In your honor, I have shared our story in “Santa Claus and Little Sister”

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Contest 2012 - Young Adult
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Fast read - deals with teenage suicide - parental caution recommended for readers under 16 years old. Relevant today.
Good Points
"If Dr. Brian G. Snow's purpose for writing Santa Claus and Little Sister was to make his readers feel like crying and rushing out to do good in the world at the same time, he certainly achieved his goal." - Flamingnet.com


"[This book] is autobiographical in nature, selfishly therapeutic in design, and hard proof that we cannot control our future regardless how hard we try. He discovers that truth often becomes lies, moral transforms into immoral, and fear builds knowledge."
Galleycat (Mediabistro) - Jan. 12, 2012

"The highly well-written text conveys Dr. Snow's often self-endangering activities as he involves himself in the lives of his students to protect them as well as ensure them a good education....this wonderful memoir of a truly gifted special education teacher." Alice D. - Readers' Favorite - Top Choice Award 2012

"Wow, I don't even know what to write, an amazing read for everyone! Very great ... hard to put down book!!" - Goodreads Sept. 16th, 2012

"This story was full of surprises.... It's a modern day story, very real feeling and funny, too. - Expert Amazon Breakthrough Novel Reviewer 2012


"This is a quick read and feels like a memoir/biography. Very entertaining and interesting....I liked the story.." - Expert Amazon Breakthrough Novel Reviewer 2012
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."