My Soul to Steal (Soul Screamers #4)

 
0.0
 
4.4 (4)
1619 0
My Soul to Steal (Soul Screamers #4)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
December 21, 2010
ISBN
0373210272
Buy This Book
      
Trying to work things out with Nash—her maybe boyfriend—is hard enough for Kaylee Cavanaugh. She can't just pretend nothing happened. But "complicated" doesn't even begin to describe their relationship when his ex-girlfriend transfers to their school, determined to take Nash back.

See, Sabine isn't just an ordinary girl. She's a mara, the living personification of a nightmare. She can read people's fears—and craft them into nightmares while her victims sleep. Feeding from human fear is how she survives.

And Sabine isn't above scaring Kaylee and the entire school to death to get whatever—and whoever—she wants.

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.4
Plot 
 
4.3  (4)
Characters 
 
4.3  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.7  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
My Soul to Steal
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
After the ending of My Soul to Keep and the new information provided by Reaper, I wasn’t sure what to expect going into this one. I was happy to see that Kaylee hadn’t just fallen back in Nash’s arms, and that he’s working on making things right. At least until his ex-girlfriend conveniently transfers to their school and starts throwing herself at him. Sabine was briefly introduced in Reaper so I was definitely curious to find out more about her, even if I didn’t like her…at all. She definitely brought the drama, and I could appreciate that.

Kaylee has no idea who she can trust anymore. She’s trying to rebuild trust with Nash, but that’s hard to do when his ex is staying until the early hours, and is manipulating Kaylee’s dreams. There’s also the problem of Avari possessing the people around her without her notice! No one is safe from the hellion who wants his revenge. This was an emotional ride as Kaylee tries to navigate through her life and her deepest fears begin to surface.

I was a bit annoyed with her at times though. I can understand she’s hurt by Nash after the last book, but at times she’s overly harsh with him. He’s trying, you can definitely tell he’s trying his best, but it’s also obvious to us that he’s hurting too due to Kaylee’s lack of support. Of course she has every right to be mad at him, but she’s acting incredibly selfish by pulling him in then pushing him back. Tod tells her as much, but did he truly mean it or is something else going on?

There’s a lot going on in this book! Teacher dying, possessions by hellions, return of bitchy ex-girlfriends, coming down from addiction, students turning into delinquents, break-ups and make-ups, reapers delivering pizza! However, Rachel Vincent did a great job connecting the dots in a way that made sense and continuing plots from the previous books. I had trouble putting this one down, since the series just keeps getting better and better!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
My Soul to Steal by Rachel Vincent
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
This is Book 4. In this book, Nash's ex-girlfriend Sabine comes back and of course she can't be just a normal human. She's a mara, a walking nightmare. And I mean literally. This of course causes disturbances in Nash and Kaylee's already rocky relationship and makes it even harder for them to try to work things out.
Although Sabine was a pure, evil b*tch, I still had a soft spot for her. I guess it was because I felt like everyone was too hard on her and she had had a hard life and didn't deserve it. I know she did some messed up things and was like a cancer in some ways, but I only didn't like her when it came to Nash. The things she did to him in spite of Kaylee, I wanted to slap her. Somethings are just uncalled for.
As for Kaylee, I felt like she was being a HUGE whiny baby in this book. She didn't want him but she didn't want anyone else to either and that annoyed me. It even annoys me when people do it in real life. I just feel like if he can't make you happy, go out and find someone who does. No sense in both of y'all being miserable.
But overall, the mythology in both of these were amazing. Everything was completely researched and well thought out. One huge thing that I was thankful for was the fact that Vincent had went back and repeated everything that happened in the previous books, because although they are some of my favorites, I sometimes get them confused. Another big thing that I loved about it, was the fact that Vincent's humor is still just the same. Most of this book was pretty heavy with hellions and maras and bean shides running around, but Vincent was able to add that comic relief in places that needed it. It was just overall well written.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Wonderful
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
My soul to steal starts when Nash's ex-girlfriend shows up at school. Kaylee had just broken up with Nash and when she learns that Sabine wants him back, Kaylee gets angry. When she learns that Sabine is a mara (a creature who feeds off peoples nightmares) she thinks she maybe involved with the killings happen at school at the fights over jealousies. Kaylee is determined to stop Sabine before she steals the one she loves.

This book is clever and creative but the plot felt a little bit repetitive but when you write a series I guess you slowly run out of ideas. I loved this book and I can't wait till the book comes onto this website so I can write a review on it (i have already finished it). But there was a big major issue, where was Tod??!!! He didn't appear nearly enough but in the next book he is one of the starring characters so don't worry everyone.

This book is highly recommended by me and hopefully others who enjoy these great books.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Can't wait for the next
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Lia

Kaylee has just broken up with her boyfriend, Nash, when his ex-girfriend, Sabine shows up, making things very complicated. As soon as Sabine, a mara (gives nightmares to unsuspecting victims) shows up at there school, weird things start happening. Teachers start dying without any cause, and students sponataneously fight over little jealousies. Kaylee is suspicious of Sabine from the beginning, and is determined to find out more about her, and stop the chaos around her.

This book didn't disappoint. It was fast-paced throughout. We got to know more about Alec in this book, and he proved to be an interesting character. I liked all the characters. There's only two thing I had problems with, I felt like the plot was becoming a little repetitive, and that my favorite character, Tod was not present nearly enough. Other than that I like Vincent's writing and characters, which have me hooked on to this series. I can't wait for If I Die, the next installment, coming October 2011.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."