My Soul to Steal (Soul Screamers #4)

 
0.0
 
4.4 (4)
1728 0
My Soul to Steal (Soul Screamers #4)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
December 21, 2010
ISBN
0373210272
Buy This Book
      
Trying to work things out with Nash—her maybe boyfriend—is hard enough for Kaylee Cavanaugh. She can't just pretend nothing happened. But "complicated" doesn't even begin to describe their relationship when his ex-girlfriend transfers to their school, determined to take Nash back.

See, Sabine isn't just an ordinary girl. She's a mara, the living personification of a nightmare. She can read people's fears—and craft them into nightmares while her victims sleep. Feeding from human fear is how she survives.

And Sabine isn't above scaring Kaylee and the entire school to death to get whatever—and whoever—she wants.

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.4
Plot 
 
4.3  (4)
Characters 
 
4.3  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.7  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
My Soul to Steal
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
After the ending of My Soul to Keep and the new information provided by Reaper, I wasn’t sure what to expect going into this one. I was happy to see that Kaylee hadn’t just fallen back in Nash’s arms, and that he’s working on making things right. At least until his ex-girlfriend conveniently transfers to their school and starts throwing herself at him. Sabine was briefly introduced in Reaper so I was definitely curious to find out more about her, even if I didn’t like her…at all. She definitely brought the drama, and I could appreciate that.

Kaylee has no idea who she can trust anymore. She’s trying to rebuild trust with Nash, but that’s hard to do when his ex is staying until the early hours, and is manipulating Kaylee’s dreams. There’s also the problem of Avari possessing the people around her without her notice! No one is safe from the hellion who wants his revenge. This was an emotional ride as Kaylee tries to navigate through her life and her deepest fears begin to surface.

I was a bit annoyed with her at times though. I can understand she’s hurt by Nash after the last book, but at times she’s overly harsh with him. He’s trying, you can definitely tell he’s trying his best, but it’s also obvious to us that he’s hurting too due to Kaylee’s lack of support. Of course she has every right to be mad at him, but she’s acting incredibly selfish by pulling him in then pushing him back. Tod tells her as much, but did he truly mean it or is something else going on?

There’s a lot going on in this book! Teacher dying, possessions by hellions, return of bitchy ex-girlfriends, coming down from addiction, students turning into delinquents, break-ups and make-ups, reapers delivering pizza! However, Rachel Vincent did a great job connecting the dots in a way that made sense and continuing plots from the previous books. I had trouble putting this one down, since the series just keeps getting better and better!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
My Soul to Steal by Rachel Vincent
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
This is Book 4. In this book, Nash's ex-girlfriend Sabine comes back and of course she can't be just a normal human. She's a mara, a walking nightmare. And I mean literally. This of course causes disturbances in Nash and Kaylee's already rocky relationship and makes it even harder for them to try to work things out.
Although Sabine was a pure, evil b*tch, I still had a soft spot for her. I guess it was because I felt like everyone was too hard on her and she had had a hard life and didn't deserve it. I know she did some messed up things and was like a cancer in some ways, but I only didn't like her when it came to Nash. The things she did to him in spite of Kaylee, I wanted to slap her. Somethings are just uncalled for.
As for Kaylee, I felt like she was being a HUGE whiny baby in this book. She didn't want him but she didn't want anyone else to either and that annoyed me. It even annoys me when people do it in real life. I just feel like if he can't make you happy, go out and find someone who does. No sense in both of y'all being miserable.
But overall, the mythology in both of these were amazing. Everything was completely researched and well thought out. One huge thing that I was thankful for was the fact that Vincent had went back and repeated everything that happened in the previous books, because although they are some of my favorites, I sometimes get them confused. Another big thing that I loved about it, was the fact that Vincent's humor is still just the same. Most of this book was pretty heavy with hellions and maras and bean shides running around, but Vincent was able to add that comic relief in places that needed it. It was just overall well written.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Wonderful
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
My soul to steal starts when Nash's ex-girlfriend shows up at school. Kaylee had just broken up with Nash and when she learns that Sabine wants him back, Kaylee gets angry. When she learns that Sabine is a mara (a creature who feeds off peoples nightmares) she thinks she maybe involved with the killings happen at school at the fights over jealousies. Kaylee is determined to stop Sabine before she steals the one she loves.

This book is clever and creative but the plot felt a little bit repetitive but when you write a series I guess you slowly run out of ideas. I loved this book and I can't wait till the book comes onto this website so I can write a review on it (i have already finished it). But there was a big major issue, where was Tod??!!! He didn't appear nearly enough but in the next book he is one of the starring characters so don't worry everyone.

This book is highly recommended by me and hopefully others who enjoy these great books.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Can't wait for the next
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Lia

Kaylee has just broken up with her boyfriend, Nash, when his ex-girfriend, Sabine shows up, making things very complicated. As soon as Sabine, a mara (gives nightmares to unsuspecting victims) shows up at there school, weird things start happening. Teachers start dying without any cause, and students sponataneously fight over little jealousies. Kaylee is suspicious of Sabine from the beginning, and is determined to find out more about her, and stop the chaos around her.

This book didn't disappoint. It was fast-paced throughout. We got to know more about Alec in this book, and he proved to be an interesting character. I liked all the characters. There's only two thing I had problems with, I felt like the plot was becoming a little repetitive, and that my favorite character, Tod was not present nearly enough. Other than that I like Vincent's writing and characters, which have me hooked on to this series. I can't wait for If I Die, the next installment, coming October 2011.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The People We Choose
 
3.3
"THE PEOPLE WE CHOOSE is an intriguing YA contemporary about how we define family. Calliope is nearly 18 years old,..."
Choices
 
5.0
"It's no secret that I adore Michelle's books, so it was fun reading one of her earlier books. ..."
Take Me Home Tonight
 
3.0
"TAKE ME HOME TONIGHT is an unexpected YA contemporary read, told from three perspectives. Kat, Stevie, and Teri are all..."
Jackaby
 
4.7
"This book was a pleasant surprise. Jackaby by William Ritter is the first in the series by the same name...."
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
"GUTTER GIRL is a unique YA contemporary romance that follows two main characters, Jace and McKenna. McKenna is an outcast..."
Go the Distance
 
4.0
"Go the Distance by Jen Calonita is the latest installment in Disney’s Twisted Tale series. This time the story focuses..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."