Spoiled

 
0.0
 
4.0 (2)
1901 0
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
ISBN
0316098256
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Hilarious
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by The Flashlight Reader

People stopped talking and stared, brows furrowed, like they were at the zoo and Molly was an exotic animal theyd never heard of before. Behold, Los Angelenos, the worlds only Skittish Hoosier in captivity. After her mothers death, Molly finds herself the main exhibit for Los Angeles prying eyes. Her new school mates gape and make fun of her, and her new sister is the next in line for the throne of the far-away island of Royal Pain in the Arse. Brooke Berlin is self-centered, vindictive, and the complete opposite of the humanitarian image painted by her Wikipedia article entry. In fact, Brooke goes out of her way to make Mollys life in Los Angeles unpleasant. But that doesnt stop Molly, who is head-strong and determined to honor her mothers dying wish: get to know your father.


     Molly knew that moving to L.A. would not be an easy move, but she did not count on inheriting an arch-nemesis along with an uber rich celebrity family. If she thought her dad, Brick Berlin, would be of any help easing the transition from Indiana to California, she was mistaken. His busy acting career had him in a million places, none of which were at home. Left aloneand forced to share a roomMolly and Brooke have to survive junior year of high school& together.


     When I first started reading this book, I wasnt sure what to think. My original biased pegged it as a celebrity parody without much of a plot. Because of that, I must admit it took me a while to get into the book. Oh, but into it I did go. When the plot began to form, I quickly became engrossed in the story. The conflict between Brooke and Molly was dynamic and worthy of prime time reality television. 


     The authors did a fantastic job of mimicking California slang and the stereotypes of celebrities and their children. Of course, it helps that the authors are both professional fashion writers/bloggers and know their subject very well. The humorous insights and character nuances actually had me laughing out loud at various times during the novel. The epilogue is especially enjoyable because it paints a hilarious image of father-daughter bonding gone awry.


     I would recommend this book to anyone that wants to enjoy a good beach read. It has a good, believable plot, well developed characters, and plenty of sarcastic humor to keep you turning the pages.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Hilarious!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by The Flashlight Reader

People stopped talking and stared, brows furrowed, like they were at the zoo and Molly was an exotic animal theyd never heard of before. Behold, Los Angelenos, the worlds only Skittish Hoosier in captivity. After her mothers death, Molly finds herself the main exhibit for Los Angeles prying eyes. Her new school mates gape and make fun of her, and her new sister is the next in line for the throne of the far-away island of Royal Pain in the Arse. Brooke Berlin is self-centered, vindictive, and the complete opposite of the humanitarian image painted by her Wikipedia article entry. In fact, Brooke goes out of her way to make Mollys life in Los Angeles unpleasant. But that doesnt stop Molly, who is head-strong and determined to honor her mothers dying wish: get to know your father.


     Molly knew that moving to L.A. would not be an easy move, but she did not count on inheriting an arch-nemesis along with an uber rich celebrity family. If she thought her dad, Brick Berlin, would be of any help easing the transition from Indiana to California, she was mistaken. His busy acting career had him in a million places, none of which were at home. Left aloneand forced to share a roomMolly and Brooke have to survive junior year of high school& together.


     When I first started reading this book, I wasnt sure what to think. My original biased pegged it as a celebrity parody without much of a plot. Because of that, I must admit it took me a while to get into the book. Oh, but into it I did go. When the plot began to form, I quickly became engrossed in the story. The conflict between Brooke and Molly was dynamic and worthy of prime time reality television. 


     The authors did a fantastic job of mimicking California slang and the stereotypes of celebrities and their children. Of course, it helps that the authors are both professional fashion writers/bloggers and know their subject very well. The humorous insights and character nuances actually had me laughing out loud at various times during the novel. The epilogue is especially enjoyable because it paints a hilarious image of father-daughter bonding gone awry.


     I would recommend this book to anyone that wants to enjoy a good beach read. It has a good, believable plot, well developed characters, and plenty of sarcastic humor to keep you turning the pages.


 

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."