Num8ers

 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
1412 0
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0545143004
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Unique and thought provoking
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Since the day her mother died, Jem has known about the numbers. Numbers that pop into her head when she looks into someone's eyes. They're dates, the numbers. Dates predicting death. Burdened by such grim knowledge, Jem avoids relationships. Until she hooks up with Spider and decides to take a chance. But on a date to London, Jem foresees a chilling chain of events. The city's a target. The clock's running out. The countdown is on to a blowup, and her world is about to explode - Back cover of Num8ers

I really enjoyed the uniqueness of this book. I found it refreshing how Jem is dealing with something she did not ask for, but she is not some sort of paranormal being! She is living with a curse everyday. How awful would it be to look into someone's eyes and see the date they will die? It gives me shivers just thinking about it. I could not blame for Jem for not wanting to get close to anyone, even her foster mother. Jem struggles everyday with not getting too close to anyone. Jem is a bit rough around the edges, but you can't really blame her. She lost her mother at an early age and is now dealing with the fact that she can see the day everyone will die. I thought her character was strong, but not really sure she is a good role model for girls. But, once again you can't blame her for the way she is because her life is not normal.

Spider is also unique. He is a likable character and I really admired how he stands up for Jem and loves her despite of her attitude and aversion to relationships. I really commend how Jem and Spider looked out for one another. I enjoyed reading how Jem started to embrace her feelings for Spider and how she realized that it is okay to get close to people.

I guess this book was a bit much for me to take overall. Jem's life is pretty sad and I was kind of depressed while reading it. Nothing seems to go right for her. Her relationship with Spider was a positive thing in her life, but she knows when he will die! I mean good grief, how can you truly be happy knowing when the person you love is going to die? I hope this doesn't come out snobby, but I had a hard time following Jem's hard life. I think the author did a great job of explaining her life and helping the reader see how hard it was, but it was just rough on me. I hope that all makes sense. I thought the book was powerful and I look forward to reading the sequel. a strong 3 out of 5 for this one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."