Bright Young Things (Bright Young Things #1)

 
0.0
 
4.0 (3)
1469 0
Bright Young Things (Bright Young Things #1)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
October 12, 2010
ISBN
006196266X
Buy This Book
      
The year is 1929. New York is ruled by the Bright Young Things: flappers and socialites seeking thrills and chasing dreams in the anything-goes era of the Roaring Twenties.

Letty Larkspur and Cordelia Grey escaped their small Midwestern town for New York's glittering metropolis. All Letty wants is to see her name in lights, but she quickly discovers Manhattan is filled with pretty girls who will do anything to be a star. . . .

Cordelia is searching for the father she's never known, a man as infamous for his wild parties as he is for his shadowy schemes. Overnight, she enters a world more thrilling and glamorous than she ever could have imagined—and more dangerous. It's a life anyone would kill for . . . and someone will.

The only person Cordelia can trust is ­Astrid Donal, a flapper who seems to have it all: money, looks, and the love of Cordelia's brother, Charlie. But Astrid's perfect veneer hides a score of family secrets.

Across the vast lawns of Long Island, in the ­illicit speakeasies of Manhattan, and on the blindingly lit stages of Broadway, the three girls' fortunes will rise and fall—together and apart. From the New York Times bestselling author of The Luxe comes an epic new series set in the dizzying last summer of the Jazz Age.

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (3)
Characters 
 
4.3  (3)
Writing Style 
 
3.7  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Bright Young Things
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
I feel like this story could have taken place in any other decade and been exactly the same. I was really hoping for more insight into the Roaring 20?s, but instead got a few mentions of flimsy, sparkling dresses and people peacefully drinking their illegal liquor. Where was the excitement and the glamor?!

The writing was also pretty dense, with paragraph long sentences. By time I’d get to the period, I forgot what the sentence was about.

Example 1: “By then she knew that the flaky, crescent-shaped pastries they brought in the morning were called croissants, and she had gathered–although she still hadn’t heard anything to confirm it–that the bizarre flowers filing the tall, rectangular silver vases all over the room were calla lilies, even though they were more austere and futuristic than any lily she had ever seen, like flowers that grew on the moon.“

Example 2: “She cried for being so stupid, and she cried for the man who’d lost his life, for the things she’d known about him and the things should now never know, and she cried for the carefree, privileged world that had been hers for only a few glorious weeks, and she cried for all the years no one had loved her and all the many future years when no one would love her again.“

Aside from those two negatives, the story was interesting and moved at a decent pace (although I wished for more excitement earlier on!). It’s hard to write this without comparing it to Vixen by Jillian Larkin, which I think is definitely the better 20?s era read, even though there are quite a few similarities between the characters and plot. However, the final chapter was much better, and makes me want to find out what happens next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Even Better Than The Luxe
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Anyone who has talked to me about books in the last year knows that my love of Godbersen's The Luxe series knows no bounds. That being said I was really worried about reading her most recent historical fiction series. I put off reading Bright Young Things for a long time, but I finally got around to it this week. It blew me away. It was fun, sexy and full of vibrant characters. This is an entirely satisfying read. Set during the last golden days of prohibition era New York City, this glittering novel follows the lives of three girls trying to make a name for themselves in the big city. The glitz and glam of the 1920's is shadowed by the readers knowledge of the economic disaster that looms just beyond the horizon. This idea of fleeting opulence creates an attachment to the characters that is totally enthralling. I loved this one so much that I decided to do a video review so I could gush and gush. Even though I still love The Luxe I think Bright Young Things now tops my list of best young adult historical fiction. 5 fabulous stars for this beauty!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
great start, flappers, speakeasies and NY city lights
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Bright young things is about two friends wanting to escape a small Midwestern town for the big city. Each have there own dreams to chase, Letty wants to be on the Stage and be a star while Cordelia is looking for the Father (a bootlegger & gangster) she has never met.
This book is definitely a coming of age story in the beginning they have a naivety about them and how life is going to be. Through out the book they deal with trials and tribulations, heart breaks, betrayals and revenge. With out a doubt the characters developed and changed by the end of the book.

Cordelia falls in love with the son of her fathers long time enemy - she has to decide whether she wants to follow her heart and betray the only parent she has, or follow her fathers advice to let go because in the end blood is always thicker then water.

Letty in a bid to become famous refuses the advice of a gentleman and trust's the wrong person putting herself in a compromising situation - Is she really willing to do what every other girl her age is doing to get to the top, which involves seedy men in back rooms of hotels?

I thought both Letty & Cordelia needed to hold there friendship to a higher value, I was saddened and upset to see that they where able to let go of each other so easily.

Charlie surprised me I wanted to dislike him and for a while I did but I think by the end he shows himself to be a loyal person.

Astrid I liked I thought she had a genuine heart even if she was a little weak when it came to Charlie, having said that her mother wasn't exactly a role model for her.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...

Latest Member Reviews

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Ink in the Blood (Ink in the Blood Duology #1)
 
4.3
"INK IN THE BLOOD is an engaging and atmospheric YA fantasy. Celia Sand was delighted when she was chosen to..."
What I Want You to See
 
4.0
"WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE is an interesting book that discusses homelessness, choices and their intersection with privilege, as..."
The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School
 
4.7
"'The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School' by Kristin Mahoney is an endearing look at an often hard time..."
 
4.0
"The insatiable oasis will hunt down the thieves of this book and tear them apart, limb by limb, devouring their..."
All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1)
 
5.0
"ALL THE STARS AND TEETH is an imaginative and lush YA fantasy that transports the reader to a fascinating new..."
Wardens of Eternity
 
3.0
"WARDENS OF ETERNITY follows Ziva, a young woman who was abandoned as a toddler, became a ward of the state,..."
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
"THE HAND ON THE WALL is a thrilling conclusion to the TRULY DEVIOUS series. Here, the students are at Ellingham,..."