Bright Young Things (Bright Young Things #1)

 
0.0
 
4.0 (3)
1496 0
Bright Young Things (Bright Young Things #1)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
October 12, 2010
ISBN
006196266X
Buy This Book
      
The year is 1929. New York is ruled by the Bright Young Things: flappers and socialites seeking thrills and chasing dreams in the anything-goes era of the Roaring Twenties.

Letty Larkspur and Cordelia Grey escaped their small Midwestern town for New York's glittering metropolis. All Letty wants is to see her name in lights, but she quickly discovers Manhattan is filled with pretty girls who will do anything to be a star. . . .

Cordelia is searching for the father she's never known, a man as infamous for his wild parties as he is for his shadowy schemes. Overnight, she enters a world more thrilling and glamorous than she ever could have imagined—and more dangerous. It's a life anyone would kill for . . . and someone will.

The only person Cordelia can trust is ­Astrid Donal, a flapper who seems to have it all: money, looks, and the love of Cordelia's brother, Charlie. But Astrid's perfect veneer hides a score of family secrets.

Across the vast lawns of Long Island, in the ­illicit speakeasies of Manhattan, and on the blindingly lit stages of Broadway, the three girls' fortunes will rise and fall—together and apart. From the New York Times bestselling author of The Luxe comes an epic new series set in the dizzying last summer of the Jazz Age.

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (3)
Characters 
 
4.3  (3)
Writing Style 
 
3.7  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Bright Young Things
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
I feel like this story could have taken place in any other decade and been exactly the same. I was really hoping for more insight into the Roaring 20?s, but instead got a few mentions of flimsy, sparkling dresses and people peacefully drinking their illegal liquor. Where was the excitement and the glamor?!

The writing was also pretty dense, with paragraph long sentences. By time I’d get to the period, I forgot what the sentence was about.

Example 1: “By then she knew that the flaky, crescent-shaped pastries they brought in the morning were called croissants, and she had gathered–although she still hadn’t heard anything to confirm it–that the bizarre flowers filing the tall, rectangular silver vases all over the room were calla lilies, even though they were more austere and futuristic than any lily she had ever seen, like flowers that grew on the moon.“

Example 2: “She cried for being so stupid, and she cried for the man who’d lost his life, for the things she’d known about him and the things should now never know, and she cried for the carefree, privileged world that had been hers for only a few glorious weeks, and she cried for all the years no one had loved her and all the many future years when no one would love her again.“

Aside from those two negatives, the story was interesting and moved at a decent pace (although I wished for more excitement earlier on!). It’s hard to write this without comparing it to Vixen by Jillian Larkin, which I think is definitely the better 20?s era read, even though there are quite a few similarities between the characters and plot. However, the final chapter was much better, and makes me want to find out what happens next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Even Better Than The Luxe
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Anyone who has talked to me about books in the last year knows that my love of Godbersen's The Luxe series knows no bounds. That being said I was really worried about reading her most recent historical fiction series. I put off reading Bright Young Things for a long time, but I finally got around to it this week. It blew me away. It was fun, sexy and full of vibrant characters. This is an entirely satisfying read. Set during the last golden days of prohibition era New York City, this glittering novel follows the lives of three girls trying to make a name for themselves in the big city. The glitz and glam of the 1920's is shadowed by the readers knowledge of the economic disaster that looms just beyond the horizon. This idea of fleeting opulence creates an attachment to the characters that is totally enthralling. I loved this one so much that I decided to do a video review so I could gush and gush. Even though I still love The Luxe I think Bright Young Things now tops my list of best young adult historical fiction. 5 fabulous stars for this beauty!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
great start, flappers, speakeasies and NY city lights
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Bright young things is about two friends wanting to escape a small Midwestern town for the big city. Each have there own dreams to chase, Letty wants to be on the Stage and be a star while Cordelia is looking for the Father (a bootlegger & gangster) she has never met.
This book is definitely a coming of age story in the beginning they have a naivety about them and how life is going to be. Through out the book they deal with trials and tribulations, heart breaks, betrayals and revenge. With out a doubt the characters developed and changed by the end of the book.

Cordelia falls in love with the son of her fathers long time enemy - she has to decide whether she wants to follow her heart and betray the only parent she has, or follow her fathers advice to let go because in the end blood is always thicker then water.

Letty in a bid to become famous refuses the advice of a gentleman and trust's the wrong person putting herself in a compromising situation - Is she really willing to do what every other girl her age is doing to get to the top, which involves seedy men in back rooms of hotels?

I thought both Letty & Cordelia needed to hold there friendship to a higher value, I was saddened and upset to see that they where able to let go of each other so easily.

Charlie surprised me I wanted to dislike him and for a while I did but I think by the end he shows himself to be a loyal person.

Astrid I liked I thought she had a genuine heart even if she was a little weak when it came to Charlie, having said that her mother wasn't exactly a role model for her.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."