One Night that Changes Everything

 
0.0
 
4.3 (2)
1647 0
Publisher
Age Range
14+
ISBN
1416994793
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Fast and Fun
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
This was a very fun book. It was fast paced and really flew by. Every chapter had a time at the beginning, so you could follow along hour by hour of Eliza’s night, which made the book seem to go by even quicker. The plot was very clever – who among us has never written a secret in a book and hidden it away, afraid for anyone to find it? Often throughout the book, I thought about how mortified I would be if somebody ever found my journals and threatened to post them for the world to see. When Eliza was in a particular situation, and I thought “why is she doing that,” then I would remember how I might do anything to prevent that from happening to me. (Which kind of makes it sound like I have really juicy secrets tucked away somewhere, but I swear they wouldn’t be that interesting to anyone but me.) Anyway, any time you feel disbelief at something that is happening to Eliza, remember what you might do in the same situation and just move on.

'And then I get it. The 318s have somehow decided to make me do the things that are in my notebook. All the things I’m afraid of. The things I’ve been writing since the seventh grade. And if I don’t, they’re going to post the book on the internet, and everyone at school, no, everyone with an internet connection, will know all my secrets. For a second, it feels like my throat swallows up my heart and my breath catches in my throat. There’s only one thing left to do. I put my head in my hands and start to cry.'

The characters were great. I felt so sorry for Eliza and what she was going through. I was glad she had friends who were there for her. They followed her around all night, offering support, even before they knew what was so special about the book. She said she needed them and they were there. I was a little disappointed in one of the gals who had such low self-esteem that she lived for one particular boy to call so she could be his booty call.

I liked how snappy the dialogue was. These are real teens who are sarcastic and quick and sassy. (I like to think I was that witty as a teen, but I fear I may be looking back with rose-colored glasses.) I especially liked Eliza’s internal dialogue. It was amusing to read how she talks to herself and then how she talks to her friends.

Just a small amount of sexy hotness, mostly in the glances and unsaid things between Eliza and Cooper. There were some sweet and sensitive moments as Eliza and Cooper (and their friends) grow up and mature during their trials of the night.

I’m not too pleased with the cover. Unless I missed it, nobody had a VW bug in the book, and at no point did Eliza sit on the ground in front of a car and listen to an ipod, and certainly not while smiling. I do like the blue color and the city skyline though.

The Sum Up: A quick, fun read with heart that was enjoyable and smart.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
One Night that Changes Everything
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Cass

My thoughts: 

I read this about two weeks ago, but *ahem*... One Night that Changes Everything
had a compelling and unique storyline and premise-- it was about a
notebook full of Eliza's, the main character, deepest secrets and fears,
and not all of them about her; and her ex-boyfriend and his friends
have it. What should have been a fun weekend with her two best friends
Clarice and Marissa turns into an inevitable night of blackmail,
overcoming things Eliza had once feared, fallings out, drama, and new
love...

This
novel was always moving along, and with about 12 hours (not even a
day!) for the storyline, there wasn't much time for a dull moment. It
was action-packed, in the slightest of ways, since there are no heavy
explosions or alien invasions...or vampire biting, for all you
paranormalists! 

The
relationship between Eliza and Cooper (the ex) was actually nice, and
fun to watch unfold and develop. It's really obvious what happens at the
end between them, but it was still sweet when I got to read that
moment. It wasn't overly sappy, or cheesy; though I think if it wasn't
already obvious, this book is highly girl-oriented. I'm sure that guys
CAN enjoy this one, but girls may be able to relate to some of the
events a bit more...

However,
good parts of the novel aside, I did have a few problems. When I was
reading, I found that the distinction between Clarice and Marissa,
Eliza's best friends, should have been more defined. I don't know, they
seemed very similar. While there was that whole Clarice is a
hopeless-romantic but keeps running to her "boyfriend" for hookups, or
Marissa who...well, I can't even remember now. I remember her being
described as the more... racy of the two. But really? I just wanted more
of a distinction.

All
in all, I enjoyed this one a whole lot. It was a quick read, it was
interesting, I liked what was explored-- that, ultimately, the things
that compell people to be afraid usually aren't too bad. If you're a
sucker for teen girl light, fun and slightly-dramarific stories, you'll
enjoy this one. 

This is my first novel from Lauren Barnholdt, so I can't give any comparisons between her other novels and this one.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."