The Mermaid's Mirror

 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2514 0
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0547194919
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

2 reviews

From Missy's Reads & Reviews
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I have to admit, when it comes to mythological creatures ... mermaids are pretty much at the low end of the totem pole for me. Why? Besides Ariel from The Little Mermaid, I've had no interest in them. Maybe it's just the lack of books about mermaids when I was younger that has me so unaffected? I think it might be. Really, when I read about mermaids back then, they were kind of fillers or just a plain out afterthought to the entire story.

Definitely not the case with this story.

Though it did take me a while to get to the action in the story -- over 100 pages into the book -- the story was well-written and had enough to keep me intrigued to get to the action. There are many aspects to love about this book. The way Madigan builds up her characters, main and minor, is beautiful ... all of them are fleshed out well. The mythology was wonderful, but then my knowledge of mermaids is lacking at the moment. I love, love, LOVED the relationships between Lena and her family, as well as the relationships between her and her friends. They're all described so warmly that it makes you feel all tingly. The best part? I think for me it had to be the author's way of putting you in the passenger's seat and taking you on a ride through Lena's journey of self-discovery as she discovers secrets about herself that have been kept from her all her life.

Now, for the bad ... which isn't as bad as you may think. I'm not a fan of the way Lena and Kai's relationship just kind of ... faded. Then again, I'm one of those people that have to have the relationships and the happily-ever-afters. If I wanted to hear bad things, I wouldn't read - I'd turn on the news or Maury. Don't let me lead you away, though, it's not bad! It's just not there as much as you want it to be. Oh, and then there's the love triangle ... which, really, when isn't there a love triangle in books these days?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
More Mermaid Magic
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
THE MERMAIDS MIRROR (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, October 2010) is L.K. Madigans second novel, independent of her first, FLASH BURNOUT, released by Harcourt in October 2009.

Fifteen-year-old Lena has grown up walking for miles along the beach, watchingand not participating inthe magic of the ocean because her father forbids it. Soon, though, Lena cant stand those restrictions and decides she will learn to surf, a particularly good thing because something keeps subconsciously drawing her to the wateran ancient, powerful magic. One day Lena realizes why this magic has felt so close. In the waters of Magic Crescent Cove swims a beautiful woman . . . with a silvery tail. Now Lena needs to knowwhat does this subconscious message mean? And how do a stumbled upon key and mirror fit into this new piece to the puzzle of her life?

Overall, I think that this is a well-written and very enjoyable book. I have not read FLASH BURNOUT, which received some great reviews, so I cannot make a comparison between the two. I will note that THE MERMAIDS MIRROR is filled with beautiful, approachable language; a multi-faceted plot; and a take on the mermaid legend that is relatively fresh in comparison to other titles available todaythere appear new takes on human-mermaid politics, mermaids secret underwater world, and more.

I think what I liked most about the novel is how all of its pieces fit together thematicallyMadigan draws out a lot of themes (for example, importance of family, friendship, and brotherhood/sisterhood as well as human nature versus the nature of creatures). I didnt feel as if she was attempting to enforce a message onto me as a reader. The pieces of the story, the story overall, grew organically out of Lenas circumstances.

I did have some concerns, which detracted at times from the story as a whole: the plot feelsin very specific instancescontrived, as if Madigan knew she had to provide specific elements at specific instances in plot. There was surprise here and there, but there definitely was room for more unpredictability, more depth (i.e., with the explanation behind the appearance of the mermaid). I also wanted Lenas stakes to be higherI can identify one instance in which I was particularly concerned for her; otherwise I knew she, as a character, would be just fine.

This book should definitely be read, especially if one is a girl; loves mermaids and romance, tough decisions and magic, surfing and little brothers; and is curious to see how Madigan pulls everything off. This is a good example of the best tight and interesting YA literature out there in bookstores.

THE MERMAIDS MIRRORand FLASH BURNOUT, as I hearare both worth a read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."