Losing Faith

 
4.0
 
4.3 (2)
1491 0
Losing Faith
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 07, 2010
ISBN
1416996095
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Searching for Faith
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
After Brie's sister, Faith, dies, Brie's world crumbles. Her parents are in denial, her friends don't know how to treat her, and her boyfriend shows his true colors. Brie is numb with disbelief her sister died so suddenly. She also has questions about what really happened.

After Brie gets back into her normal schedule, she encounters someone who might have the answer to some of her unanswered questions. Should Brie continue on this path, even if it means her own life is in danger?

Losing Faith is a story of loss, searching for faith and answers. Brie's character's reaction to the death of her older sister is very realistic. So are the reactions of her friends and parents. Brie struggles with how to belong again after the funeral. The awkwardness of classmates and friends rings true. I mean, what exactly do you say to someone who rumor has it had a sister died by her own hand? And how do you deal with gossip and avoidance because your friends feel awkward around you? This is shown in vivid and very believable detail.

Religion does play an important part of this story. Brie's sister was with a religious youth group and her family is actively involved with church. So the whole questioning aspect felt right on the mark.

One of the things I did have trouble with was the one character who was homeschooled. I homeschool my own son through a charter school. No way are we over the top religious. Also the whole fanatic religious group was a tad bit extreme.

What I really liked about Losing Faith was how the author showed a character dealing with a tragedy in her family and how she struggles with her own grieve through questioning and also wondering about her own faith. Brie shows lots of inner strength as she tries to solve the truth of what really happened to Faith. Brie's courage will resonate with readers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Losing Faith
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Losing Faith is about a girl who loses a sister that she never really liked. Faith is super religious; Brie is not. I think in some ways we can all relate to losing a family member we don't like and trying to deal with the stress of what to do.

Denise Jaden does a wonderful job on writing the book. At times the book does go slow, but this is not a topic that needs to be rushed.
And since this is a teen book, clearly there has to be some romantic situation. Brie's first boyfriend was a jerk. No need to comment on that one more. But, what I liked about the way the author incorpporated Alis (short for Alistair) was wonderful. Tessa and Alis were definitely round characters. Each of them had their own spying methods to help Brie figure out the mystery of her sisters death and they were usually cool or hilarious.

If you are thinking about reading it: read it. Maybe don't read it all, but read a couple of chapters and then decide whether or not to read the rest. But the book is good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Losing Faith review
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Brandileigh2003


    Losing Faith is an emotional book with a spoonful of mystery. The characters are likeable and well written, the plot moves along nicely. It kept me interested and I didn't want to put the book down.


   Though Losing Faith deals with religion, it never came across to me as preachy. It could have been a real life situation, and I think that Brie examined things and gave fair weight where it was due. Dealing with a cult, of course there is a pinch of truth and then taken to extremes along with a lot of lies. So, yes, we see these things in the book, but there are also examples of good christians.


   Losing a sister and a daughter has to be heartwrenching and we get an inside look through Brie and her parents. Jaden really conveys different ways of handling grief and I can almost feel their pain along with them.


   Though I felt I knew where the book was going and what the answers were going to be, it was a wonderful ride to with Brie to find the answers. I was right for most things, but there were still things that surprised me.


   My favorite characters in the story are actually Tessa, an 'outcast' who befriends Brie and shows her what being a friend really means-- also what getting into trouble means, but that is part of the fun. My other is Alys, the love interest. He is awkward but loyal, and caring.


Also published on my book blog: blkosiner.blogspot.com

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."