Crossed Out

 
0.0
 
2.0 (2)
1392 0
Crossed Out
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
March 17, 2010
ISBN
1897562683
Buy This Book
      
Following the light can't be that hard, right? So why don't the dead just do it and leave Stephanie Stewart alone? However nothing is ever as simple as it should be, as Stephanie learns when her hidden 'gift' becomes more than a nuisance, quickly turning into a liability. If she can't learn to trust someone with her secret, the world as she knows it will go to hell. Literally. But if she doesn't choose wisely, she might just end up learning firsthand how hard it is to follow that light. Because she's next on the list to be crossed out.

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Needs Fine Tuning
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Reading Angel

I thought the concept of this book was great.  It was an original idea that could have made for an excellent book, unfortunately, that just didn't happen for me this time.  I loved the idea of the souls appearing to Steph and her having 48 hours to find the place where they died, plant a religious symbol of some kind, and send them to the other side.  I really enjoyed that she was able to glimpse heaven in those moments when the soul moved on, that was really beautiful to me.


As for characters, I just didn't feel like enough went in to character building, so I wasn't able to really connect with any of them.  I felt like I was really missing something in the relationship between Steph and Dylan.  It was almost as if this was the second book in a series and we should already know all of the history between them.  Since it wasn't book 2, the history was to be assumed and so I wasn't really able to feel the connection between them that was supposed to be there.


There were several scenes in the book that needed to be filled out more.  There's a super quick scene that happens in the cafeteria, and even though it's brought back up as an important moment in the book, it was so fast I wasn't even sure what happened there and was confused every time it was brought back up.  The transitions between scenes needed some work, I felt like it jumped from one thing to the other much too quickly.  Also Steph had really poor rationalization, which is a big pet peeve for me.  Every time she meets up with our bad boy Mark, she know she shouldn't, but then she'll tell her self the same thing every time. He wants to be with ME, and he doesn't freak out about my gift.  I got tired of her using that as her excuse for being with him.


By the end of the book I felt like there was several points that needed to be addressed and wrapped up, but were left hanging and confusing.  Overall, it was a good concept, and a quick fun read, but it definitely needed some more fine tuning in places.

http://readingangel002.blogspot.com

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Crossed Out By Kim Baccellia
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by The Bookshelf Sophisticate

This turned out to be a little different from what I was expecting and I've been having trouble deciding how I feel about it overall. The main characters Stephanie and Dylan have gifts and an understanding of worlds and possibilities that your normal, average person cannot even begin to imagine. I have to admit that for starters I had a hard time believing the premise surrounding this plot. I didn't really connect or identify with any of the characters and I think that had a lot to do with my mixed feelings. I didn't really feel invested in the people or actions going on in the story while I was reading.

I do however, think the idea of "rescuers" (people that help souls/spirits cross over to the other side) is fascinating and wonderful but I kind of wish I got more of a detailed background than I did. I'm not sure if this is a stand alone novel, or will be the first installment in a series, but to be honest I could see it going either way. I normally don't encourage too much detail or a slower pacing of the plot but with this story I think I would have been able to enjoy it more if there was a more detailed background given about the characters and ideas surrounding the novel. Maybe a slowing of the pace - I kind of felt like the second half of the story was rushed. Mine is just one opinion, but this just wasn't a favorite of mine. Maybe if this becomes a series I'll be able to take a look at the sequel and be pleasantly surprised, fingers crossed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."