Bitter Frost (Frost #1)

 
0.0
 
4.8 (3)
1895 2
Bitter Frost (Frost #1)
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 01, 2010
ISBN
1597488984
Buy This Book
      
Characters and the world of Feyland first introduced in Gow's children/Middle Grade Series The Fairy Rose Chronicles (originally published in 2003)

All her life, Breena had always dreamed about fairies as though she lived among them...beautiful fairies living among mortals and living in Feyland.

In her dreams, he was always there the breathtakingly handsome but dangerous Winter Prince, Kian, who is her intended. When Breena turns sixteen, she begins seeing fairies and other creatures mortals don't see. Her best friend Logan suddenly acts very protective.

Then she sees Kian, who seems intent on finding her and carrying her off to Feyland. That's fine and all, but for the fact that humans rarely survive a trip to Feyland, a kiss from a fairy generally means death to the human unless that human has fairy blood in them or is very strong, and although Kian seemed to be her intended, he seems to hate her and wants her dead.

Bitter Frost, was the Award-Winning Finalist in two categories - "Fiction: Chick-Lit/Women's Literature" and "Cross-Genre Fiction" of the 2011 International Book Awards, where Kailin Gow won first place overall in Fiction Horror, joining winners from St. Martin's Press, Simon & Shuster, Zondervan, and Random House. She joins other winners such as Bishop Desmond Tutu and Rick Warren in the 2011 International Book Awards.

Kailin Gow's books has been recommended by the Parents Teachers Association, PBS Kids, and a Sr. U.S. Senator and her daughter. President Obama's daughter Malia has stated she is reading the FROST Series.

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.8
Plot 
 
5.0  (3)
Characters 
 
4.7  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.7  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
ALA YALSA Readers Choice Series is a Must Read
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
At first glance, this series seem like just another YA fey book, but as the series progressed, the author proves to be an experienced storyteller who provides unexpected twists and unforgettable moments unique and original than other ya books. Reading Kailin Gow's books is refreshing since she doesn't stick to formulaic storytelling to fit in a genre. The Bitter Frost series is one of her earlier YA series but is still active.

Not only is this a book series extending to more than 14 books in spin offs, but there is is a game and a film in development.

Not only do I love her books, but her as an author for being an inspiration to girls.

Good Points
Compelling story plot gets more complicated and epic with each book.

The world-building is one of the best in Fantasy, you will have a reading escape experience.

An ALA YALSA award winner.



Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Another Good Fey Read
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I love stories of fey and fairy tales alike. So when I saw Bitter Frost, I immediately picked it up and started reading. Bitter Frost follows the main character, Breena, as she turns sixteen, and is captured by a fey and taken to the fey world. She then finds out about a couple of secrets her friend has been hiding from her. She meets her intended, a fey, who at one point was supposed to marry Breena! Which is quite a shock to Breena who hasn't even gotten her first kiss. The story is light, and a quick read, mixed with some creepy fairy elements that will leave you shivering.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Loved this fun exciting Fey series.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I found my new favorite Fey series! I had the biggest book hangover after my favorite (still is a fav) the Iron Fey series. This one, so far anyway, reminds me of it, but in its own unique way. It is loosely based off the Dutch Folklore of the Snow Queen and Jack Frost.
This book is written very well, and I found myself flipping my kindle pages faster and faster. I had to know what was going to happen.

I warmed up to the main character Breena really fast, and found Logan to be awesome, loved him. I really warmed up to Kian the Winter Prince pretty quickly too.
This is as pretty short story, in the Kindle is 2413 at the end of Bitter Frost (most books are 3500-8500), I do have the 2 books in one, with The Wolf Fey, ( I wasn't counting that part) a prequel of Logans story, which I look forward to reading. I am hooked on all things Bitter Frost series, so will be reading them all as I can get them, and will review some more of them here.

I will not be telling you a lot, but will say it's a fun adventure following Breena into Feyland, and I really liked the beginning how she has the dreams that seem like memories at times.

One part was creepy when in Feyland, she was captured by the Pixie King, Delano, here is a part where he is talking with Breena, her asking if he will be eating her:

"Are you going to eat me?" I asked him.
I thought perhaps it was better to get that niggling uncertainty out of the way.
"Well, if you insist..." Delano laughed.
"Not particularly," I said.
"Why would I eat you?" said Delano.
"Don't you suck the blood of humans and fairies?"
"Well, some," said Delano. "But not important ones. Not fairies like you. And you're a Halfling, after all - which makes you extra rare, extra special! Why would I waste you on a meal?"
"I wouldn't encourage it," I said.
"I've got much better plans in store for you," said Delano.
I wondered if he wanted to exchange me to the Summer Court, too.
"Half-human, half-fairy. The most powerful combination. You have the magic of fairyland, but the life-force of the land Beyond the Crystal River - fertility, strength, passion. All qualities lacking in most fairies," he continued. "What a race you could produce. Part-fairy, part-human," he looked up at me and smiled. "Part-Pixie."
"I wasn't planning on breeding anytime soon," I said.


So, you can see with that little tease, she has some interesting things going on.
I was so heartbroken at one point, but won't tell you what. But it will make your tear up.
I really enjoyed reading the time she and Kian were able to spend together, and liked how it seemed their love grew. Their love took time to develop, even though it had already been there, from them actually growing up together when she was young, but she doesn't remember it well, just in her dreams.

I highly recommend this series; it's really fun, suspenseful and keeps you on the edge of your seat. I will be getting book 2 soon for sure, as the ending kept me wanting more. A bit of a cliffhanger, but a good one.

5 out of 5 big stars!

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.

See my blog for the book tour, Michelle's Paranormal Vault of Books
http://concisebookreviewsbymichelle.blogspot.com/
Good Points
Writing is very good, and the story moves at a fast pace, liked everyhting
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."