Vintage Veronica

 
2.5 (2)
 
4.0 (1)
1445 0
Vintage Veronica
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 09, 2010
ISBN
0375859233
Buy This Book
      
Veronica Walsh is 15, fashion-minded, fat, and friendless. Her summer job in the Consignment Corner section (Employees Only!) of a vintage clothing store is a dream come true. There Veronica can spend her days separating the one-of-a-kind gem garments from the Dollar-a-Pound duds, without having to deal with people. But when two outrageous yet charismatic salesgirls befriend her and urge her to spy on and follow the mysterious and awkward stock boy Veronica has nicknamed the Nail, Veronica’s summer takes a turn for the weird. Suddenly, what began as a prank turns into something else entirely. Which means Veronica may have to come out of hiding and follow something even riskier for the first time: her heart.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

A Book That Fell Short
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Veronica is a fifteen year old who is friendless, fat, and loves fashion. She gets a job at the consignment section at Clothing Bonanza, where she sorts through the clothes decided which hit the floor or should be sent down to Dollar-a-Pound. She ventures out on to the sales floor one day, out of the back Employees Only! section where she spends her days, and ends up gaining two friends - Ginger and Zoe. They talk her into spying on the stock boy, Lenny.

I had been hearing about Vintage Veronica for ages. I loved the cover and I thought the plot sounded really intriguing. I was sad to say that I did not finish it. I read off and on for about two months, not making it through more than half the book.

I found the characters flat and not very likable. Characters are the deal breakers in books for me, if I don't like them, the chances of me liking the books have drastically decreased. I did like Lenny, what I had seen of him. Ginger and Zoe were too obnoxious for my liking.

The plot was very interesting, but I would've liked a faster pace. I found the pacing very slow, which made it hard to read a lot at one time.

While Vintage Veronica wasn't the book for me, I can definitely see aspects where others would absolutely love it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Fun tale with quirky characters
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Veronica just happens to love vintage clothing and working at the Clothing Bonanza, a vintage clothing palace. Veronica also happens to be fifteen, fat, and friendless. Her one thing she looks forward to is the Employees Only section at the consignment shop where she finds treasures from the other fashion disasters that end up going down a chute to the Dollar-a-Pound area of the store.

She likes being alone that is until two of the outrageous salesgirls befriend her and want her to spy on Len, the awkward stock boy Veronica nicknames The Nail. Everything is fine at first until Veronica gets to know Len. Should she continue spying and be a part of a group of friends? Or should she do what she feels is right even if this means she'll lose the friendship of the two salesgirls?

I really liked Veronica. For one thing she knows she's fat but doesn't obsess over it. She loves vintage clothing, flea markets, and sketching clothing. I loved how the author gives readers a multi-dimensional character without the usual woe is me cliches. Bravo!

The Clothing Bonanza is a character too. I loved the rich and vivid descriptions of this consignment store. My favorite scene has to be the discards or DEP that are tossed down a chute and rain down on customers below. I'd love to visit a consignment store like that!

The relationship between Len and Veronica felt real and not forced. I couldn't help but think of America Ferrera in Real Women Have Curves. Both characters aren't obsessed with their figures and both end up with a guy. Veronica though starts out somewhat shy around others and arcs toward the end of the story.

This is a fun read that is sure to appeal to those who like stories with memorable characters such as Veronica.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Vintage Veronica by Erica S. Perl Review
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Katelyn (The Bookshelf Sophisticate)

Talk about a book that will put you through the gauntlet...Vintage Veronica was definitely a surprise to me to say the least. I didn't think it was possible to undergo feeling so many different emotions throughout the reading of a book and yet at the same time have the underlying tone remain so light and easy to read. As a debut YA author, Perl has impressed me with her writing and story telling ability.

Some parts of the novel had me laughing out loud, which doesn't happen often. Veronica and the Nail trying on vintage clothing is a prime example. Some parts had me cringing as Veronica's mom's talks with her inevitably almost always circled back to her weight watcher's points system. It was just so easy to feel a part of the story and the characters that all of these feelings and emotions...well it was like I was there experiencing each and every one of the situations first hand along with the characters themselves.

There were, however, times throughout the novel that I really just wanted to shake Veronica. Anything to get her to wake up to the reality of the actions of the characters she interacted with and the consequences that were inevitably going to follow. There were many points in the story when I truly had a hard time liking her at all. This was new for me, usually a female protagonist is easy to relate to and like quickly, but Veronica was constantly pushing me to the edge of my patience. It was at the same time though that I realized Perl displays an uncanny ability to portray the characters she created so realistically that you can't help but take part in their journey with them. When Veronica was disappointed at herself and her actions, I was disappointed with her as well. When she was hopeful, I was right there with her, sympathizing with her attempts to correct the wrongs she had committed. It was amazing!

And don't let me forget to mention the actual store in which Veronica works. I can only say that in the beginning I was not thinking this was a store I would ever want to find myself shopping in, but by the end I can only say that I wish I had one right down the street from me. Veronica's ability to pick out the riches among the rags had me craving a shopping trip of my own.

If you haven't picked this read up yet, go out and get it, you'll be glad you did. The way Perl weaved her story together while dealing with real life issues like self image, peer pressure, family struggles, etc...and yet still managing to have her readers leaving this story feeling good. I'm definitely glad I had the opportunity to read this novel and can't wait to see what Perl produces next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...

Latest Member Reviews

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."
The Good Song: A Story Inspired by "Somewhere Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World"
 
4.0
"THE GOOD SONG is a book about grief and finding beauty in the world around you. A little boy grows..."