This world we live in

 
4.0
 
4.3 (3)
1634 0
Publisher
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0547248040
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Last Survivors saga continues
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Back in 2006 I was able to read LIFE AS WE KNEW IT for the Cybils. I remember being blown away by this futuristic tale that shows human nature at both its worse and best during a catastrophic disaster. Later, I read the companion novel THE DEAD AND THE GONE, which was equally as powerful.


Now in THIS WORLD WE LIVE IN the tale continues. Its been a year since a meteor hit the moon which totally changed Earths climate for the worse. Miranda Evans old life is now dead. Shes seen loved ones either die or leave. Then one day her father returns with his new wife, baby, and some strangers. One of the strangers, Alex, causes Miranda to experience feelings shed thought were dead like her old life. But his plans might thaw any relationship. Then a tornado hits her town and forces Miranda to make a decision that will change their lives forever.


I really loved this continuing tale of life after the meteor hits. Once again the strong and vivid images will haunt you. Mirandas story is a scary one. What would you do if a catastrophic disaster totally changed the lives of everyone for probably the worse? Would you still have faith in a higher power? Would you lie, cheat, and even kill so others might live? These questions are ones that Miranda asks every day. I especially loved how the author is able to evoke strong emotions with this series. I couldnt help but wonder what Id do if I was in Miranda or in her mothers situation. I also like how the author was able to weave in other characters from the previous book so effortlessly.


Im hoping for another book in this very powerful, haunting series. Lets just hope this isnt our future but if it is that wed be able to have the courage and strength to meet each day like Miranda and her love ones.


A highly recommended book. If you havent read the other two books, Id highly recommend them.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (3)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Just Wow
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
This is one of the only series that does make me think and that sticks with me long after I've read it. This actually was my first time reading this installment. I've still never read the second, I don't plan to either. It's all just so sad and terrible but I find myself going back for more. I've reviewed the first and to me while this one isn't quite as good it still haunts me. What if this really didi happen? The moon getting thrown off balance. Would anymore live long afterward? Would it just destroy the life we have now?

This book is very quick read, one I found hard to put down as I read it in one day. Even though I know nothing good will actually happen, I find myself hoping it does. I do not think this series is for everyone as most people I know hate it with a passion and most reviews I've read rate it terribly. I like it though, it's not the best of course, but I don't know there is just something about it that speaks to me.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
This World We Live In: still good, but not as great as the first
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kelsey

Not the best
in the series by far, but still a good read. In the Last Survivors series, there is no
good stopping place! I feel like I need to read the books all in one
sitting. Impossible to set it down.

The first book, though, is
still my favorite. I think that's because it's the first dystopia I've
ever read, and it just struck a cord with me. I remember how I felt when
I was reading Life as We Knew It,
and I was amazed and horrified at the same time. It's something that
could actually happen (based on my limited science knowledge, of
course), and that's really scary.

But this post is for This World We Live In, the last book
in the series. It continued both of the previous stories, which I
liked. I thought it was cool how the author incorporated both of the
book's characters and collaborated them into one. But the book
itself....not her best work.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
It's the End of the World...
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Ava

This book is the last in the Life As We Knew It trilogy. I read the first two and I wasn't extremely impressed, but I decided to go ahead and read the third one anyway. This one was definitly my favorite of the series. It connected the two protagonists of the first two books and combined their stories. I liked how, in this book, you could really feel the tension between a lot of the characters. I also liked since it was Miranda's diary, her thoughts were really realistic and human and a lot of the times funny. This was something I really missed with the second book, The Dead and The Gone, which was centered around Alex. The other books seemed extremely repetitive, and this one slipped into that a little bit, but generally it was pretty new and interesting. Alex got really annoying a few times, but it was still realistic. There was suspense, and at the end it almost gave me shivers. The thing I didn't like the most about this book was the ending. I hope there's a fourth book that will give it more conclusion. It was also really short!

Overall, I would recommend this book, but you have to read the first two to really appreciate it, and those books were a little more dull.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."