Dawn

 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
1459 0
Dawn
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 01, 2009
ISBN
0545060907
Buy This Book
      
Dawn's dad is a recovering substance abuser, a one-time child molester, and...a born-again Christian. Religion: That's his latest addiction. But as far as Dawn is concerned, the Man Upstairs has robbed her of the father she once loved--drugs, drinks, and all.
Which is why Dawn's gone shopping for Bibles. For research. To know her enemy. Because, to get her old dad back, she's going to have to do away with this God guy.

She'd just better pray that the fallout from her father's past life of crime doesn't catch up to her first.

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Great Writing - Dark Story
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by BBPhoto

When it comes to New Year's resolutions, I think Dawn Bundy has got us all beat. The main character in Kevin Brooks' latest novel wants to defeat God as a way to heal her pain. She says herself that it's not really a New Year's resolution, but the novel opens on the 1st of January, the start of a brand new year, and she's out for the kill, starting tomorrow.

Before she can defeat her enemy, though, she goes to the bookstore to get as much information as possible to figure out what to do. You see, Dawn is fine with her present-day self at fifteen years old, yet struggles with her thirteen-year-old self who holds memories that are not pleasant and lives in a cave within her head. It is a place that is dark, cold, and bleak.

At 15, Dawn is taking care of her alcoholic mother, wondering where her dad ran off to when he left two years ago, and wondering why the two toughest girls in her school have invited her to hang out and party.

There's a Q and A component to the book which is interesting, like present-day Dawn is talking to Dawn-in-the-cave because she's trying to figure out how she feels. And really, it's not that Dawn wants to kill God, as much as she hates that her dad "found" God and used Him as an excuse to hurt her in a way that feels irreparable.

As our story winds from Dawn leaving the bookstore to running into Mel and Taylor (aka Tough Girls at School) to coping with her everyday life, the reader is treated to Brooks' sharply detailed writing. The ending surprises the reader with something not quite expected, but well thought out and well executed.

Having never read Brooks' work before, this was a good book with which to start. While the story itself is dark, at the core, we have a teen in an identity crisis. She is trying to figure out where she is and who she is. Throw in a few complications like caring for parents, deciphering the mean girls, and trying to fit in, and we have a book that I couldn't put down.

I am giving this 4-stars, though, because there were some things that didn't add up for me. Dawn had this horrible crime done to her by her dad and she still loves his favorite music? Most victims would want nothing to do with the person who committed the crime. While Dawn loved her dad, but hated his crime, she's not black and white enough for a teenager. She sees the good dad, even when he was addicted to drugs and alcohol, and loves him. She doesn't really come to terms with bad dad and what he did because she's still struggling with it. When she gets mad at him later on in the book, we can understand why, but there's still suspended belief because we hear mostly about how good a dad he was, until he takes up with the latest addiction that does him in.

Great writing - great story - I look forward to reading more of Brooks' work, but be prepared for the darkness in this story.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...

Latest Member Reviews

Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"After Cassie witnesses the murder of her mother, she develops anxiety over just about everything. She doesn't talk to anyone..."
Seneca Lake
 
4.8
"Meg lives in a small town in upstate NY (outside Ithaca) in the later years of WWII. She is torn..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"In the first book, we were introduced to Jesse’s sister, Cassie, and his best friend, Roman. After witnessing their mother’s..."
First Earth: Book One in the Arch Mage Series
 
5.0
""Agnes' journey not only kept me turning pages, but pulled me into the journey of self-discovery right along with her...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"It’s no secret that I love Michelle’s books, and this is such a fantastic start to a new series! I..."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Charlotte-or Charlie-loves both hockey and figure skating. However, she knows she can't do both and has already chosen to pursue..."
The Subjects, Aim
 
4.8
"First and foremost, Aim accomplishes what any good sci-fi sets out to do. It thoroughly explores the concepts of humanity..."
Of Water and Moonlight
 
4.8
"Maddie is a Hawthorne sister and is known for performing a spell against the Ancients. If the stares of her..."
Dragon Rising: A Mulan Inspired Fantasy
 
5.0
"When her sister Luna is killed, Hua wants nothing more than to get revenge. Taking her father's place, she joins..."
Heart of Mist
 
5.0
"The story: Bleak is a drunken thief who is desperately trying to find a way to cure herself from..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.5
"Milla steals an armband and an identity which could put her to death if she is found out. She takes..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Kingdom Cold
 
4.8
"What I loved: First and foremost, the characters. Princess Charlotte's fierce, unyielding manner. The way her character is left..."