The Legend of Vinny Whiskers

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
1053 0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
"A Million Smiles"
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Noel Furniss, Teen Demi-Goddess

Boomerang Lookout is the runt of the litter, with a name that has cursed him since birth. The original Boomerang Lookout was a member of the Lost Six, those who left their home, the Ward, and never returned. They were henceforth considered Outlaws, and their names were not dared spoken. Being small has made Boomers life miserable, and so he decides to venture away from the Ward. On his journey he learns the true history of his namesake, and is thrust to the front of a power struggle between the Rats and the Wee, a band of small animals that lived in peace until the Rat Nation took over. Can Boomer fight for the lives and futures of these people, as well as his own?

I thought The Legend of Vinny Whiskers was a very good read, even though I usually dont enjoy reading from an animals perspective. Greg Kemp has an amazing gift of writing, as well as humor! I fell in love with the characters and hilarious dialogue, even some of the names! (Kung and Fu for example. How can you not love that?) One thing that particularly struck me is what Boomers namesake used to say, Forget who you are and realize instead what we all are. Its a powerful message, and one that we all need to consider every once in awhile. Its great that Mr. Kemp can use the clever disguise of the life of a prairie dog to send such a profound message to the youth of today. I have high hopes for this book, that it will enable its readers to take a look at themselves and realize that it doesnt matter how small or tall you are, it doesnt matter what shape or size, but WHO you are, and what we ALL are, that matter. Anyone can make a difference, they simply need to trust in themselves. This book is on my to read to my future children list, and I highly suggest that school teachers to the same (just replace future children with students). I know that Mr. Kemp is going to make a name for himself in the writing world, and I anxiously await another marvelous novel from his intriguing mind. Congrats, Greg! Two thumbs up!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."