Splendor: A Luxe Novel

 
0.0
 
3.3 (3)
1511 0
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0061626317
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (3)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Splendor
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Well! The Luxe is over, and in spite of its ups and downs, I rather liked this series, and Splendor in particular. I think Godbersen definitely improved her storytelling as things progressed, and though I’m not massively in love with these books, I do think they’re worth reading if you’re interested in this type of thing.

As far as final installments go, I was very pleased with Splendor. This is a case where every character gets his or her “just desserts”, which works very well for the sort of plotline Godbersen was working with. It’s always very nice to feel have a good sense of satisfaction and rightness after closing a book for the last time. I approve of what Anna Godbersen did in Splendor.

The drama and scandal in Splendor was also much less understated, as it was in Envy. I appreciated that quite a bit, because I think it’s possible to write a very dramatic plot without adding in so many flamboyant twists that the book comes to resemble a paperclip. I wouldn’t say there were any truly shocking moments in this book, but it was still very-well constructed.

Character-wise, I’m still not completely wowed by any of the people in this book. A few of them lost their two-dimensionalness (notably Carolina Broad/Lina Broud), but a few, while likable, were not realistic people. For instance, I did grow to like Elizabeth Holland a lot over the course of this series, but I loved her because she was like a fairy princess, too good to be true, and naturally, you want the pure, perfect girl to get everything she wants. Either that or die a tragic death befitting her perfectness. You know.

I’m still very firm in my belief that Anna Godbersen is a very talented author, even if she doesn’t do as much with her ability as I’d like. Splendor was no different in that respect. Godbersen can carry a storyline without problem, and I’m always engaged in what she’s saying, even if I am rolling my eyes all the while.

Over the course of the four Luxe books, Anna Godbersen and I have come to a sort of understanding. I don’t ask for brilliant characterization and earth-shattering prose, and she gives me a fluffy and oh-so-enjoyable storyline to curl up in bed with. It’s an arrangement that suits the both of us, and I look forward to reading more from this author.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Riches and Romance
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Elena

This is the 4th and final book in the Luxe series. I really enjoyed reading this book. There was a lot of romance and some betrayal. As I read this book I couldn't stop reading. This book was a good conclusion to the series. What really disappointed me was the ending (look below for more information). I was sad when the series was over. I look forward to the author's upcoming book titled Bright Young Things.


***********Spoiler Alert!***************** (Don't read below if you want to read the book!)


At first, I didn't really like the ending because I thought that Diana should be with Henry. As I thought about it, I'm glad that Diana left for Paris alone. Her decision showed that she had matured enough to not be so jealous all the time. Penelope and her husband, Henry, also showed more maturity by staying together. My favorite book in the series is the second book, Rumors. I would recommend reading this book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Unexpected Ending
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Ana

I loved this book, as I have loved all of them (except Rumors) but this one had the writing style I love and the characters.  It was like a tribute to Newland Archer and Ellen Olenska from the Age of Innocence, and Edith Wharton  (the author)

As for  the ending (No spoilers here!) was unexpected, but if you really read it it makes sense to what the characters are like.  In my opinion.  I just wished Penelope had been cruelly divorced, wandered in hearbreak into the forest and gotten her face clawed out by a bear, but maybe the publishers at Harper wouldn't have appreciated that plot twist.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Twin
 
3.7
"When Ivy and Iris were ten, their parents divorced. Ivy lived with their father and Iris with their mother. Then..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."