Witch and Wizard--One-Day Laydown

 
4.0
 
3.0 (1)
1713 0
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0316036242
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A New World Order
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Whit and his sister Whisty Allgood wake up one morning to armed men bursting into their home. The reason? They are considered wanted criminals of the state. Overnight their world has changed to a society that hates anything to do with magic. Their crime? Being witches.

Whisty and Whit are confused. They never knew they were witches. The familiar world around them has gone crazy turning into a totalitarian government called the New Order or N.O. The New Order law states that all art, music, film, and entertainment are strictly forbidden.

Whit and Whisty miss their old lives and their parents. After being found guilty of their crimes they are sent to a deserted mental institution. Now armed only with two items their parents have given them, they have to wait for their sentence of death to be carried out. In this crazy new world, they try to make sense of what is going on. But time is running out. They have to find the powers within them in order to save not only their selves but others around them.

This fast paced action packed story is sure to appeal to fans of James Pattersons other YA series The Maximum Ride novels. This is potato chip fiction at its best. The short chapters keep you wanting to know more. The futuristic society of N.O. is scary. It shows how quickly something you take for grantedin this case freedomscan be taken away. Whisty and Whils abilities arent shown right off the bat. Both have to find them with only the help of two objects their parents give them. I liked Whistys spunk even when things seemed to go against her. The different worlds they travel through are interesting too.

This is a fun new fantasy that is guaranteed to have readers cheering for two new heroes in a future that might be our own.



Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Not Very Memorable
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Nana

It is clear that things are different in Wisty and Whit Allgood's world. The story starts with the two of them being kidnapped by The New Order on account of both of them having magic powers, which neither of them knew about. Our villain, The One Who is The One, whisks them away to be put on trial and eventually hanged. Because The One Who is the One controls every aspect of the country, even if the siblings escape, they still aren't safe.

The over-arching plot of Witch and Wizard
is unique, generating ideas as to what life would be like if events
similar to the Salem Witch Trials happened in our modern-day society.
That being said, James Patterson's idea was new and exciting, but the
book falls flat of expectations. The chapters are usually only a couple pages long with large font, and they constantly change from Wisty and Whit's points of view. I wouldn't mind this, only the change is completely random. There may be a long string of chapters narrated by Wisty and then one narrated by Whit, or vice-versa at any point in time depending on whose point of view would be most convinent to describe the scene. This is very off-putting.

Wisty and Whit themselves are bland at best, having no real personality to speak of. Wisty, age 14, is your average "rebellious" character with your average hobby of, well, pyromania. Most times her common sense suffers on account of her attitude. While this would usually define a character, in this story, she comes across as plain unintelligent. Her brother Whit, age 17, is only slightly more like-able and even less dynamic.

The plot is all over the place. While starting at the end of the book and moving backward works well in some places, the book is so short that it winds up leaving the reader confused. Things happen spontaneously with no real explanation, barely leaving you with any time to think about what happened before another event strikes. The villain, The One Who is the One, seems like a watered-down version of Lord Voldemort from the Harry Potter series combined with a good-natured uncle. He manages to be a little bit frightening, but not enough to be a truly good villain. His motives are so ambiguous that it's impossible to understand the point of what he does at all, and no clues are given in this book.

By this point, you might be asking why I gave it a three-star rating if I thought it had no redeeming qualities. This book didn't appeal to me in the least, but pre-teens may enjoy this book as a fast-paced adventure full of secrets and magic. It's short and can be finished quickly, and the poorly-developed characters might not bother some people. I don't recommend this book to anyone above the age of 15, nor to anyone below the age of 9 or 10. 



Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."