The Princess and the Bear

 
0.0
 
2.5 (2)
1020 0
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
ISBN
9780061553141
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Fairy tales anew
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kristen

I fell in love with the first book - The Princess and the Hound and was
very surprised by this sequel/companion novel. This book really is more
of a companion novel in the sense that it focuses on two characters
from the first book, but not the main characters. We have the bear that
used to be a human king and a hound that was a princess for a long time
and is now in her original form as a hound.

These books involve
animal magic, but this one focuses straight in on it. With the fairy
tale ending of the first book, I really didn't expect any more stories
from this realm. The basic plot is that the hound and bear are living
in the forest, animal magic is still unaccepted, so they rarely see
their old companions. They find a cat man in the forest who is
literally sucking the life out of everything around him and enjoying
it. Unmagic is what they call it. They end up on a journey to see the
wild man that turned the prince into the bear for he is their only hope
on saving the magical creatures of the forest as well as the rest of
the land.

I found myself really enjoying this book. It was a
great difference from the usual sequel in that it has further plot, not
everything was happily ever after - after all - and it veers into that
course, blossoming a different kind of a romance and characters that
are abnormal and interesting. I stayed up late last night to finish it,
because I was enjoying it so much. I recommend both of these books to
lovers of fairy tales.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
animal magic part 2
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by stephanie

Let's just say, WAY better than Princess and the Hound. The plot's more intruging, the writing style is tons better and the characters are more alive.

Like I said, the plot is definitely better and I love how Mette gives us perspectives from the animals - the Hound and then the Bear so we could delve deeper into their minds. I also loved the idea of time traveling and though it didn't happen as fast as I thought it would, at least it didn't take too long for the plot to actually begin.

The wild man is one of those extraneous character but he still played a vital role because he was the one who allowed the Hound and the Bear to time travel back in time. It was also amusing how at the last moment, before they entered the time warp, that he randomly asked the Hound if she wanted to be a woman or a hound. It seemed to be that it would've been better if he told her ahead of time...oh well. It's just one of those things.

The characters were more alive, like I said. They definitely had more emotion and character. Even though the Hound's way of doing things were a bit rough, I liked her thinking and her way of solving a problem. Seems very straightforward instead of the typical roundabout ways that we humans think.

The writing style improved. Better flow and just better in general.

Overall, Princess and the Bear made Princess and the Hound worth it. :)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."