Rampant (Killer Unicorns #1)

 
0.0
 
3.7 (3)
1388 0
Rampant (Killer Unicorns #1)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
August 25, 2009
ISBN
0061490008
Buy This Book
      
Forget everything you ever knew about unicorns...

Real unicorns are venomous, man-eating monsters with huge fangs and razor-sharp horns. Fortunately, they've been extinct for a hundred and fifty years.

Or not.

Astrid had always scoffed at her eccentric mother's stories about killer unicorns. But when one of the monsters attacks her boyfriend—thereby ruining any chance of him taking her to the prom—Astrid finds herself headed to Rome to train as a unicorn hunter at the ancient cloisters the hunters have used for centuries.

However, at the cloisters all is not what it seems. Outside, the unicorns wait to attack. And within, Astrid faces other, unexpected threats: from the crumbling, bone-covered walls that vibrate with a terrible power to the hidden agendas of her fellow hunters to—perhaps most dangerously of all—her growing attraction to a handsome art student ... an attraction that could jeopardize everything.

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (3)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Surprisingly Fascinating
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
It seems I am saying this a lot about books that I have put off reading for a long time, but this book was a lot better than I thought it would be! The main character was great, strong without seeming unrealistic and it was really interesting to read about her developing as a unicorn hunter. Giovanni was also a great male lead, he was sweet but not perfect, which is refreshing to read about. And even better there was no love triangle! Yay! I am so tired of love triangles in nearly every book, this one broke the mold and I loved it for that reason. I Another thing I absolutely loved was the creation of these bloodthirsty unicorns and the virgin hunters that kill them, it was very well thought out and intriguing, I could totally see it being real(if only a real myth lol). In fact the only complaint I really have is that there were too many characters introduced too quickly and not really given any time to develop. I recognized the names but had trouble pinpointing them to the personality at times, though as the book went on I got better at it, still I would have preferred either less characters or more development. Or even just an easy to find list of the characters to help me keep them straight. All in all though I really enjoyed the book, especially the action, which there was plenty of and the action was detailed and exciting which was even better.

Favorite Character: Bonegrinder.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
On hunting unicorns and liking boys
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by quirky fate press

This is a coming of age narrative with a twist. Instead of dealing with the usual issues of bullies, exams, and teenage hormones, Astrid must make the almost impossible decision of how she will live the rest of her life. 


I thought the author dealt very well with fleshing out Astrid's character and the issues she faces. We are able to gain a descriptive insight into Astrid's thoughts and emotions, as well as see a progression in her maturity. The reader is able to understand the motives and reasoning behind Astrid's decisions. 


I also enjoyed the world that the author created. Typically, unicorns are portrayed as creatures of goodness and powerful magic. We know that their weakness is virgin girls. However, in this novel we enter a world where unicorns are bloodthirsty creatures who prey on humans. 


There were some parts of the novel that I did not enjoy. For one, I felt that the romance between Astrid and Giovanni was not well developed. Not only do they not have enough interaction, but it seems unrealistic that Giovanni would be interested in someone so young. Lastly, apart from the opportunity of escape that he presents, Giovanni doesn't really seem to have a purpose. 


In addition, I felt that the betrayal and experience that Astrid's cousin, Phil, undergoes is out of place in the novel. It seems as if the author was trying to get across a message to young girls, but that it was not well meshed with the story. 


Overall, I did like this book. I admired Astrid's strength and the empowerment of all the girls in the story. I also thought that the writing style of the author really grips the reader and pulls them into the action. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
READ IT NOW!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Yan

Move over My Little Pony someone has come to take your placeBonegrinder (lovely name isnt it?). Killer unicorns has yet to ever cross my mind until this book popped up so kudos to Diana for creating an addictive, originally, enthralling, super awesome book. From page one to page I WANT MORE! I was captivated by the gruesome bloody battles, cute exchange students, and shiny claymores.

I love the basic background work, the information, the past, the historythey blended together to give the reader a cushion for the fast paced action. The combination of different ethnicities of warriors gave a small insight various cultures and how everyone has a common ground.

I thought it was brilliant of the author to add some twists especially with Astrids cousin and the whole virginity issue. The whole conspiracy, the underground mission, the deceiver and ohhhhh so very good!

The battles scenes vivid, imaginative, gory, and lots of weaponsvery shiny weapons! It was also nice to see some of the training beforehand as to prevent the same ol same ol perfect without help warriors.

One thing that I happen to not like (with a passion) was the ending and the mother. The mother flipped flopped too much for me.  The ending was very abrupt and left some things missing.Sequel where forth art thou!?

Okay I give up, this review does not do the book justice.

Overall: READ IT NOW!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."