Sloane Sisters

 
0.0
 
3.5 (2)
1716 0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0061175765
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
A Nicer Version of "Gossip Girl"
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Iryna

Style. Sabotage. Sisterhood.

When Cate and
Andie Sloane's Upper East Side dad met Stella and Lola Childs's
British-model mom, nobody thought a transatlantic relationship would
last. But then their parents drop the M-bombmarriageand it looks like
Cate, Andie, Stella, and Lola are going to be one big happy family.
Well, big anyway. Meet:

Cate Sloane: She dominates the ninth
grade at exclusive Ashton Prep. Tantrum-prone and competitive, Cate
would rather wear Laura Ashley every day than be second best at
anything. Luckily there's not a rival in sight. Yet.

Andie
Sloane: Twelve-year-old Andie desperately wants to walk the runway. Her
face is flawless, and boys flock to her like love-struck sheep. There's
just one leetle problem: She's only 4' 11". But with a new supermodel
stepmom, she'll be voguing in no time. Right?

Stella Childs:
With her take-charge attitude and a closet full of supermodel swag,
Stella was the It Girl at her London middle school. She's determined to
rule Ashton Prepeven if that means dethroning the current queen bee.
Can you say British Invasion?

Lola Childs: London boys called
gawky Lola "Sticks," but she's got a new mission in Manhattan:
boyfriend or bust! With the help of her boy-magnet stepsister, Lola
sets her sights on supercute Kyle Lewis. Too bad Kyle's only got eyes
for . . . Andie.

Alright, alright - you've got me. I've never admitted this on my blog before, but I really like The Clique series, and even though I haven't read it, I'd probably like the Gossip Girl
series too. It's not because I like girls calling the B-word behinds
each others backs, but it's more because I love reading about all of
the predicaments the girls find themselves in, all because they want to
be popular and for people to like them. That's probably why I didn't
find it hard to pick this book up, but believe me when I say this novel
has more to it then it seems.

Sloane Sisters
starts off with a very interesting introduction. In interesting, I mean
kind of shocking. Anna Carey wrote it so that we get the basic facts we
need in a crisp voice that got to the point, but she also wrote it in a
way that told us "People, anything can and will happen." And that it did.

I found that, unlike characters from other Gossip Girl
type books, the main characters in this novel actually seemed to have a
valid reason for doing what they did. Sort of. While Cate and Stella
spent most of the book fighting to "rule the school" which I found
quite pointless, Lola's urge to find friends and get her crush to
notice her felt real and true. Andie's dream of proving her older
sister, Cate, wrong by pursuing in modeling did not seem led by
jealousy (at least, not much) but it was more . . . inspiring.

In Sloane Sisters the author used lots of neat phrases like, "she finger-combed Lola's wind-knotted waves" and "she gathered her hair together at the nape of her neck in a ponytail"
(notice how they're both about hair? *smiles*) that I find people do
all the time in real life, but authors rarely put these common tid-bits
in books. Well, unless it's just me. But it's not me . . . right?

The
point is, Anna Carey's debut novel is an entertaining, quick read that
can't hurt to take out from the library. They don't even swear! Yes,
the ending does become clear two-thirds into this book, but it's still
fun to read all the same. My only complaint? At the very, very end when
Carey dedicates a page hinting to what the next book is about, she
takes a Gossip Girl approach to the book and, I think, kind
of dampens the happy feeling you just got from the ending.


Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
clique-wannabe
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by stephanie

Sloane Sisters was like a Clique-wannabe. Geared more towards the Middle Grade then YA.

What I liked best about this book and the upcoming series are the catfights. Who doesnt love a good catfight? I liked the competition and the heated arguments between Stella and Cate. Like the Clique series, they bounce between the words friends and enemies.

Andie and Lola, both cast off from their older siblings, are girls that I sympathize with. Seriously. They did absolutely nothing wrong yet their older siblings aka Cate and Stella are determined to think of them as losers and freaks. I actually like them better than Cate and Stella because they are more lovable. Sure, theyre a bit weird especially Lola and her fat ass cat but theyre cute.

Cate and Stella. Hmm, what should I say? They are like Mads&(Madison? Clique series main top girl) copies. They are both obsessed with designer clothing and material belongings. At first, they bond because of their common passion for clothing but when they both realize that they are a threat to each other due to their need for being the top dog, they get down and start getting messy.

There are definitely some variations in the Sloane Sisters compared to the Clique series such as: four girls becoming sisters, 2 queen bees, and 2 geeky sisters. However, there are also a ton of similarities: the catfights, the competition for LOTS of things, a loser (or two), etc. etc. As you can see, I personally thought the Sloane Sisters was basically a copycat of the Clique series. So if you enjoyed that, then check this series out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."