The ABC's of Kissing Boys

 
5.0
 
4.0 (3)
2116 0
The ABC's of Kissing Boys
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 13, 2009
ISBN
0385735820
Buy This Book
      
Parker Stanhope has played soccer practically since she could walk. And now that she’s a high school junior, everything she’s worked for is finally coming together. She’s paid her dues on the field, and as an upperclassman, she’s a shoo-in for the varsity team. But that’s not what happens.

This year, Coach Hartley moved up every JV player but two—and one of those two was Parker. Now, she’s stuck with the freshmen, her friends are cutting her loose, and her love of the game is seriously beginning to fail. But Parker is determined to get her life back. She has to get on the varsity team, and she has the perfect plan. All she needs now is the right kind of coach.

Tina Ferraro lives in southern California. You can visit her online at www.tinaferraro.com.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Pucker Up
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

The fates have aligned against Parker Stanhope, or at least the varsity soccer coach has. After kicking butt on JV for two years, Parker is positive shell be moving on up - but she doesnt. Not only has she lost her spot on the team; shes losing her friends, too. JV and Varsity dont mix.


Parker, her genius brother, and his best friend come up with a crazy plan that just might get her spot on varsity back. All she needs is some kissing expertise to make it look legit. Problem is, its one area in which shes not had a lot of practice.


She certainly didnt expect to find a tutor in the cute freshman boy who lives next door, especially since their fathers are practically engaged in World War III. And she never expected that she wouldnt want the lessons to be over.


The ABCs of Kissing Boys by Tina Ferraro is a fun read, perfect for the beach or an afternoon in a hammock. Rooting for Parker is easy, and the journey to the finale is one the reader will be engaged in from the very first page. Highly recommended!

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

3 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Not the best, but sweet. :)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by GirlwiththeBraids

Parker has everything: popularity, friends, style, and now shes a junior in high school. Sixteen is the age when youre supposed to be having the time of your life but how humiliating would it be if you found out youre stuck on the freshman soccer team? Parker hatches a plan to get on the varsity team where her friends are but its complicated and she needs a boy & to teach her how to kiss. When her so-called best friend discovers Parker kissing a freshman, rumors start to spread. Parker finally gets to see her friends from the outside, the way others do, and its not pretty. Now she has to decide where she truly belongs: with the popular crowd or in the arms of the loveable freshman boy across the street.

The ABCs of Kissing Boys was sweet and enjoyable. Though the moral of the story is a little messy and not the easiest to understand at first, the author never strayed from the plot. The romance seemed so real and I couldnt help but smile at the predictability of the ending. This book has the potential to be a great film! Author Tina Ferraros writing isnt the best Ive read but it was new and different. Have you ever read a book where the girl falls for a younger boy? The narration actually felt like it was coming from a teenage girl. I rated it a 4 was because I couldnt feel any sympathy toward the main character for the situation she was in. Overall, I learned a lot from The ABCs of Kissing Boys. *wink, wink*

For more reviews, visit my blog ReadingtoMyself.blogspot.com! :)


Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
good book
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by katherine

The ABC's of Kissing Boys was actually a pretty all right book. At first, when i saw the book, i thought it wasn't going to be interesting. Then, i read a couple of pages, so of course you know I was kind of wrong.
It was kind of full of surprises, yet kind of predictable. I would actually recommend this book to whomever wants a good easy reading book. You should definately check it out.


Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Both Cute And Sad
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by TheBookworm


Both Cute And Sad


The ABCs of Kissing Boys


By Tina Ferraro


Pub. Date: January 2009


4 out of 5 stars


PG- Graphic Kissing or you could call it some serious spit swapping


Recommended


Parker is crushed when she is forced to stay in JV soccer. As a Junior, there is nothing more embarrassing. Well, maybe being dumped by your popular friends and treated like dirt is worse. With the help of her brother, she hatches the slyest, most public plan to gain a spot on Varsity and get her old life back. It all hinges on one simple thing, a kiss. Only problem& Parker doesnt have the kissing knowledge needed. Starbursts and cherries bring her and the Freshman Murphy kid from next door together. Her new kissing instructor grows closer to her, and deep down she sadly knows it could never work. But she cant help but grow fonder and fonder of his calm voice and enchanting blue eyes. His lessons were suppose to be her ticket back to the good life, but will they rather be her downfall?


The ABCs of Kissing Boys was both cute and sad. The plot is deceivingly straightforward. Underneath it though are intricate high school politics that depend on variable emotions.


The storys plausibility made it amazingly real. The emotional roller coasters, gossip speed, hidden politics, sly insults, repentance and forgiveness, the putting off of decision making, and the ongoing internal struggle to do what is right were all present and credible in the different characters. I felt like I should know them from somewhere. This realness effectively had me going through the same emotions as Parker and I grew very attached to her.


The kissing scenes between Parker and Tristan were very intimate and silly though it was, I always blushed and did a quick sweep of the room. Their vulnerability and closeness gave me a slightly guilty feeling for seeing it, but I never felt dirty while reading.


The ABCs of Kissing Boys would be a great filler for in between books or great for car travel. This book will delight both tweens and teens.


Date Reviewed: April 19th, 2009

For more book reviews and book information check out my blog at www.inthecurrent.blogspot.com

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."