The ABC's of Kissing Boys

 
5.0
 
4.0 (3)
2342 0
The ABC's of Kissing Boys
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 13, 2009
ISBN
0385735820
Buy This Book
      
Parker Stanhope has played soccer practically since she could walk. And now that she’s a high school junior, everything she’s worked for is finally coming together. She’s paid her dues on the field, and as an upperclassman, she’s a shoo-in for the varsity team. But that’s not what happens.

This year, Coach Hartley moved up every JV player but two—and one of those two was Parker. Now, she’s stuck with the freshmen, her friends are cutting her loose, and her love of the game is seriously beginning to fail. But Parker is determined to get her life back. She has to get on the varsity team, and she has the perfect plan. All she needs now is the right kind of coach.

Tina Ferraro lives in southern California. You can visit her online at www.tinaferraro.com.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Pucker Up
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

The fates have aligned against Parker Stanhope, or at least the varsity soccer coach has. After kicking butt on JV for two years, Parker is positive shell be moving on up - but she doesnt. Not only has she lost her spot on the team; shes losing her friends, too. JV and Varsity dont mix.


Parker, her genius brother, and his best friend come up with a crazy plan that just might get her spot on varsity back. All she needs is some kissing expertise to make it look legit. Problem is, its one area in which shes not had a lot of practice.


She certainly didnt expect to find a tutor in the cute freshman boy who lives next door, especially since their fathers are practically engaged in World War III. And she never expected that she wouldnt want the lessons to be over.


The ABCs of Kissing Boys by Tina Ferraro is a fun read, perfect for the beach or an afternoon in a hammock. Rooting for Parker is easy, and the journey to the finale is one the reader will be engaged in from the very first page. Highly recommended!

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

3 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Not the best, but sweet. :)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by GirlwiththeBraids

Parker has everything: popularity, friends, style, and now shes a junior in high school. Sixteen is the age when youre supposed to be having the time of your life but how humiliating would it be if you found out youre stuck on the freshman soccer team? Parker hatches a plan to get on the varsity team where her friends are but its complicated and she needs a boy & to teach her how to kiss. When her so-called best friend discovers Parker kissing a freshman, rumors start to spread. Parker finally gets to see her friends from the outside, the way others do, and its not pretty. Now she has to decide where she truly belongs: with the popular crowd or in the arms of the loveable freshman boy across the street.

The ABCs of Kissing Boys was sweet and enjoyable. Though the moral of the story is a little messy and not the easiest to understand at first, the author never strayed from the plot. The romance seemed so real and I couldnt help but smile at the predictability of the ending. This book has the potential to be a great film! Author Tina Ferraros writing isnt the best Ive read but it was new and different. Have you ever read a book where the girl falls for a younger boy? The narration actually felt like it was coming from a teenage girl. I rated it a 4 was because I couldnt feel any sympathy toward the main character for the situation she was in. Overall, I learned a lot from The ABCs of Kissing Boys. *wink, wink*

For more reviews, visit my blog ReadingtoMyself.blogspot.com! :)


Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
good book
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by katherine

The ABC's of Kissing Boys was actually a pretty all right book. At first, when i saw the book, i thought it wasn't going to be interesting. Then, i read a couple of pages, so of course you know I was kind of wrong.
It was kind of full of surprises, yet kind of predictable. I would actually recommend this book to whomever wants a good easy reading book. You should definately check it out.


Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Both Cute And Sad
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by TheBookworm


Both Cute And Sad


The ABCs of Kissing Boys


By Tina Ferraro


Pub. Date: January 2009


4 out of 5 stars


PG- Graphic Kissing or you could call it some serious spit swapping


Recommended


Parker is crushed when she is forced to stay in JV soccer. As a Junior, there is nothing more embarrassing. Well, maybe being dumped by your popular friends and treated like dirt is worse. With the help of her brother, she hatches the slyest, most public plan to gain a spot on Varsity and get her old life back. It all hinges on one simple thing, a kiss. Only problem& Parker doesnt have the kissing knowledge needed. Starbursts and cherries bring her and the Freshman Murphy kid from next door together. Her new kissing instructor grows closer to her, and deep down she sadly knows it could never work. But she cant help but grow fonder and fonder of his calm voice and enchanting blue eyes. His lessons were suppose to be her ticket back to the good life, but will they rather be her downfall?


The ABCs of Kissing Boys was both cute and sad. The plot is deceivingly straightforward. Underneath it though are intricate high school politics that depend on variable emotions.


The storys plausibility made it amazingly real. The emotional roller coasters, gossip speed, hidden politics, sly insults, repentance and forgiveness, the putting off of decision making, and the ongoing internal struggle to do what is right were all present and credible in the different characters. I felt like I should know them from somewhere. This realness effectively had me going through the same emotions as Parker and I grew very attached to her.


The kissing scenes between Parker and Tristan were very intimate and silly though it was, I always blushed and did a quick sweep of the room. Their vulnerability and closeness gave me a slightly guilty feeling for seeing it, but I never felt dirty while reading.


The ABCs of Kissing Boys would be a great filler for in between books or great for car travel. This book will delight both tweens and teens.


Date Reviewed: April 19th, 2009

For more book reviews and book information check out my blog at www.inthecurrent.blogspot.com

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
"What worked: I loved this engaging, heart-felt story with one strong Chicanx protagonist. Think I'M NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.3
"ALL OUR HIDDEN GIFTS was a riveting and darkly captivating YA fantasy/thriller/horror read. Maeve is a teen girl and not..."
The Lost Girls
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Outsiders
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
For the Wolf (The Wilderwood, #1)
 
4.7
"FOR THE WOLF is a captivating fantasy read that sweeps the reader away to the Wilderwood. Redarys (Red) is the..."
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
"Simone's Haitian immigrant parents are very strict; she and her sister Anne have to go to an all girls school..."
Chasing Lucky
 
4.3
"Josie Saint-Martin and her mother have lived an itinerant lifestyle ever since they left the small Rhode Island seaside town..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
"Curse of the Specter Queen by Jenny Elder Moke is Indiana Jones meets The Mummy (1999) and encompasses everything I..."
The Heartbreak Bakery
 
4.7
"Seventeen-year-old agender Syd loves baking, but when her brownies set off a string of breakups-including her own-she comes up with..."