The Miracle Girls (Miracle Girls #1)

 
0.0
 
3.5 (2)
1156 0
The Miracle Girls (Miracle Girls #1)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 08, 2008
ISBN
9780446407557
Buy This Book
      
Ana Dominguez was happy in San Jose, but everything changed when her dad moved the family to Half Moon Bay, California, to open a law practice. Her parents think she's settling into her new school nicely, but she has them fooled. Riley, the most popular girl in school, has picked Ana as enemy #1, and Tyler, Ana's crush, doesn't even know Ana exists.
When Ana ends up in detention with Riley, her life suddenly changes. When Ana, Riley, Christine, and Zoe share their essays on "The Day My Life Changed," it turns out they have more in common than they ever would have imagined. Now as Ana lives out her faith, she and Zoe are determined to befriend Riley and Christine. But the drama of high school life has only just begun. . . .

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Fun & Lighthearted
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Katie

I would describe The Miracle Girls as being an 'okay' book. I can't put
my finger on what was wrong with it exactly, but it just didn't grab my
attention. I simply wasn't a fan of Ana's voice. The characters were
likeable but not highly original. I thought the plot was strikingly
similar to that of It's All About Me by Shelley Adina. They both take
place in California and the girls have similar experiences.

It
was interesting, however, that all the girls had lived through
situations where they should have died. A good basis for an intriguing
plot, but I didn't like where the authors took the story from there.
There were a few good plot twists but not nearly enough. I have to
admit that there was more than one boring moment. This novel was not
something I would want to read again and again but it was entertaining
at the time.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Really Good Book Which I Suggest To Any YA Reader
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by TheBookworm

Really Good Book Which I Suggest To Any YA Reader

Miracle Girls by Anne Dayton and May Vanderbilt*
Publication Date: September 2008
4 out of 5 stars

Ana Dominguez thinks her life has hit an all time low. Her family has just moved to a new town, her new school is extremely lenitant towards jocks and cheerleaders, she has no friends, she accidentally gets herself dubbed God Girl, her parents are really strict, Maria who is like a second mom to Ana has just been diagnosed with Lupus, her crush Tyler doesnt know she exists, the most popular girl in school has picked her as her #1 enemy, AND& she has just been given detention for the first time.

At least she isnt the only one, Riley and two other classmates - Christine and Zoe - are also in detention. When they are made to share their papers, no of them are prepared for what they discover. Ana and Zoe are now determined to befriend Riley and Christine. But these potentially friends arent making it easy&

From the beginning you liked Ana and felt bad and/or embarrassed with her from that point on. She was realistic, not to dramatic, she could feel embarrassment and shame, and she was just another human being like us.

I found myself really wishing Ana would figure out that Dave was the right guy, not Tyler. The authors made Dave a great character, who totally embraced his own quirkiness and his ability to have fun. A completely awesome guy who I was happy to read ended up with the right girl (wont tell you which girl, you have to read the book!).

This book was a little confusing in places. Some of the sentences felt like they were written backwards, not quite making sense. And also, the book only skimmed the top layer of the thoughts, matters, and relationships instead of going in depth with some of these really important events. I believe this book would have benefited greatly if these deep matters were dealt with, instead of ending abruptly with only the wrapper peeled off.

Even though the book could have been deeper, easier to understand, and described a little more thoroughly, I really enjoyed reading this book and I suggest it to any YA reader.

Date Reviewed: September 24th, 2008

*This book was provided by Book Divas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"The descriptions of Parkour are entertaining and opened my eyes to a new discipline that I was scarcely aware of..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
5.0
"DRAGON REBELLION opens up with Jian and Hua taking refuge in Hua's family farm, but she hasn't awoken since she..."
Chosen (Gem Creek Bears, Book 1)
 
4.3
"When Tris escapes from being kidnapped by her boyfriend Corbin, she does the only logical thing. She gets the heck..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I enjoyed this book immensely. As with all of her books, Pam Withers masterfully builds up the characters and skilfully..."
Inebriated
 
5.0
"'Inebriated' by Katey Taylor is a hauntingly real look at the power of intoxication, whether it be in the form..."
The Path We Take
 
4.0
"'The Path We Take' by Kylie Key shows how the choices we make and the things we think we want..."
Outlawed
 
4.5
"The story: When her father forces her to travel back in time to correct the mistake he made, Maryanne..."