The Fruit of My Lipstick (All About Us #2)

 
0.0
 
4.0 (2)
1378 1
The Fruit of My Lipstick (All About Us #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 11, 2008
ISBN
9780446177979
Buy This Book
      
New Yorker Gillian Chang starts her second term at posh SpencerAcademy boarding school in San Francisco prepared to focus on her studies, her faith, and her friends. She plays a dozen musical instruments and can recite the periodic table of the elements backward. She's totally prepared for everything--except love!

She's falling hard for Lucas Hayes, who isn't even a senior yet and is already aiming at a Ph.D. in physics from Stanford. The problem is, she never seems to be able to measure up and be the girlfriend he wants. He's under a lot of pressure from his parents to achieve--maybe that's why he's short-tempered sometimes. But even a thick-skinned girl like Gillian can only take so much.

With her heart on the line, Gillian conceals more and more from her friends. So when she's accused of selling exam answer sheets, even her girlfriends, Lissa Mansfield and Carly Aragon, wonder if it can be true. Gillian will need the power of honesty--with herself and with Lucas--to show what she's really made of.

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Story with a Message
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by the book muncher

Normally, all that Gillian Chang has to worry about is making sure her grades are absolutely perfect. This generally isnt a problem because Gillian is extremely intelligent, but pressure from her strict parents can get a little tough at times. The last thing Gillian wants to worry about is a guy, particularly after the fiasco Gillians best friend Lissa got involved with last term. But then again, love, or at least like, is not something Gillian can prepare forespecially when she finds herself falling for the only other person whos possibly smarter than she is, Lucas Hayes. But is Lucas really the golden boy Gillian thinks he is? Only time will tell, and Gillian is going to have to believe in herself, her friends, and her faith is shes going to survive this term at Spencer Academy.

The Fruit of My Lipstick was a well-written story about friendship and dealing with boys, with a little bit of religion mixed in. Some readers may be wary of reading this series because of the inclusion of religion, but in reality, the Christian faith is more of a healthy influence on Gillian and her friends morals. I definitely would not consider this book or its prequel Its All About Us preachy in any way. The storyline and the characters in this novel are very believable, which makes it easy to relate to Gillian and her friends various situations or at least sympathize with them. The plot was a little slow towards the beginning, but it picked up towards the middle with the addition of a school scandal. The Fruit of My Lipstick is a fun yet sincere novel with a positive message that all teen girls can relate to and enjoy.

The Fruit of My Lipstick is the second novel in Adinas Its All About Us series, but the story can stand alone. I look forward to the third installment in this series, Be Strong and Curvaceous, and I recommend both Its All About Us and The Fruit of My Lipstick to anyone looking for a much more mild form of Gossip Girl with actual depth and meaning.

reposted from http://thebookmuncher.blogspot.com
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Clumsy and Unfocused
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by TheBookworm

Clumsy and Unfocused

the fruit of my lipstick: all about us book two by Shelley Adina*
3 ½ out of 5 stars

Gillian Chang is back at Spencer Academy Boarding School in San Francisco for her second term. The joy of meeting her friends again helps her forget the immense stress she is under to be perfect for awhile.

What can be better than being surrounded by Christian friends? Having a Christian boyfriend. Lucas Hayes, brilliant at physics, member of their prayer group, and hot. Who wouldnt fall for him? The longer they are in a relationship, the more Gillian gets knocked down by Lucas. She is being supportive, thinking of him before herself, and even trying to help him study. But all she gets in return are snobbish remarks and comments about how beautiful Vanessa is. A girl, even as thick-skinned as Gillian, can only take so much.

Gillian is becoming more and more stressed. Her parents expect high grades, if not perfection on her exams, her boyfriend is hurting her, she is constantly in a fight with her friends, and now the whole junior class is in danger of failing all the exams because someone is selling the answers. While Gillian is trying to discover the culprit, she herself is accused. Will Gillian be able to defeat all her personal demons, ace the exams, fix broken relationships, and hold unto the one thing that matters most, her faith?

I had to create a whole new number grade for this book, 3 ½ stars. The reason being the beginning of the book scored 3 and the ending scored 4. The beginning was very confusing. The storyline was all over the place and didnt stay focused on one topic long enough to be understood. I havent read the first book in this series, so in many places I was at a total lost.

I just couldnt believe that Gillian could like someone like Lucas Hayes. It was totally obvious from the first page that he was a jerk. Her liking him then dating him just made me not like her. Then the way she treated her friends just backed up my opinion of her.

If there wasnt some really good minor characters, I doubt I would even rate this book this high. The only characters I liked were Jeremy and Shani. And unfortunately, they only had a few lines, but there actions are what stood out.

The fruit of my lipstick was clumsy, unfocused, and with a majority of unlikable characters.

Date Reviewed: September 7th, 2008

*This book was provided by Book Divas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."