The Blonde of the Joke

 
0.0
 
4.3 (3)
903 0
The Blonde of the Joke
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 02, 2008
ISBN
0061255602
Buy This Book
      
"There are three and only three rules for shoplifting," Francie instructed me.

From the very first day Val meets the outrageously blond Francie, she realizes that Francie has the gutsy courage and determination Val has always envied. But Francie sees something in Val too--something that Val's never noticed. "You've got that sneaky thing about you," she says. "I bet you have a dark past."

And just like that, the blonde and the brunette become partners in crime.

Thanks to Francie, Val is suddenly taking risks, taking charge, and taking what she deserves. But as the stakes get higher, Francie and Val find themselves more and more tangled in a thrilling web of love, lies, and shoplifting. Soon it becomes clear that the darkest secrets have yet to be discovered. . . .

User reviews

3 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
"Certain things will turn your hair gold."
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kayla (Midnight Twilight)

Val's life changes forever when Francie--a big-haired self proclaimed "slutty" blond-- walks into her physics class. Francie decides to befriend Val and steals a dress for her. Shoplifting then bonds them, it's what they do. They steal everything from liquid eyeliner to a swarovski crystal unicorn. But is their friendship strained from all of the crime and secrets. All this happens while Val's brother is dying, no one seems to know why; and Francie has a dark secret hidden from everyone, including Val. But how will this blonde joke end?

This book is written differently than most books, it was written with a one track focus. It only had the elements needed to make the story continue and end the way it was intended. Most of the story was based on the shoplifting and things directly related to the shoplifting. But it seemed to fit this story, it made it flow very well. This was a very nicely written book. It was very funny and had an interesting plot with lots of twists. I do think it would have been better with more details, but i did like it as a fun short read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A blonde and brunette walk into a mall...
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Khy

Val used to have friends- really. But first one and the another moved, and soon she felt herself begin to fade away. That's when Francie Knight happened. Francie is that kind of girl. It's always the blonde, isn't it? The minute Francie calls Val's name at the mall-zing- Val has a near-life experience. She knows nothing will ever be the same.

Francie says that at the mall, you don't steal because you want it. You steal because it's yours already. When Francie happened was the moment Val had been afraid of. The moment she stopped being good- and started taking what she deserves.

---

Hmm. This is another one of those reviews where I don't know how to start. So, list of things here I come.

1. First good thing would be the plotline. Original, I would say. I've never read many books about shoplifting, but I may have to find some more after reading this. I liked it.
2. For some reason, I really really liked the first few paragraphs of the book. It talks about jokes and how people always laugh at the wrong time, and I just really liked it. The stuff about how people laugh at the wrong time is mildly thought provoking.
3. The book is funny, but not in a "Hahaha" way. It's more of a dark, sarcastic kind of funny.
4. Characters= irritating and highly unlikeable. They were well developed and all, but they were just so annoying. Francie is a lying, stealing, and almost arrogant person, which is never a good combination. Val seems to be a much better person and you feel sorry for her when she wallows in her self pity, but that pity is pretty much gone once she becomes a shoplifter like Francie. And in the end, she's twice as bad as Francie was.

Despite hating the characters, I enjoyed the book. I definitely think people would like it, so you should all check it out when it's released in September.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Nothing Gold Can Stay
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by the book muncher

Before Francie Knight comes along, Valentina is pretty much a nothing. She has no more friends since they all moved away. Francie and Valentina seem to be total opposites; Francie is the big-haired blonde, the girl that catches everyones attention, but Val is the brunette, the quiet one that fades into the background. They would make the most unlikely duo. However, the day that Francie calls out Vals name in the mall, Val knows her life will never be the same. And it isnt. The two new friends team up to shoplift, a new skill for Val but an old one for Francie. According to Francie, they dont steal because they want something, but because it already belongs to them. But a talent for shoplifting and Francies unpredictable attitude change Val and leaves the reader thinking, who really is the blonde of the joke?

The Blonde of the Joke was a funny and impressive novel. Francie isnt completely likable because of all the lies she tells and just how she comes off as a jerk. As the novel progresses, though, cracks begin to show in her pretty mask, and Val begins to see that Francie really isnt such a great person. I didnt really like Val that much either. At first, she was a loner who basically pitied herself all the time; then she became slightly more likable when she became friends with Francie. However, in the end, Val turned out to be worse than Francie. Even though I didnt like the characters, I really loved the story. Throughout the novel, theres this constant wanting for more that both friends feel. Its so strong that it almost takes over their lives, but while one of the them learns that she cant depend on shoplifting, the other gets caught.

The Blonde of the Joke is actually pretty confusing, but one of the messages is pretty clear: sometimes, the only person you can depend on is yourself. I recommend this novel for people looking for a though-provoking read. The Blonde of the Joke will be released from HarperTeen in early September.

reposted from http://thebookmuncher.blogspot.com
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."