Violet in Private

 
0.0
 
4.8 (4)
1779 0
Age Range
14+

User reviews

4 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
the real violet
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by c-alexis


Once again, Melissa Walker has written an amazing book. I loved following Violet into college and her struggles as her modeling life and her personal life starts to clash. After all her experiences though, I expected her to be more mature with the whole not answering people's calls, but I guess it emphasizes just how lost and confused she can still be. She continued to be the role model that she was from the series, promoting a healthy image for younger girls. Despite her insecurities, she sticks to what she believes in and makes sound decisions about her beliefs. All it took was a little self-confidence and support from her old and new friends. It seems like the series has finally ended, but if Melissa Walker ever decided that there's more to Violet's story, I'll definitely be one of her supporting fans.

Reprinted here with author's permission.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Great book!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by ambeen

Violet is in college now and still struggling with being a model. I could relate with her in both aspects. No, I'm not a model (far from it), but I understood her feelings of obligation toward it but her hesitancy as well. The need to do right even if it doesn't make you completely happy.

That's what I liked best about Violet in Private, that I never felt like I couldn't relate to Violet. She didn't become one-dimensional or just another dumb model complaining that she was fat. I think Violet actually made me realize that even skinny girls do have body issues and that they're complaining about what seem to be non-existent problems to me are bigger issues to them. Maybe now when my tiny sister complains about her body next time I won't resent her quite as much. We'll see.

Melissa Walker produces a cast of colorful and unique characters. Each character had a little something special about them. They were all well developed and relatable. I was pleased that no one felt like they were there simply to fill space or move the plot forward. Even the gay best friend had more to his character than just being the fun gay best friend to a model.

Violet in Private is the first book I've read in the Violet series and enjoyed it very much. Even though I haven't read the first two in the series yet, I had no trouble following along. I think that the novel works well as a stand-alone and there is no confusion about past events or relationships. I look forward to reading the first two Violet books now that I've discovered the series, as well as any future sequels.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Another Amazing Violet book!!!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Bookluver-Carol

Violet Greenfield knows shes supposed to be a super-confident nineteen-year-old because shes done runway shows in New York and internationally. But now that shes finally headed to college, shes afraid shell turn back into that girl who blended into the walls in high school. Vassar is just two hours away from New York Cityher friends in fashion think shes crazy to stop modeling now. And her old friend Roger is there...but things have been weird ever since they kissed. The real question is if shes not going to be Violet on the Runway anymore...who is she?

Violet's back in this great third (but hopefully not final) Violet book. When we first saw her in Violet on the Runway she had a lot of body issues and a low self-esteem. Now in this third book Violet's embraced her body issues and she's learned to live with them. Violet was still herself even after all that she went through, she never changed.I loved Violet's new friends and they made me laugh.Some series after the first book get worse but this was not the case. This book was still as great as the first one. The plot was really good. I'm hoping that there will be a fourth book, I'm just not ready to let Violet go.Violet was still easy to relate to and this book was well-written.Melissa Walker is still an amazing writer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Violet - Victorious again!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by the book muncher

Venerable Violet is back again in another fashionable tale. This time, shes off to college after a deferred admission to Vassar. But even though she only wants to have a normal life now as she adjusts to college life and new outrageous but awesome friends, the fashion world is not far behind. Violet is still getting major criticism for gaining a few pounds, and she starts an internship at Teen Fashionista mainly because the magazine editor has always wanted a supermodel intern. In the midst of all this confusion about her self-image, modeling drama, and boy angst, Violet tries to find out who she really is.

I am a huge fan of Melissa Walkers first two Violet novels, and I was even more impressed with this amazing third. Violet is such a realistic character even though shes an international supermodel. She faces insecurities every day about her weight and her image, and even though she tries to overcome her wallflower tendencies, its very difficult for her to break out of her protective shell. Violet grows so much stronger in this novel, because she begins to love herself for who she is (and not in the way Mirabella Princes fake quote said) and stands for something that she truly believes in. Violets story is really inspiring; it makes you appreciate all the good things in life and want to tell everyone to love themselves.

For me, the best novels are the kind that can inspire emotions through well-developed characters in a story. Violet in Private is a fantastic example of this. Violet is just so real, and I felt myself experiencing all of Violets emotions through her story; when she was upset, I was too, and when she was depressed, I cried.

Melissa Walkers Violet series is a must-read for anyone who has insecurities. Theres fun, fashion, romance, friendship, and most of all, learning to love yourself. Violet in Private is my favorite of the Violet series, but I also highly recommend the first two, Violet on the Runway and Violet by Design.

reposted from http://thebookmuncher.blogspot.com
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."