The Legend of Mickey Tussler

 
0.0
 
3.4 (5)
1924 0
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
ISBN
0-312-38109-3
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

5 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.4
Plot 
 
3.2  (5)
Characters 
 
3.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Autistic Character Great Inspiration
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I enjoyed very much reading Mickey's story.
Good Points
I received The Legend of Mickey Tussler from the author for my honest review.

When I was first asked to read and review I was a little skeptical because although I do love baseball it’s not my favorite topic to read about all the time. But after reading the synopsis and learning about the main character Mickey who has autism but still wants to be a baseball store. His story is very inspiring.

We meet Mickey while he is still living on his farm with his mother and his abusive father. Immediately I felt sorry for him because people didn’t really understand autism back then so basically anyone that had it was just labeled a retard. This Is exactly what poor Mickey had to deal with everywhere even from his own father. But luckily coach for the Milwaukee Brewers Arthur Murphy comes along and gives Mickey the chance of a lifetime.

I ended up really enjoying this story. I loved Mickey’s character a lot. He was entertaining, always had something positive to say no matter what was going on. He was a very talkative person and I loved that, so it annoyed me when the people he was babbling to would get annoyed because he was just talking I mean he can’t really help it. But I think I got over that quickly because Mickey didn’t seem to mind much when people told him to shut up.

His mom, Molly is another person I felt bad for because she was stuck in a nightmare that she couldn’t get out of. She hated the fact that her husband abused her and Mickey both verbally and physically. She really needed a way out and thankfully baseball was her savior as well.

I was a little afraid that because this book is about baseball that some of the game scenes would bore me but they didn’t at all. Every time there was a game in the book I actually felt like I was watching one and I was on the edge of my chair every time there was a stressful game!

I very much enjoyed this book which I gave a 4 out of 5 stars, and I can’t wait to check out what happens next in the companion novel Sophomore Campaign.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
I didn't like this book
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
While this book is well-written, I didn't like it at all. It just wasn't my type of book. I didn't like any of the characters.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
I Loved It!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Bubba

I sort of agree with the other two kids who have read this book. I really like the main character Mickey. I thought he was interesting and not at all like some of the other characters I have read in school. I also really liked the way the author took baseball and combined it with some other things. It made the story really go fast and it never felt like I was reading a book. It was more like watching a movie or something like that.I think that kids who like sports will definitely like this book. I know I did. Maybe my school can include it on their Summer reading list. I wish we had to read more books like this one. Reading should be fun.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
The Best Book I Have Ever Read!
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Jamie

I am not one to read a ton of books. The truth is, I much prefer to talk on-line or watch movies. The few books I have read have been pretty much boring and not very interesting. The Legend of Mickey Tussler is neither of those things. From the very beginning of the story, I was captured by this amazing character Mickey and all of the things that happened to him while growing up on a farm. The boy's parents, especially his father, are not too helpful and so Mickey struggles alot. This reminds me of so many of my friends who have parents that just do not "get them." I was also amazed at the author's ability to make Mickey and all of the characters so life like. The baseball scenes were cool, and the writing just sort of flowed. I was done with the book in record time -- 3 days. That has never happened before. I think thjis is the sort of book that should be read in schools. It teaches you about tolerating others who are different and shows kids that reading can be fun!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Great Book!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Brett

Imagine being a 17 year old autistic boy living in the 1940's with a horribly abusive father and no friends or school to attend. Now imagine that you have this amazing throwing arm, but nobody knows about it until one day, you are discovered by some scout. This is the life of Mickey Tussler. The story of Mickey is both interesting and exciting, and at times, very sad. But I have to say that it is one of the best books I have ever read, and many of my friends who are also in high school feel the same way. Although some of the vocabulary is difficult, the writing is really great. Every high school kid should read this book. The first chapter shows inspiration, with a scout randomly coming to Mickey's house. It seems like a dream, and shows inspiration that one boy, who isn't as `perfect' as everyone, shows anyone could do anything. Look for your talents, and look through your flaws. I think that is what the author was trying to say. He hit home with this story, and hopefully he will write many more stories like this.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."