How To Build A House

 
4.0
 
4.5 (4)
1775 0
How To Build A House
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 27, 2008
ISBN
0375844538
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Tornado of a Book
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Harper Evans life is like a tornado, just like the one that hit Bailey, Tennessee. Her parents are splitting up and, as a result, she and her sister, Tess, arent talking to each other. Actually, theyre living in separate houses, because theyre really half-sisters, although theyve always acted like sisters. To make matters worse, Harper caught Tess and Gabriel, her best friend (and love interest, sort of) kissing at a party. The best thing she can do is put distance between herself and her messed up family.

So, Harper, actually her dad, found Homes from the Heart, an organization that builds houses for victims of natural disasters. Since Harpers passion is saving the world, this is the perfect opportunity to escape and do something constructive. So, off to Bailey, Tennessee she goes, to rebuild a house that was destroyed by a tornado. Dont get her started on whether tornados are naturally occurring or caused by human intervention with the atmosphere.

Harper isnt the type of girl guys typically get attracted to, even though shes blond and pretty. Tess is more the boy magnet. Harper is not adept at playing the dating, flirting game. So a summer of anonymity would be the perfect summer. In Bailey, no one knows Harper and Harper knows no oneperfect anonymity. She didnt count on Teddy and Captain and Marisol and Frances.

How to Build a House is a great book. But, then again, you expect that from Dana Reinhardt. I read it in 24 hours. I devoured her first book, A Brief Chapter in My Impossible Life. The book alternates between HERE (Bailey, TN) and HOME (the events leading up to and subsequent to the announcement of her parents separation). Reinhardts descriptive language allows readers to get to know Harper and Teddy and relate to all the emotions she is feeling. The secondary Tennessee characters are fun. The home characters are real. In the course of the summer, Harper learns about herself and her family and friendship. The ending is real life. How to Build a House surpassed my expectations. I know youll enjoy it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

4 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Running away from problems.. to be or not to be solution?
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Rima

I really liked the way Mrs.Reinhardt switched from Here to Home and vice versa, even though I sometimes wanted to know more about one part before it switched.. But I really thought it was
a great story. I mean Harper actually kinds of changes the thoughts about the worlds environment for me, somehow. Harper and Teddy are really quite a couple. Even with a sweet guy unlike most of todays guys, sometimes you wish they were more Teddys out there in this world. Will that give something away in the book, hmmm Im not so sure but I would definitely recommond you read this book. I wonder if this book will turn into a movie because I think it may be worth-watching after reading it. Tell me if you do know.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A "I can't put this book down" kind of book.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Maggie

I've read many good books in my life but non of them could come close to "How To Build A House". It is so full of adventure and heartbreak and love all at the same time. i read this in 24 hours because i couldnt fine a place in the book where the excitement stopped and i could actually put the book down for a break. All i can say is i loved it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Great Read!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Bookluver-Carol

HARPERS DAD IS getting a divorce from her beloved stepmother, Jane. Even worse, Harper has lost her stepsister, Tess; the divorce divides them. Harper decides to escape by joining a volunteer program to build a house for a family in Tennessee who lost their home in a tornado. Not that she knows a thing about construction.

Soon shes living in a funky motel and working long days in blazing heat with a group of kids from all over the country. At the site, she works alongside Teddy, the son of the family for whom they are building the house. Their partnership turns into a summer romance, complete with power tools. Learning to trust and love Teddy isnt easy for Harper, but its the first step toward finding her way back home.

This book really great. Harper's character felt real. This was a great book about finding yourself and dealing with your parents divorce. I liked how the book alternated between Tennessee and home. It's hard not to like Harper and she's very honest.Harper grew up a lot in this book. Teddy was also a great character. He really cared about Harper and wanted to know everything about her. This was a great love story also. All the character's were great. I couldn't put the book down. I thought I wasn't going to like this book that much but I was wrong. I definitely recommend this book to anyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Not a nonfiction book
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Hillary

Harper's dad just got divorced. Her sisters, who were her best friends for so long, don't communicate with her much. And Harper has to get away. So when she hears about the volunteer program that is helping to rebuild houses that were destroyed during tornado, she goes. Though she has never built a house, or done anything involving construction, she wants to help.

When she's building the house, she works along side some other kids who also wanted to help. And Teddy, the son of the family who's house they're building. As Harper and Teddy work together to build this house, she slowly learns what it's like to really love someone and how to trust.

This was a great book. The beginning started out a little slow but after awhile it got more interesting. The ending was really wonderful.

I don't think that I really connected with the characters all that well. Maybe it was because I knew that I should have been studying for my finals but I wasn't. I don't know, but the characters were interesting. I did like Harper's step mother a lot.

The plot was very original. I've never read a book like it.

I recommend this book. It was pretty interesting and totally original.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...

Latest Member Reviews

Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."