The Day I Killed James

 
0.0
 
4.8 (5)
1016 0
Publisher
Age Range
12+
ISBN
037584158X
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

5 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Very good read!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by sammyjones57

In the beginning of this book, I wasn't for sure if I was going to like it. The story is told in three parts, switching from journal entries to first person to third and then back. It took me a bit to get into the story, but once I did, I realized that Theresa's story could not be told any other way.


Theresa's guilt is very strong. You can identify with it and feel it. And me, being the person that gets sucked into characters - I just wanted to give the girl a hug. My favorite part was the Part Two of the book, where it switches to third person giving the story the outsider looking into what is going on with her "new" life. This is what really grabbed me into the book and made me want to continue to read.


The main thing you can take from this that we have to be careful with what we do or say. Because sometimes without meaning it, our actions will speak louder than words and hurt those around us. There is no doubt that Catherine Ryan Hyde is truly a talented writer and has a way with words. This being the first book (I've been running into a lot of first times with authors lately), I'm looking forward to reading more of her work.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
An amazing story of love and loss.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kayla (Midnight Twilight)

James loves Theresa. Unfortunately Theresa doesn't feel the same way about him. They both know the situation, so when Theresa needs a date to a party James is more than willing to go as her date. He knows she is using him, but he wants to take her anyway, and this is where things go horribly wrong. Because of this one night neither of their lives will ever be the same again.

Once you start reading the first page of this book you will be hooked. Throughout all the sadness and struggle, no matter how hard you want to put this book down to avoid the pain you can't, it's like a magnet is pulling you into the story. The reason for this is the writing. After reading Pay it Forward i knew Catherine Ryan Hyde was a brilliant writer, but this book blew me away. The plot flawlessly twisted and took some turns that i never would have expected, but seemed prefect for this story. Anyone who hasn't read this book really needs to.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Awesome book
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Bookluver-Carol

IT WASNT SUPPOSED to end up like this. But it did.

When Theresa brings James to a party as her date, its just for the night . . . and he knows that. But when everything goes horribly wrong, James drives his motorcycle off a cliffand Theresa knows shes responsible for his death.
Theresa tries to run away from the pain, becoming a new young woman with a whole new life. She meets people, of course, but she never really makes connectionsshes too scared shell hurt them, too. But what Theresa discovers is that you can try to run away from the painbut you can never really run away from yourself. The only way out is through.


This book was amazing. I couldn't put it down. The characters were amazing. The main character Theresa goes on a journey to try to forgive herself having a part in James death while she tries to find herself. All the characters had problems that they hid beneath their facade.The book stays with you even after you've put it down. It felt real and it had hidden truths in it.Catherine Hyde Park is an amazing author. She writes how love can be both a great and bad thing. It also shows how love can be hurtful . I can't say enough wonderful things about this book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Another Great Story from Catherine Ryan Hyde
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by the book muncher

Theresa tells James that their party date is a one-time thing. Shes only using him to make her maybe-ex-boyfriend jealous. It works, but Theresa breaks James heart in the process, and he drives his motorcycle of a cliff, dying of suicide. Theresas entire world collapses, and she blames herself for James death. She severs ties with her old life, and tries to reinvent herself, all in an attempt to atone for what she did to James. Slowly though, through meeting a girl very similar to herself, Theresa begins to realize that she cant keep running away forever.

Once again, Catherine Ryan Hyde writes a beautiful story about learning to live with what youve done. The story was incredibly sad, because Theresa kept blaming herself for killing James, even though it wasnt entirely her fault, and even though Theresas only eighteen-years-old, this ages and matures her. Theresas character and journey to self-forgiveness is very realistic, and I was so relieved with the hopeful ending. The Day I Killed James is truly a heartfelt, well-written, and unforgettable story, and one I will not likely forget.

The Day I Killed James is probably my favorite of Catherine Ryan Hydes novels so far, and I most definitely recommend it. The topic of death is never an easy one to write about, and I rank this novel high among others of this topic, including Saving Zoë by Alyson Noël, Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher, and Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin.

reposted from http://thebookmuncher.blogspot.com
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Thought Provoking
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by ambeen

It is hard to find words to describe The Day I Killed James. It is a compelling and absorbing book in many ways. The plot is one I'm not sure I could really describe except as an inner journey.

The characters are what really propels this book forward. This is definitely for people who, like me, love character driven novels. I felt that I truly understood the actions and choices of the protagonist. I did not once feel she was acting irrational, stupid, or that she should just get over it.

The only thing I didn't like was that I didn't get to understand secondary characters as well as the main character. Considering the role she played in the novel, I felt that I never really got to understand Cathy the way I did Theresa or James.

Catherine Ryan Hyde is able to reveal many truths about people and life through the protagonist's journey. Even though the book contains these philosophical ideas or lessons, it never gets preachy. They are more suggestions or new ways to view things that gently guide the protagonist on her journey.

As it is pointed out in the novel, we just don't know what is going on inside other people because we're only inside ourselves. I think that idea sums up the novel nicely because it is showing that even though people may appear to act irrationally or stupidly, there are underlying causes that we just don't understand because we're not that person and never will be.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...

Latest Member Reviews

Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."