The Squad: Killer Spirit

 
0.0
 
4.3 (4)
1767 0
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0385734557
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

4 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
The Squad: Killer Spirit by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by ReggieWrites

Three words: I LOVE TOBY. She is my idol. I admire her strong-willed,
sarcastic-snapping, down-to-earth self. The second book in The Squad, for me, is better than the first. I loved all the action and how Barnes made it totally unpredictable.
And this is coming from a spy junkie that can usually anticipate what
happens next. It was just so capricious and witty at the same time. I
loved it. It's cheerleading and espionage put together.

Killer Spirit
never got boring. Barnes did a fantastic job keeping it exciting and
fast-paced for the entire book. Even when The Squad wasn't on a
mission, there was usually some interesting conflict between Toby and
Jack, or Toby and a Squad member. I always looked forward to the
constant bickering of Jack and Toby.

Although I loved the writing and some
of the characters in this book, it still has it's weaker points. For
instance, I don't think that this would be a memorable read. It isn't a
book I'd remember two months from now. I didn't find it as unique or as
significant as the other books I've read. I found some of the
characters unoriginal and frustrating. Lots of them were common
stereotypes that one would expect from a YA book.


The Bottom
Line: Loved the action. Hated the stereotypes. It's Charlie's Angels
meet Bring it On. A good action and mystery thriller but not enough to
be distinctly significant. B+ :-)


Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Killer Spirit Sticks! That's right. You heard me.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Julie M. Prince

Bubbles is back and better than ever! Okay, so the ditzy cheerleader only makes a few cameos compared to the rest of the crew on The Squad, but she remains one of my favorite characters. Whats better than a stealthy contortionist when it comes to super-sleuthing?

Perhaps the martial arts black belt, computer hacking main character, Toby Klein.

No less funny than the first book in THE SQUAD series, Killer Spirit is everything that Perfect Cover promised it would be: a continuation of Tobys fantastic tale of cheerleader super-spies, told in the same sarcastically witty voice.

This time around, the stakes have been raised. Its up to The Squad to tail several suspicious figures who have appeared in Bayport. The mission, to see what these suspects are up to, takes a wrong turn and Toby finds herself on the wrong end of a devious, life-threatening plan that must be contained at all costs.

As if bullet-proof bras and lethal iPods werent enough, the newest items added to the squads arsenal include blow-dart spirit sticks and throwing star spirit pins. This is what happens when authors let imaginations roam free and just have fun with their readers. Laughter ensues.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Great Followup
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Rin

In the second book of the hilarious Squad series, Toby's back and still trying to figure out exactly WHY she's a cheerleader.

Another mission has turned up. The Big Guys have the Squad tracking some certain individuals in Bayport. Except, one of the missions go wrong and some of the team almost dies.

Not to mention, someone may be on to who the Squad really are.

Also, the Squad's "real lives" are dramafilled as well. It's time to pick the Homecoming Queen and it appears as if Toby's actually in the running. It might even take some rigging to ensure that she doesn't win...

Hilarious and fun, this sequel is not to be missed!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Spy + Cheerleader + second mission = even more fun
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by the book muncher

Killer Spirit continues right where Perfect Cover left off. Only now, there are higher stakes for the mission and more consequences for Toby, especially if she wins Homecoming Queen. Top that off with boy troubles and you're in for one heck of a ride.

I also liked how Jennifer Lynn Barnes kept the story unique. It may be that I have only read a handful of spy books, but I felt that The Squad series was special, which most likely had to do with the cheerleading part as previously stated. I felt that the missions that Toby and the Squad had to go on were fresh and not at all repetitive, and that is saying something for the girl (me) who can usually guess what happens next in spy books. I was totally surprised by the ending in Killer Spirit. Although the action never got dangerous to the point of multiple gunshots and catfights, the plot was exciting the whole way through.

I highly recommend this book for all fans of spy books, especially lover of the Gallagher Girl series by Ally Carter and the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Magician meets A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
"Hazel lives on a farm with her two mothers and her older brother Rowan. They have a heard of goats..."
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
"Albiorix is a young Medieval wizard from the mystical realm of Bríandalör who is Hall Master for the role playing..."
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
3.0
"THE OWLS HAVE COME TO TAKE US AWAY is a middle grade sci-fi/horror (though not too scary) that follows a..."
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"Celebrate Halloween with the Pikmi Pops in this cute story about friendship. Wubbs the Bat and Vampy the Bat are..."
Apocalypse Taco
 
4.0
"APOCALYPSE TACO is a horror graphic novel that follows two middle school aged boys, Axl and Ivan. Axl and Ivan..."
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
"Kitty wants to be a superhero like her mom, but she's afraid to go out in the dark. Her mom..."
Little Penguin's New Friend
 
4.0
"'Little Penguin's New Friend' by Tadgh Bentley is a cute story about the making of a friendship despite misconceptions about..."
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
4.0
"NAKED MOLE RAT SAVES THE WORLD tells the story of kit, whose name is lowercase because she was too small..."
The 12th Candle
 
4.0
"Sage lives out west in the town of Goldview, and her family is cursed. Years ago, her mother and her..."
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Small World
 
5.0
"SMALL WORLD is a gorgeous celebration of growing up and following your dreams. When Nanda was born, her world was..."
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
"ON THE FIRST DAY OF SUMMER VACATION uses the tune of The 12 Days of Christmas to present the fun..."
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
"Budding scientists, rejoice! The Questioneers is the perfect series to show you the how and to have some extra scientific..."
Bad Bella
 
4.0
"Bella lives with the McBrides, who have several small children and often forget Bella's needs. She gets in trouble for..."
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
"In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman..."
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."