The Arrival

 
4.0
 
5.0 (2)
1715 0
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0439895294
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A truly beautiful book
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
In this wordless graphic novel from Shaun Tan, you are swept along on a journey that many have gone on before moving to a new, foreign place in order to better yourself (and provide for your family). The drawings are wonderfully detailed and evocative, with a kind of magical realism to them. This isnt exactly our world though there are details that are reminiscent of Ellis Island in New York City but we can easily relate to it.

The story progresses subtly along as a man says goodbye to his family and boards a steamship. Hes off to a strange and distant land, where he meets curious individuals and struggles along in isolation. Small details tell a rich story and we come to appreciate the small joys in the mans life. Its really amazing how much emotion Tan conveys in his images.

This is a really beautiful novel, though I have a hard time putting a recommended age group on it. The publisher officially says ages 3 5 in the press release that accompanied the book, but I cant quite picture these quiet but memorable pictures holding the attention of a 3 year old for long. Certainly, it is wordless; a story told entirely by pictures. But this is really more of an art book. The sepia toned illustrations are much more likely to hold the interest of older readers than younger ones.

In fact, Id say this book would be best received by older teens (especially those with an interest in art) and adults. While I could see a parent flipping through this with a child, or even a child making up stories themselves to go along with the pictures, I really think older readers will appreciate this more.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
The Arrival
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by The Library Lady

The Arrival, without words, conveys the feelings of loneliness and fear our unnamed hero deals with when he leaves his family to travel to a new land. We see the confusion at the new language, currency, and customs that are so alien to him. His daily struggle to learn his surroundings and meet expectations of others around him are difficult to watch. This book moved me to tears as I watched his brave journey from new arrival to seasoned citizen. This is perhaps one of the best books that I have seen in our Media Center in years.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Beautiful
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by mlecompt

What would it be like to move to another country where you didn't speak the language and didn't even recognize the alphabet? The buildings, food, and even animals are different from what you are used to. How would you find a place to live? How would you find work? How would you find something to eat? This is the experience presented in this book.

The Arrival is very effective. There are no words, just illustrations, but this only helps cement the idea of being in a completely foreign world. The art is beautiful and detailed; it reminded me of Chris Van Allsburg's work.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Unleashed
 
4.0
"After Steele House burned down, Hendricks and her family move to a rental after Steele House, trying to put that..."
Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women and Witchcraft
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: The two stories that tie for the best of the anthology are Tess Sharpe’s “The Heart..."
Pride
 
4.7
"It can be difficult to retell a tale as well-known as Pride and Prejudice, but Zoboi's retelling modernizes the story..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."