Does My Head Look Big in This?

 
0.0
 
4.8 (4)
1806 0
Does My Head Look Big in This?
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
January 01, 2005
ISBN
0439919479
Buy This Book
      
When sixteen-year-old Amal decides to wear the hijab full-time, her entire world changes, all because of a piece of cloth...

Sixteen-year-old Amal makes the decision to start wearing the hijab full- time and everyone has a reaction. Her parents, her teachers, her friends, people on the street. But she stands by her decision to embrace her faith and all that it is, even if it does make her a little different from everyone else.

Can she handle the taunts of "towel head," the prejudice of her classmates, and still attract the cutest boy in school? Brilliantly funny and poignant, Randa Abdel-Fattah's debut novel will strike a chord in all teenage readers, no matter what their beliefs.

User reviews

4 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Not from here not from there
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Rvnclw08

This makes you realize how hard it is to be faithful to a religion when it is the minority.  And who tough it is know when to judge and when you be quiet.  Being raised baptist in the bible belt I have never experienced this and am glad I read this book, because it made me understand life and other cultures better.  I think it would be a good book for both the minority and the majority.  I think ever high school and college girl should read this.  Mucho kudos!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Awesome book, a great schooltime read!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kinkos

To wear or not to wear? That's the question in Does My Head Look Big in This?

While watching a Friends rerun at the gym, Amal, a teenage Australian-Pleastinian- Muslim girl, realizes that she is ready to wear the hijab. A sign of Muslim faith, a hijab is a strip of cloth wrapped around girls' heads, meant to deter boys' wandering eyes and such. After much thinking, she wears it to her snotty prep school-only to be faced by the excrucating pain of being ignored. Eventually, everyone breaks out of their shells and asks questions; even her crush, Adam. Can she navigate a wild world of prejudice, religion, and love? Or will she crumble under the weight of her hijab?

This book was truly amazingly written and equally as inspiring; a great read for anyone. Amal will make you laugh or cry. It's filled with emotion, and you can feel what the characters feel. Please, read this book!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Good book
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by mlecompt

Amal is a Muslim teenager living in Australia. Up until the second half of eleventh grade she had been a part-timer with the hijab, only wearing it when necessary. Now she has decided to become a full-timer and she must deal with the stares and questions of her classmates and the world at large.

Amal is a likable character and her cast of friends and family are entertaining. Her decision to wear the hijab and deal with further prejudice from some Australians is very brave and something that she does for herself. It was interesting to hear the thoughts of a Muslim girl in today's environment. My only problem with the book was the subplot with her elderly neighbor. It didn't seem to add much to the story and I think the book would have been tighter without it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
One of the best of the year
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Amanda

Oh...I loved this book. I absolutely loved this book. It was on a topic that needed to be written about, at least in the YA genre, for quite a long time and I am so glad that it was this brand-spankin new author that decided to take on the task.


In, Does My Head Look Big in This, by Australian author Randa Abdel-Fatthah, Amal, a typical 11th grade girl, is struggling with a very personal decision. Being a Muslim of strong faith, Amal wants to wear her hajib head covering all the time. No, her parents are not forcing her, in fact, they are almost wary of her doing so, this is completely Amal's choice. When she does decide to go forth with her plan to wear the hajib everywhere, except in the company of family, she knows she is setting herself up for prejudice. The headmaster at her private school is not too keen on Amal messing up the uniform system with the hajib, Tia, a snotty girl in Amal's class is set on making her feel like a loser, and Adam, the one boy Amal has had a crush on, seems to like her back, but also is somewhat uncomfortable with the whole religion thing.


Amal stands by the decision she made to wear her faith, quite literally, on her body. She stands up to people that scorn her and when upset, only lets it show to her closest friends and family. This is an incredibly powerful book that is perfect for teens, no matter what they believe in terms of religion. The strength of Amal is beautiful and she is a great role model for teenage girls, struggling to stand up for themselves in a world of peer pressure and designer clothing trends.


This is one of the best teen novels I have read this year and definitely look forward to more works by this author. The character of Amal is exactly who I wish I could have been in high school. I was able to stand up for myself to some extent, but I cared way too much what others thought about my appearance and my personality. I would certainly recommend this book be read by adults and teens everywhere.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
The Story of Inventions
 
3.0
"THE STORY OF INVENTIONS is a simple, accessible introduction to some of the breakthroughs that have shaped the world across..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Christmas
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: CHRISTMAS is a fun activity book for elementary-aged children (and maybe older toddlers). The book features..."
Baby, Find the Shapes! (Indestructibles)
 
4.7
"BABY, FIND THE SHAPES! is a fun addition to the Indestructibles book series. The best feature of this book is..."
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
4.3
"Born in 1927, Althea Gibson experienced the racial and gender disparities that were prevalent at the time, but were in..."
Welcome to Jazz: A Swing-Along Celebration of America’s Music, Featuring “When the Saints Go Marching In”
 
5.0
"WELCOME TO JAZZ is a truly delightful and entertaining children's book. The book teaches about jazz in terms of history,..."
National Geographic Student World Atlas
 
5.0
" A wonderful representation of the world for teaching kids to love the earth they live on. With bright,..."
Ralph Masiello's Alien Drawing Book
 
4.7
"A cute way for kids to learn how to draw. This book takes kids through a step by..."
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
"This is a must read book that shows the lives of Japanese American children who ended up being taken from..."
Cub
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
"There was a recent Jeopardy! champion who apparently got himself up to speed on many areas of knowledge by reading..."
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
"THE TOTALLY SICK SICK-DAY ACTIVITY BOOK is exactly what the title describes. There are crossword puzzles, places to doodle, word..."
Animazes
 
5.0
"ANIMAZES shows the migration patterns of fourteen different creatures. It shows that there are several different paths these creatures can..."
Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!
 
4.7
"BABY LOVES THE FIVE SENSES: HEARING teaches everything you need to know about how hearing, the ears, and sound all..."
Hard Work, but It's Worth It: The Life of Jimmy Carter
 
5.0
"Before reading this, I didn't know much about Jimmy Carter except that he had been one of the presidents. I..."