Those Girls

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1259 0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
ISBN
1595141693
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Boarding School Secrets, Lies, and Scandals
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Those Girls takes you inside the fabulous lives of two wealthy and fun-loving girls, Jinx Slater and Liberty Latiffe. The two are best friends, and have been ever since they met as first years at Stagmount School for Girls, an exclusive boarding school for girls in England. Even in the backstabbing and bitchy world of teenage girls, Jinx and Liberty are true friends. They would do anything for each other, as is apparent through their many wild escapades. If youve ever dreamed about life as an heiress, with your biggest concern being where youre going to party next, you will be absolutely green with envy over the posh lives of the Stagmount girls.

Jinx and Liberty are those girls you secretly wish that you could be. While Jinx is the dominant, street savvy girl, Liberty is more innocent, but carefree and adventurous. Together, they make an unstoppable duo that have the entire Stagmount school wrapped around their pinky fingers.

All is well in their boarding school world as the girls begin sixth year. Jinx and Liberty take great pleasure in making Mrs. Gunn, the most horrific teacher in the school, as angry as humanly possible. The girls have been torturing their ex-house mistress for years, and it just never gets old. But when new girl Stella Fox arrives midterm, she turns the Stagmount world upside down. With her snobby attitude, and knack for always getting what she wants, Jinx and the sixth year posse absolutely despise Stella. But Libertys naivete causes her to mistake Stellas expensive handbags and impeccable wardrobe as a sign of coolness, and suddenly Stella and Liberty are joined at the hip.

This only further infuriates Jinx and the other sixth year girls, as they try and do everything possible to bring Liberty back from the dark side. Between fighting off Stellas irritating ways and Mrs. Gunns outrageous punishments, Jinx is having a more stressful year than she expected. Soon, she learns the startling truth about Stellas past, and why she was transferred to Stagmount. It looks like it might be up to Jinx to save Liberty, and the entire school for Stellas lies and treachery before its too late!

I loved Those Girls for the racy and gossipy tale of teen girls, and Lawrence does a great job in portraying the bonds of friendship and loyalty between the Stagmount girls. However, the entire story was told from Jinxs point of view, and since Jinx and Liberty were the two main characters, I would have liked to read some of the story from Libertys point of view. Alternating viewpoints every chapter would have been nice. Overall, this is a great story for anyone who is a fan of the Gossip Girls or The Clique.
A2
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Unleashed
 
4.0
"After Steele House burned down, Hendricks and her family move to a rental after Steele House, trying to put that..."
Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women and Witchcraft
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: The two stories that tie for the best of the anthology are Tess Sharpe’s “The Heart..."
Pride
 
4.7
"It can be difficult to retell a tale as well-known as Pride and Prejudice, but Zoboi's retelling modernizes the story..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."