Prom Nights from Hell

 
0.0
 
4.4 (5)
1695 0
Prom Nights from Hell
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 24, 2007
ISBN
9780061253096
Buy This Book
      
In this exciting collection, bestselling authors Meg Cabot ("How to Be Popular"), Kim Harrison ("A Fistful of Charms"), Michele Jaffe ("Bad Kitty"), Stephenie Meyer ("Twilight"), and Lauren Myracle ("ttyl") take bad prom nights to a whole new level--a paranormally bad level. Wardrobe malfunctions and two left feet don't hold a candle to discovering your date is the Grim Reaper--and he isn't here to tell you how hot you look.

From angels fighting demons to a creepy take on getting what you wish for, these five stories will entertain better than any DJ in a bad tux. No corsage or limo rental necessary. Just good, scary fun.

User reviews

5 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
And you thought your prom was bad!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by kim

 


 


This is a collection of short stories from popular teen authorsMeg Cabot, Kim Harrison, Michele Jaffe, Stephenie Meyer and Lauren Myracle that takes the revered tradition of going to the prom and gives it a dark, dangerous twist. From a vampire hunting girl named Mary whose mission it is to take out Dracula, to the demon Sheba delighting in wreaking mayhem at the prom, these stories take the reader on an exhilarating ride of action, suspense with strong, appealing characters.


 


The Exterminators Daughter by Meg Cabot was my favorite. Its about Mary, a young girl who shows up at a ritzy downtown Manhattan nightclub with a mission to take out her best friends date Sebastian with a crossbow! Things go a little awry when fellow classmate Adam takes his own shot at Sebastian. My second favorite was the Corsage by Lauren Myracle. Its about a young girl who gets a corsage from a psychic with the knowledge that it will grant her 3 wishes. All Frankie wants is for her best guy friend Will to ask her to the prom. Should be simple right? Frankie will come to realize that some requests should be left alone!

Prom Nights from Hell was a great paranormal anthology that both teens and adults will enjoy reading and Id highly recommend it.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Good In Some Ways...But Also Not So Good
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kit-Kat

Okay, so prior to this, I hadn't read any books by any of these authors except Stephenie Meyer. (And I totally love her - Twilight is the best series ever!)However, I have heard about a couple of other ones, and how good they were.
So when I first got this book, I was excited. And in some ways, it met up with my expectations...but in other ways it didn't.
I am going to review the short stories by the different authors separately:

"The Exterminator's Daughter" by Meg Cabot and "The Corsage" by Lauren Myracle - I found these two stories to be extremely cliched. The characters were a little shallow, especially in "The Corsage," which I enjoyed the least out of all of the stories.

"Madison Avery and the Dim Reaper" by Kim Harrison and "Kiss and Tell" by Michele Jaffe - There was more of a plot to these stories, and they were developed a lot more. I found the characters to be quite original and interesting, and they drew me into the story.

"Hell on Earth" by Stephenie Meyer - The best story in here. The plot wasn't as intricate as "Madison Avery" or "Kiss and Tell," but it was original. There were definitely some twists and turns I wasn't expecting.

Well, that's my review...:)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Great Authors = Great Book
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Co-chan

I already loved all the authors that contributed to Prom Nights From Hell, so when they wrote a book with stories from each of them I was overjoyed.
All the stories just leave you crying for some sort of sequel, that probably won't come :( But all the stories are fantastic and some of them will just make you say "awww!"
This is a must-read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
AMAZING!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Christina

It has a story by Stephenie Meyer in it, I'm sold, then I read it, the best authors ever! OMG! Wow, they are great, Stephenie's wasn't my favorite amazingly! I actually liked the one where the vampires were bad!!! I'm surprised, but I still don't believe all vampires are bad, how can someone like Alice Cullen be evil? (Planning an over the top party when it was supposed to be a small get together so does not count in this category of evil).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Paranormal Lover's Delight
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Stephanie

A group of teen chick lits greatest writers come together for this altogether unique and interesting collection of short storiesnot about perfect, normal proms, oh no, but ones that have been interrupted by, shall we say, the paranormal.

A vampire exterminator rushes to save her friend from her enemys evil clutches. A magic corsage delivers wishes gone wrong to a group of friends. A girl is killed by the grim reaper at her prom, which also happens to be her seventeenth birthday. Two very special girls with clashing personalities must stick together to outwit the people who are after them. And angels and demons show up at one schools prom.

The five stories in this collection delight fans of books such as TWILIGHTwhose author, by the way, is one of the contributors to this short story collection. All the stories are interesting, amusing, and leave you wanting more.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."