Ironside: A Modern Faery's Tale (The Modern Faerie Tales #3)

 
0.0
 
4.6 (6)
1746 0
Ironside: A Modern Faery's Tale (The Modern Faerie Tales #3)
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 24, 2007
ISBN
0689868200
Buy This Book
      
In the realm of Faerie, the time has come for Roiben's coronation. Uneasy in the midst of the malevolent Unseelie Court, pixie Kaye is sure of only one thing -- her love for Roiben. But when Kaye, drunk on faerie wine, declares herself to Roiben, he sends her on a seemingly impossible quest. Now Kaye can't see or speak to Roiben unless she can find the one thing she knows doesn't exist: a faerie who can tell a lie. Miserable and convinced she belongs nowhere, Kaye decides to tell her mother the truth -- that she is a changeling left in place of the human daughter stolen long ago. Her mother's shock and horror sends Kaye back to the world of Faerie to find her human counterpart and return her to Ironside. But once back in the faerie courts, Kaye finds herself a pawn in the games of Silarial, queen of the Seelie Court. Silarial wants Roiben's throne, and she will use Kaye, and any means necessary, to get it. In this game of wits and weapons, can a pixie outplay a queen?

Holly Black spins a seductive tale at once achingly real and chillingly enchanted, set in a dangerous world where pleasure mingles with pain and nothing is exactly as it appears.

User reviews

6 reviews

 
(5)
 
(1)
3 stars
 
(0)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Plot 
 
4.8  (6)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
View most helpful
cudVugivPu have a relatively candidiasis things you can do
atnXjfuqRf anikemax
uajTtuzjEh maxairen
eexUezesDg maxairen
amuEipfxCd nikeairen
toaWxcdtMf nikeairen
burSodcvCv airmaxniken
athMxxarLf maxairen
hpkHuuwpAi nikeairen
gxzLwnnvBr maxairen
nnvDxbdcBv maxairen

bnvSmkpxSh chzVsxtcAk
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
An excellent end…
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I read this book years ago, but I still consider it one of my favorites. I really like Holly Black’s writing style, and I felt like Ironside was an excellent end to an excellent series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Amusing, Dark and Fantastic!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Ruthie

Another dark faerie tale came to a fantastic ending! At times, I found myself a little confused during the story line but it was through the introduction to a new character so eventually I got used to it. Also I loved Rioban and Kaye. Kayes quest was so impossible and yet so amusing. I loved it! My favorite book is still Tithe but Ironside was a good follow-up.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Better than Tithe
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kaycee Joy

Continuing the story of Kaye from Tithe, in Ironside there is even more complications
faced. Kaye declares herself to Roiben (King of the Unseelie Court),
believing it will make them an official couple. Well, Roiben gives Kaye
an impossible quest: to find a faery that can tell an untruth.
Along with the quest, Kaye is torn between the Seelie and Unseelie
Court and where she belongs. Another problem includes getting the human
Kaye back to her mother and feeling unwelcome back into her human family. Kaye must figure out how to solve all these problems before Roiben battles the Seelie Court.

Anyone
who loved Tithe should continue on with the story! Basically I cant
recommend Ironside to anyone unless they've read Tithe. But I can
recommend you to start reading Tithe! Its great.



Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
words that come to life and creep from the pages...
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by An_d

Holly Black takes us on a wild ride as we follow a pixie changeling find her place in a world of uncertainties.  Kaye takes us with her as she plays a wicked game of battling wits. There is so much in her world that is not exactly what it seems.  This is a dark fantasy that wraps you into it's world so quickly, you can't put it down.   Ms. Black skillfully combines life lessons and coming of age issues into the story line while weaving in deception, temptation and betrayal.   A fantastical twisted mirror image of the world we know.   It's so remarkable.  If you want to delve into a dark fantasy world with characters that reach out from the pages and pull you in with them, then you have to read this series.  

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
IRONSIDE: A Modern Faery's Tale
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Hatice

If you are a huge fan of the world which the naked human eye can't see, then this book is a must read. Ironside is a sequal to the NYT #1 best-seller Tithe. Holly Black brings Kaye back for another worthwhile adventure. As she is just getting used to being a faery, the time of Roiben's coronation comes along. Kaye is sure of one thing- her love for Roiben. But when she admits her true feelings to him, he sends her on an impossible quest- to find a faerie that can tell a lie. Filled with betrayels, love, and adventure Holly Black engulfs the reader in another one of her brilliant novels (with a very suprising ending).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Faery A DO
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by The Story Siren

Ironside: A Moders Faery's Tale by Holly Black


Ironside is the third novel of A Modern Faerys Tale. It had been a faerly fairly long amount of time between reading the first two books, but I didnt have a problem picking up where everything left off. It even helped me understand why Valiant was in the middle of these two books!


Kaye is unsure where she belongs in the world. She doesnt know anything about the world she belongs to as a faery, yet she cant get comfortable in the human world, even though she was raised there, because she isnt human. Feeling sorry for herself she lets herself become drunk on faery wine at her boyfriends, Roibens, coronation. Since she is feeling so good she lets Roiben know how she really feels. In her deceleration Roiben sends her on a quest to prove her love, but the quest he requests is impossible to attain. (the quest he requests, say that five times fast) Kaye has to find a faery that can lie.


In the midst of it all Kaye tells her mother, the truth, that she is a faery, and of course that doesnt go over well. Then there is the whole thing about the two faery courts being at war to deal with, Oh! And Kaye cant see Roiben again until she has conquered her little quest. With the help of her friend Corny and a reappearance of Luis from Valiant, Kaye must detangle herself from the Seelie Queens web, and save herself and Roiben.


Whew! This is my favorite book of the three. Tithe was the first faery novel I read, well dark faery novel, so I had to figure out some of the faery terminology, like the whole glamour thing. Then being one of those people that love the likes of Meg Cabot and Sarah Dessens wholesome, leading ladies, I wasnt used to seeing young characters drinking, doing drugs, just being so unwholesome! I mean whoa! But then that is what made these novels so cool and different and refreshing! I love the darkness and the edginess! Im totally faery-punkified!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"The descriptions of Parkour are entertaining and opened my eyes to a new discipline that I was scarcely aware of..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
5.0
"DRAGON REBELLION opens up with Jian and Hua taking refuge in Hua's family farm, but she hasn't awoken since she..."
Chosen (Gem Creek Bears, Book 1)
 
4.3
"When Tris escapes from being kidnapped by her boyfriend Corbin, she does the only logical thing. She gets the heck..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I enjoyed this book immensely. As with all of her books, Pam Withers masterfully builds up the characters and skilfully..."
Inebriated
 
5.0
"'Inebriated' by Katey Taylor is a hauntingly real look at the power of intoxication, whether it be in the form..."
The Path We Take
 
4.0
"'The Path We Take' by Kylie Key shows how the choices we make and the things we think we want..."
Outlawed
 
4.5
"The story: When her father forces her to travel back in time to correct the mistake he made, Maryanne..."