S.A.S.S.: The Sound of Munich

 
0.0
 
4.5 (4)
1900 0
Publisher
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0142405760
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

4 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
A Very Good Read
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by abscae

Siena Bernstein has a task to complete: ship off to Munich so she can find the man who helped smuggle her 9 year old dad out of Germany in the time of World War II. Off to find adventure as well as fill her quest, Siena looks for the best of time while traveling with her new friends and a cute RA.

I liked this book, much better than the other S.A.S.S. book I'd read because this book truly made me feel that what Siena was looking for wasn't just material, but also came from her heart. It's enlightening how the story progresses and when you're done, you truly get an accomplished feeling.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
A Great Quick Read
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Amanda

This is another edition to the Students Across the Seven Seas series, which I am throughly enjoying. Each of these books are about a young woman finding out more about herself than she ever thought possible, while spending a semester of high school overseas.


In The Sound of Munich, which is written by Suzanne Nelson, Siena, a granola loving, free spirit from California, wins a scholarship to spend a semester in Munich, Germany. She is especially excited about this, because her father (who died when she was very young) had relatives from Germany. She felt strongly about learning more about her past while she was studying in the foreign city.


While in Germany, Siena meets a love interest in her resident advisor (a definite no-no), finds two brand new best friends, and sets out on a mission to meet the man that smuggled her father and grandparents across the Berlin Wall. Siena learns more about her family and her own self worth than ever before and has a blast doing so.


The Sound of Munich is very much like the other books in the S.A.S.S. series. A small bit of romance, a lot of soul searching, and a ton of information about foreign places. I feel like I'm visiting them myself, through the high school students' eyes. This was good read, which I would recommend for anyone looking for something quick and light.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Good book for those who love travelling and YA novels
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Sara

"Siena Bernstein is leaving her yoga mat behind for a semester of study abroad in Munich. She's thrilled with the prospect of a German adventure (her horoscope is encouraging as well), but she hopes to make more than just her dreams come true while she's there. Siena's dad, who passed away when she was a baby, kept a "Carpe Diem" list - sort of his top-ten adventurous things to do. He completed all but one of the tasks - going to Germany to thank the man who helped smuggle his family past the Berlin Wall. Amidst her adventures in biergartens, Alpine skiing, and a rigorous course load, Siena is on a quest to complete her father's list. But she's also set on having the best possible time while she tries. With the help of two new best buds and a handsome RA in her dorm, she'll surely succeed."

This book is one of the Students Across the Seven Seas books, the first one I've read. The plot of the book is good...something that short books don't always possess. I really like the idea of travelling to different places, especially Europe, and I like YA fiction - so I figured this book would be for me! I was right, but it isn't a fantastic book, just a good one. It isn't one that I would read again, but I would recommend it to other readers.

The main reason that I didn't really love this book was the main character, Siena. I really did like her, but sometimes her "personality" got in the way. The author tries to make her "bohemian", but she just sounded hippie-ish... and not in a good way. Her easy-going vibe was just a little annoying at times. Other than that she was fine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Great Book for Fans of YA novels and Germany
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Sara

"Siena Bernstein is leaving her yoga mat behind for a semester of study abroad in Munich. She's thrilled with the prospect of a German adventure (her horoscope is encouraging as well), but she hopes to make more than just her dreams come true while she's there. Siena's dad, who passed away when she was a baby, kept a "Carpe Diem" list - sort of his top-ten adventurous things to do. He completed all but one of the tasks - going to Germany to thank the man who helped smuggle his family past the Berlin Wall. Amidst her adventures in biergartens, Alpine skiing, and a rigorous course load, Siena is on a quest to complete her father's list. But she's also set on having the best possible time while she tries. With the help of two new best buds and a handsome RA in her dorm, she'll surely succeed."

First of all, this book was close to being rated a 5. However, I refrained because of the main character, Siena. I really did like her, but sometimes her "personality" got in the way. The author tries to make her "bohemian", but she just sounded hippie-ish... and not in a good way. Her easy-going vibe was just a little annoying at times. Other than that she was fine.

This book is one of the Students Across the Seven Seas books, the first one I've read. I really like the idea of travelling to different places, especially Europe, and I like YA fiction - so I figured this book would be for me! I was right, but it isn't a fantastic book, just a good one. It isn't one that I would read again, but I would recommend it to other readers.

The plot of the book is good...something that short books don't always possess.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Love is All Around
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mommy Bear shows Baby Bear how love is all around...
I'm not a Mouse!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia really doesn't like her nickname - mostly because it...
My Panda Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The other kids may laugh, but I always feel safe...
One Day on our Blue Planet... In the Outback
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From breakfast to dinner, dusk to dawn, children will love...
Mrs Bibi's Elephant
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story with a message as big as an...
The State of Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Dre and Dean have got my vote!"—Adib Khorram, award-winning...
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to 1876 America, a place bursting with gunslingers,...
Little Creeping Things
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A compulsively readable debut with a narrator you just...
Fae's Deception (Queens of the Fae Book 1)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Brea Robinson is a murderer. That’s what everyone tells...
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clark thought he knew what grief was. Addie thought...
Artemis Fowl: Guide to the World of Fairies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This beautifully illustrated novel is a compendium of Artemis Fowl's...
The Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Les Misérables meets Six of Crows in this page-turning...
Personalized Notebook Doodles Adorable Pets Coloring Book
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hamsters and hermit crabs to cats and canaries, you'll...
The Last Summer
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For the first eleven years of their lives, neighbors Lila...
The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two girls embark on a summer of montage-worthy dates (with...
Super Puzzletastic Mysteries: Short Stories for Young Sleuths from Mystery Writers of America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author Chris Grabenstein and the Mystery Writers of America...

Latest Member Reviews

The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
"THE FALLING IN LOVE MONTAGE is a beautiful YA contemporary romance that follows Saoirse (Seer-sha). Saoirse speaks to the reader..."
Crave
 
4.3
"After the death of her parents, Grace comes to an Alaskan boarding school. Once there, she senses something is 'off'..."
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
"YOU BROUGHT ME THE OCEAN is a graphic novel of the origin story for Aqualad. Jake is 17 and living..."
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
" I received a free copy from the publisher through Netgalley. The Most Dangerous Place on Earth centers around a..."
Pumpkinheads
 
4.7
"I am pretty new to graphic novels so when I won a copy of 'Pumpkin Heads' on GoodReads I was..."
Burn
 
3.7
"BURN imagines a world that is just like ours, except that dragons exist. Dragons have been around for longer than..."
Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed
 
5.0
"WONDER WOMAN: TEMPEST TOSSED is a fantastic new story featuring Diana coming into her own. She has been raised among..."
The Archer at Dawn (The Tiger at Midnight, #2)
 
5.0
"THE ARCHER AT DAWN is a fantastic sequel in the THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT trilogy. This second book picks up..."
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
"What worked: This is a fun paranormal twist on historical figures set in the Wild West of 1876. I loved..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
5.0
"FEEDBACK This book was everything I wanted and more. It begins with Kallia and her performance. It quickly descends into..."
The State of Us
 
5.0
"THE STATE OF US is a really fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows the children of two political rivals. Dean's..."
Live Like Legends
 
5.0
"LIVE LIKE LEGENDS is an absolutely fantastic YA fantasy romance. We follow Kalista, who is a princess born to be..."
Blood Countess (Lady Slayers)
 
4.3
"Visually, this book is a gorgeous work of art, splattered with blood from cover to cover. For those familiar with..."
Like Sisters on the Homefront
 
4.7
"Top 3 reasons to read LIKE SISTERS ON THE HOMEFRONT: 1.) The characters- Gayle, a NYC girl sent to..."
Daphne and Velma: The Vanishing Girl
 
3.7
"Daphne Blake and Velma Dinkley are opposites. Daphne is popular, traditionally pretty, and sociable. Velma prefers books and information to..."
Felix Ever After
 
5.0
"Felix has never been in love, but he wants to be. He wants the experience of opening your heart, having..."
The Sullivan Sisters
 
5.0
"Eileen, Claire, and Murphy Sullivan used to be close. They had their special traditions, their shared laughs, and their shared..."
The Summer of Impossibilities
 
3.7
"THE SUMMER OF IMPOSSIBILITIES is a YA contemporary about friendship in the vein of THE SISTERHOOD OF THE TRAVELING PANTS...."
Tarnished Are the Stars
 
4.3
"FEEDBACK I actually really enjoyed this story. The beginning was a little confusing because there wasn’t too much explanation of..."
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3
"San Solano, Texas is not only known for its Southern charm but also gruesome murders that took place fifty..."