Before I Go

 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
1848 0
Before I Go
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 01, 2006
ISBN
0977954323
Buy This Book
      
Sixteen-year-old Madison Henry has been skating as long as she's been walking. Coached by her mother, Annie, she is on her way to the Olympics. When tragedy strikes unexpectedly, Madison is forced to look at her life differently. Before I Go spotlights the unbreakable bond a mother and daughter share and the love everyone hopes to experience in their lifetime.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Love transcends everything
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Before I Go, Riley Westons first novel, is sure to invite comparisons to Nicholas Sparks (in particular, A Walk to Remember). Madison Henry is a skating phenomenon, coached by her mother, and focused almost entirely on the goal of getting to the Olympics. The rest of her life, save for her sole friendship with Jack (her only and best friend since she was six years old), has been sacrificed in order to obtain this lofty goal.

When other kids were dating or watching movies or&well, anything, Madison was in the rink practicing. Her mother, a former skater herself, has been her constant companion and has sacrificed just as much of her life as her daughter. Madisons father, in fact, tries hard to be included, but often feels left out though he has to regularly step in as a mediator between the strong-willed mother and daughter.

Just when it seems like all their hard work is finally going to pay off, tragedy strikes. Madisons dizzy spells and weight loss arent from overwork, but instead are the result of a particularly nasty cancer. Both mother and daughter are at first un-accepting of Madisons illness, but it soon consumes their lives as fully as skating ever did.

While much of the storyline is taken up with the family dynamics, the rest revolves around the relationship between Jack and Madison. Jack, for some time, has been deeply in love with Madison. On the surface, they are an odd couple Jack is popular and handsome and could have the pick of any girl at school, but there has never been any other girl for him than Madison. Up until her illness, Madison had been oblivious to his feelings (much as she had been oblivious to the sacrifices her parents had made for her over the years).

Now, as her health weakens, her love and appreciation of Jack (as well as her mother and father) deepens. Their love story is a bittersweet one sure to bring a tear to many an eye. Jack, in fact, was my favorite character in the book. His love is simple and pure and he does what he feels is right, no matter what other people think or how they react (including Madison). He's the kind of guy any girl would fall for.

Fans of Sparks and Lurlene McDaniel will find much to love in Before I Go. Romance fans in general will also; just be sure to keep some tissues handy. Recommended for readers aged 12 and up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
best of 2006
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by carolyn

Before I Go
by Riley Weston
Campfire Press
Armchairinterviews.com
Reviewed by Sheryl Root

This was one of the most powerfully written books I have read in a long time. It will definitely be in my top ten for 2006. The characters are beautifully drawn and the descriptions so vivid that I was immediately transported into Madison's world. It is a world filled with competitive ice skating, her mom and coach Annie, and Jackson Wellington III. It is several love stories woven into one.

Maddie meets Jack when she is six and he is seven, facing off over a single yellow balloon. From that point on, they are inseparable friends and soul mates. Madison's days are filled with early mornings and late nights at the rink, which leaves little time for making friends. But she always has Jack.

Madison's relationship with her mom, Annie, is typical of the love/hate relationship experienced between mothers and daughters during the teen years, complicated by the fact that Annie is also her coach. When Maddie becomes exhausted, beyond what even her non-stop training explains, Annie pushes her to continue--as a coach because they are so close to their goal of the Olympics, and as a mom because she doesn't want to face what Maddie's abnormal fatigue might really mean.

Annie and Madison's relationship is written so clearly and brilliantly that, to me, it was the crux of the book. The love between Jack and Maddie is playful, tender, and bittersweet. How each person, each relationship, deals with a Madison's illness is portrayed with realism, humor, and love.

Before I Go does not have a storybook "happy" ending. While I admit I cried quite a bit during the closing chapters of the book, sadness was not the feeling I was left with. Instead, I took away hope, joy, and faith in what is to come.

Armchair Interview says: This is a highly recommended young adult book.

Reprinted here with author's permission.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Woven in Moonlight
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ximena is the decoy Condesa, a stand-in for the last...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The new fifth edition of National Geographic's award-winning atlas is...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s a piece of cake! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new arc in the bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The tenth book in Ralph Masiello’s popular drawing series shows...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
When they're stuck under one roof, the house may not...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They thought their troubles were over … but they’ve only...
The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Bohring-home to 453 people, 2,053 alligators, and one...
Where the World Ends
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Winner of the 2018 Carnegie Medal! New from Michael L....
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Fast, funny, frightening—and filled with shocks and surprises. These books...
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finding out my mother was taken by the demons...
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut about first love and second...
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Two teens meet after tragedy and learn about love,...
Golden Crown
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
No longer only a warrior. Not just a queen....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first vampire. The last Nephilim. The end...
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
What is it like to live in 4519 AD...

Latest Member Reviews

Woven in Moonlight
 
4.7
"WOVEN IN MOONLIGHT is a lush fantasy that transports the reader into the world of Inkasisa, a place which is..."
 
3.3
"The story: Tyson Trice has not had it easy in life. Months after he is shot and almost dies he’s..."
Refraction
 
4.3
"Marty is a flawed character in any number of ways, not least of which is his propensity to do what's..."
Frankly in Love
 
4.7
"I love this book so much. I read it pretty much in one sitting because I couldn't put it down!..."
Where the World Ends
 
3.0
"WHERE THE WORLD ENDS is an intriguing historical fiction, based on a true story. The boys of Hirta are sent..."
Bury Me
 
4.7
"In horror books and movies, we often see dolls as the main source of scares( such as Annabelle or Child's..."
Juliet Takes a Breath
 
4.7
"Juliet Takes a Breath is a coming of age story about a Latina lesbian from the Bronx who travels to..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
5.0
"Fireborne is a fantasy novel set nine years after a bloody uprising against a brutal regime in which the poor..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"i am from Italy hello. Can you help me translate? /rardor"
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
"THE GALACTIC ADVENTURES OF HAZEL - GURECOA takes place in the far future, where our planet is only vaguely recognizable...."
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
"BATMAN: NIGHTWALKER (THE GRAPHIC NOVEL) converts the YA novel by Marie Lu into graphic novel format. The plot remains the..."
Adorkable
 
5.0
"ADORKABLE is a book you can easily predict, but the journey is unbelievably delightful. Sally Spitz is a senior in..."
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
"SIX GOODBYES WE NEVER SAID is quite a heavy YA contemporary. We follow Naima and Dew in alternating sections. Naima..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.7
" THIS WAS INCREDIBLE. This book reads like BUTTER...… Moldy, rotten, disgusting butter,..."
The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
 
4.0
"After killing a man in Paris, Celine is forced to flee to a different country and finds herself in New..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
5.0
"Guinevere has one role to play when she arrives in Camelot. She has to protect King Arthur with her life...."
Unstoppable Moses: A Novel
 
3.3
"UNSTOPPABLE MOSES is quite an interesting YA contemporary. With dark humor, grief/healing, and guilt/blame, this book takes on some big..."
The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein
 
4.0
"The most amazing thing about classic horror stories is how they still influence many writers today. To read 'the..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.3
"After learning that his cousin Jun (his best friend and penpal) has died, Jay Reguero heads back to visit his..."
Now Entering Addamsville
 
3.7
"Zora Novak has been accused of a crime she didn't commit. It doesn't help that her family are known as..."